Rork
Turns a chat prompt into a native Swift, Kotlin or React web app you own the code to.
- Starting price
- Free tier; paid from $20 / month
- Free trial
- Free tier
- Commercial use
- Yes, paid users own the generated code
Overview
Rork builds mobile and web apps from a chat prompt and carries them through to the store. New projects are generated as native code, Swift and SwiftUI for iPhone, Kotlin and Compose for Android, or Vite and React for the web, with iPad, Apple Watch and Vision Pro as further targets on the top plan. An app can take its backend from Rork Cloud, a managed Postgres database with row-level security and edge functions built on Supabase, or connect to a Supabase or Firebase project of your own, and paywalls run through RevenueCat. Usage is metered in credits rather than by seat: the free plan allows 5 a day and builds web apps only with public projects, Rork Pro runs from $20 a month for 100 credits to $100 for 500 and adds native Android, private projects and a dev mode for editing code, and Rork Max runs from $200 a month for 1,000 credits to $1,800 for 10,000 and adds native iOS.
Best for solo makers who want a native iPhone or Android app they own the code to and can publish to the stores themselves.
Rork is built for the solo maker who intends to ship rather than demo, and the code ownership is what makes that credible: the work is not stranded inside the builder if the app outgrows it. The catch is where the platforms sit in the plans. Anyone whose target is the iPhone starts at the top tier, a long way above where most prompt-to-app tools begin, and the free plan really only stretches to trying the idea out. The move away from React Native cuts both ways too. The output is genuinely native now, but one codebase no longer covers both phones, so an app for iOS and Android is two projects here rather than one.
Key Facts
| Category | |
|---|---|
| Starting price | Free tier; paid from $20 / month Rork Pro $20 / month for 100 credits up to $100 for 500; Rork Max $200 / month for 1,000 credits up to $1,800 for 10,000. Native iOS requires Max. |
| Free trial | Free tier |
| Commercial use | Yes, paid users own the generated code |
| Output | Native iPhone apps (Swift and SwiftUI), native Android apps (Kotlin and Compose) and web apps (Vite and React) |
Screenshots
Placeholders. They are replaced as soon as the vendor sends material, and both open the same short form.
Features
- What it generates
- Native iPhone apps, native Android apps and web apps, plus iPad, Apple Watch and Vision Pro targets on the Max plan
- Stack and frameworks
- Swift and SwiftUI on iPhone, Kotlin and Compose on Android, Vite and React on the web; Expo and React Native projects can no longer be created, existing ones still build
- Auth and database
- Rork Cloud, a managed Postgres backend with row-level security and edge functions built on Supabase and transferable to your own Supabase organisation, or connect your own Supabase or Firebase project; sign in with Apple and Google via OAuth
- Hosting and deploy
- Publish to the Apple App Store, with an AI App Store Reviewer to check a submission first; Google Play via a manually created Android App Bundle; web apps are shared as a link, with no store or review
- Payments
- RevenueCat for paywalls, in-app purchases, subscriptions and free trials
- Access to the code
- Paid users own all generated code and download it through a two-way GitHub sync, so it can be edited locally and imported back
Integrations
- Supabase
- Firebase
- RevenueCat
- GitHub
Deployment and Support
- Deployment
-
- Cloud (SaaS)
- Browser-based
- Support
-
- Email helpdesk
- Chat
- Onboarding
-
- Documentation and knowledge base
- Company size
-
- Freelancers
- Small and mid-sized
Suitability
| Industry | Freelancers | Small and mid-sized | Enterprise |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agencies | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Architecture & Engineering | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Consulting | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Media & Creative | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Technology | Stated as a fit | Stated as a fit | Not stated |
The table combines the industries the vendor addresses with the company sizes the tool is aimed at. An empty cell means the combination is not stated, not that it is ruled out.
Pros and Cons
Strengths
- Generates genuinely native code, Swift and SwiftUI on iPhone and Kotlin and Compose on Android, rather than a wrapped web view
- Paid users own all generated code, with two-way GitHub sync back into the project
- Rork Cloud gives an app a managed Postgres backend with no setup, and can be moved into your own Supabase organisation later
Limitations
- Native iOS is only on the Max plan, from $200 per month
- The free plan builds web apps only, and projects on it are public
- Google Play publishing is a manual App Bundle upload
- Expo and React Native projects can no longer be created, so a shared codebase for both phones is no longer an option
Pricing
-
Free
$0
5 credits per day, up to 35 per month in major markets. Web apps only, projects are public.
-
Rork Pro
From $20
Per month for 100 credits, up to $100 for 500. Native Android and web apps, private projects, dev mode.
-
Rork Max
From $200
Per month for 1,000 credits, up to $1,800 for 10,000. Adds native iOS, iPad, Apple Watch and Vision Pro, and priority chat support.
Best For
Alternatives and Comparisons
FAQ
- Does Rork still build React Native apps?
- Not for new projects. Rork used to generate Expo and React Native apps and switched to native output, so new apps are native iPhone (Swift), native Android (Kotlin) or web (React). Existing Expo projects can still be built, published and exported, and Rork recommends migrating them.
- Do I own the code Rork generates?
- Paid users own all generated code and download it through the GitHub integration. The sync runs both ways, so the code can be edited locally and the changes imported back into Rork.
- Does a Rork app need a separate backend?
- Not necessarily. Rork Cloud provides a managed Postgres database with row-level security and edge functions, built on Supabase and free during beta, and it can later be transferred into your own Supabase organisation. A Supabase or Firebase project of your own can be connected instead.
- Which plan do I need for an iPhone app?
- Rork Max, from $200 per month. The free plan builds web apps only and Rork Pro adds native Android and private projects; native iOS with SwiftUI, plus iPad, Apple Watch and Vision Pro, is on Max.
What users say
Reviews
-
0 reviews
- Ease of use
- Not rated yet
- User interface
- Not rated yet
- Onboarding
- Not rated yet
- Support and service
- Not rated yet
- Value for money
- Not rated yet
- Features
- Not rated yet
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.
Share your experience
Write a Review
Last verified:
Ready to take a closer look at Rork
The link goes straight to the vendor. Some links on this site are affiliate links.
Visit Rork