CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Time Tracking Comparison

actiTIME vs. Connecteam

At a glance

At a glance

actiTIME

Best for

Best for teams that need billable timesheets on their own infrastructure rather than in a subscription cloud.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Connecteam

Best for

Best for deskless teams that clock in on site and want scheduling, communication and HR in the same app.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion actiTIME Connecteam
Starting price lower value Free for 3 users; paid from $6 / user / month Billed yearly for 1 to 40 users, $5 per user and month for 41 to 200, a fixed cost for unlimited users above 200. The self-hosted edition is a one-time $120 per user. Free for up to 10 users; from $29 / month per hub The Small Business Plan is free for life for up to 10 users and includes all hubs and all features. Above that, each hub is priced on its own: Basic $29, Advanced $49 and Expert $99 per month for the first 30 users when billed yearly, or $35, $59 and $119 billed monthly. Additional users cost between $0.5 and $5 per month depending on hub and tier. Enterprise is quoted.
Free trial Free trial, no credit card required, plus a free version for up to 3 users 14-day free trial of everything, no credit card needed
Users Free version up to 3 users Not stated
API Yes, a REST API on paid plans; the free version has none Yes, a REST API with API keys and OAuth 2.0 plus a hosted MCP server, available from the Expert plan upward
Languages Not stated Dashboard in 16 languages, mobile app in 18
Hosting Cloud on Amazon servers, or self-hosted on your own Windows or Unix server Cloud, with mobile apps and a browser dashboard; Australian clients are served from a separate regional endpoint
Made in Canada Not stated
Time tracking Yes, weekly timesheet, calendar view with start and stop times, iOS and Android apps and a Chrome extension that logs online activity automatically Yes, from the mobile app with geofencing, from NFC tags, from a shared-tablet kiosk with PIN or selfie, or from connected POS and physical clocks, with GPS auto clock-out and hours attached to a job, project, client or equipment
Invoicing Yes, branded PDF invoices from billing rates and recorded time, with leave and overtime costs and a QuickBooks export No, hours go to payroll rather than to a client invoice: timesheets sync to a payroll provider or export as PDF or XLS
Reporting and controlling Yes, staff performance, time balances and overtime, estimated versus actual, detailed time-track and cost and billing reports, with charts and real-time widgets; the free version exports CSV only Yes, automatic timesheets with breaks, overtime and time off calculated from pay rules, hours-per-job reports, a live view of who is clocked in, alerts for late arrivals and no-shows, and a full edit history for audits
Integrations and API Yes, a REST API on paid plans, plus QuickBooks, Zapier, the Chrome extension and actiPLANS Yes, a REST API covering users, jobs, scheduling, time clock, chat and time off, with OAuth 2.0 and a hosted MCP server; access starts on the Expert plan and endpoints follow the hubs you bought
AI features No stated Yes
MCP-ready No stated Yes
Deployment more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk more entries Chat, 24/7, Email helpdesk, Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials, Live online demos and webinars Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials, Live online demos and webinars
Company size more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations QuickBooks, Zapier, actiPLANS, Chrome more entries Gusto, QuickBooks, Xero, ADP, Paychex, PrismHR, BambooHR, Zapier, Square POS, Shopify POS, Clover POS, Lightspeed POS, Wix Bookings, Clair, Accu-Time Systems, Synel

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price actiTIME Free for 3 users; paid from $6 / user / month Connecteam Free for up to 10 users; from $29 / month per hub
  • Free trial actiTIME Free trial, no credit card required, plus a free version for up to 3 users Connecteam 14-day free trial of everything, no credit card needed
  • Deployment actiTIME Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Connecteam Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
  • Company size actiTIME Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Connecteam Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • Hosting actiTIME Cloud on Amazon servers, or self-hosted on your own Windows or Unix server Connecteam Cloud, with mobile apps and a browser dashboard; Australian clients are served from a separate regional endpoint

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

actiTIME

Strengths

  • Self-hosted licence as a one-time payment, with the data on your own server
  • Billing rates, cost-of-work rates and branded invoices are part of the product
  • Free version for up to three users
  • Chrome extension logs online activity and imports it into the timesheet

Limitations

  • Major upgrades of the self-hosted edition cost 100 percent of the initial price
  • The free version has no API and exports only CSV
  • The per-user rate only drops above 40 users

Connecteam

Strengths

  • Free for life for up to 10 users, with all hubs and all features included
  • Clock-in works from the phone, an NFC tag, a shared-tablet kiosk or connected POS hardware
  • Timesheets calculate breaks and overtime from pay rules and sync straight to payroll
  • AI runs through the product, from scheduling to forms to translated updates
  • Support is over chat around the clock, and the app covers 18 languages

Limitations

  • Each hub is priced separately, so a team that wants operations, communications and HR pays three subscriptions
  • API access and webhooks start on the Expert plan
  • The headline price covers only the first 30 users; beyond that every user adds a per-head fee
  • No client invoicing, so billable work needs a separate tool
  • No phone support

Plans

Pricing

actiTIME

  • Free $0 Up to 3 users, limited functionality, CSV reports, no API.
  • actiTIME Online $6 / user / month Billed yearly for 1 to 40 users. $5 per user and month for 41 to 200 users, a fixed cost for unlimited users above 200.
  • actiTIME Self-Hosted $120 / user One-time payment, installed on your own server, with direct database access. Minor upgrades are free, major upgrades cost 100 percent of the initial price. A fixed cost for unlimited users is also offered.
Visit site

Connecteam

  • Small Business Plan $0 Free for life for up to 10 users, with all hubs and all features.
  • Basic $29 / month Per hub, for the first 30 users, billed yearly; $35 billed monthly. Additional users from $0.5 per month. Includes the time clock with GPS, unlimited jobs, payroll integration and basic scheduling.
  • Advanced $49 / month Per hub, for the first 30 users, billed yearly; $59 billed monthly. Additional users from $1.5 per month. Adds full time clock customisation, auto clock-out and up to 10 geofence sites.
  • Expert $99 / month Per hub, for the first 30 users, billed yearly; $119 billed monthly. Additional users from $3 per month. Adds unlimited geofence sites, auto-reports, API access and webhook management.
  • Enterprise Not stated Custom pricing. Adds single sign-on, two-factor authentication, biometric app lock, a personal success manager and higher API rate limits.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

actiTIME

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Connecteam

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

actiTIME https://www.actitime.com · no check date recorded yet

Connecteam https://connecteam.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-12

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.