Best for
Best for teams that need billable timesheets on their own infrastructure rather than in a subscription cloud.
- Freelancers
- Small and mid-sized
- Enterprise
No tools match
Press / to search, arrow keys to move, Enter to open
Time Tracking Comparison
At a glance
Best for
Best for teams that need billable timesheets on their own infrastructure rather than in a subscription cloud.
Best for
Best for individuals and small teams who want automatic time tracking and focus tools rather than client billing.
Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.
| Criterion | actiTIME | RescueTime |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | lower value Free for 3 users; paid from $6 / user / month Billed yearly for 1 to 40 users, $5 per user and month for 41 to 200, a fixed cost for unlimited users above 200. The self-hosted edition is a one-time $120 per user. | Free (Lite); Solo Focus from $7 / month Solo Focus billed annually ($84 / year); $9 billed monthly. Solo+ (with timesheets) $12, Team Focus $10 and Team+ $16 per user and month. |
| Free trial | Free trial, no credit card required, plus a free version for up to 3 users | Free tier (Lite), plus a 14-day trial of paid plans |
| Users | Free version up to 3 users | Not stated |
| API | Yes, a REST API on paid plans; the free version has none | Not stated |
| Hosting | Cloud on Amazon servers, or self-hosted on your own Windows or Unix server | Not stated |
| Made in | Canada | Not stated |
| Time tracking | Yes, weekly timesheet, calendar view with start and stop times, iOS and Android apps and a Chrome extension that logs online activity automatically | Yes, automatic tracking of apps, websites and documents in the background |
| Invoicing | Yes, branded PDF invoices from billing rates and recorded time, with leave and overtime costs and a QuickBooks export | No native invoicing; billable rates and client/project timesheets on Solo+ and Team+ |
| Reporting and controlling | Yes, staff performance, time balances and overtime, estimated versus actual, detailed time-track and cost and billing reports, with charts and real-time widgets; the free version exports CSV only | Yes, productivity reports, daily patterns and team reports |
| Integrations and API | Yes, a REST API on paid plans, plus QuickBooks, Zapier, the Chrome extension and actiPLANS | Yes, an API plus integrations (Google Calendar, Slack, Asana, GitHub) |
| Deployment | more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise | Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based |
| Support | Email helpdesk | more entries Email helpdesk, Community forum |
| Onboarding | more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials, Live online demos and webinars | Documentation and knowledge base |
| Company size | more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise | Freelancers, Small and mid-sized |
| Integrations | QuickBooks, Zapier, actiPLANS, Chrome | Google Calendar, Slack, Asana, GitHub |
Adds a column to the table, from the tools in this category.
Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.
The short version
Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.
The trade-offs
actiTIME
Strengths
Limitations
RescueTime
Strengths
Limitations
Plans
actiTIME
RescueTime
What users say
actiTIME
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.
RescueTime
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.
Where this comes from
actiTIME https://www.actitime.com · no check date recorded yet
RescueTime https://www.rescuetime.com · no check date recorded yet
This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.