Best for
Best for operations, HR and finance teams that want to measure where a workforce's time goes rather than bill it.
- Small and mid-sized
- Enterprise
No tools match
Press / to search, arrow keys to move, Enter to open
Time Tracking Comparison
At a glance
Best for
Best for operations, HR and finance teams that want to measure where a workforce's time goes rather than bill it.
Best for
Best for teams that want to self-host their time tracking and keep the hours on their own server.
Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.
| Criterion | ActivTrak | Kimai |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free for 3 users; paid from $10 / user / month Billed annually. Workforce Management is $15, Productivity Optimization $17 and Workflow $21 per user and month; AI Insights is a $4 per user add-on. | Free (self-hosted); Kimai Cloud from €2.99 / user / month Cloud Standard €2.99 per user / month billed annually, €3.99 billed monthly. Professional €3.99 annually, €4.99 monthly. Self-hosting is free under the AGPL 3.0 license. |
| Free trial | 14 days of Workforce Management plus Productivity Optimization | 30 days on Kimai Cloud |
| Users | Free plan up to 3 users with 30 days of data history | Not stated |
| API | Yes, through the paid ActivConnect add-on | Yes, JSON API |
| Languages | Not stated | More than 30 |
| Hosting | Cloud, with a data collection agent installed on each device | Kimai Cloud in the EU, or self-hosted via Docker |
| Made in | United States | Austria |
| Time tracking | Yes, automatic: an agent records application and website use and splits the day into active, passive and idle time, with no manual timers | Yes, time booked against customers, projects and activities with billable rates and role-based permissions |
| Invoicing | No, ActivTrak measures how time was spent and has no billing or invoicing | Yes, invoices generated from tracked time with configurable PDF and DOCX templates |
| Reporting and controlling | Yes, productivity trends, utilisation, schedule and location adherence, benchmarks, capacity planning and customisable dashboards, with Power BI, Looker Studio and Tableau templates through ActivConnect | Yes, reporting and analysis with exports in several formats and audit logs |
| Integrations and API | Yes, API and SQL access through the paid ActivConnect add-on, plus Outlook and Google Calendar, Microsoft Entra ID, SCIM, Slack, Microsoft Teams, Jira, Salesforce, ServiceNow and Workday | Yes, a JSON API, plus LDAP, SAML and two-factor authentication |
| AI features | stated Yes | No |
| Deployment | Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based | more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise |
| Support | more entries Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat | Email helpdesk |
| Onboarding | more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials, Guided onboarding | Documentation and knowledge base |
| Company size | Small and mid-sized, Enterprise | more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise |
| Integrations | Microsoft Outlook Calendar, Google Calendar, Microsoft Entra ID, Slack, Microsoft Teams, Jira, Salesforce, ServiceNow, Zendesk, Workday, ADP, Power BI, Looker Studio, Tableau | Not stated |
Adds a column to the table, from the tools in this category.
Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.
The short version
Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.
The trade-offs
ActivTrak
Strengths
Limitations
Kimai
Strengths
Limitations
Plans
ActivTrak
Kimai
What users say
ActivTrak
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.
Kimai
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.
Where this comes from
ActivTrak https://www.activtrak.com · no check date recorded yet
Kimai https://www.kimai.org · checked against the official source on 2026-09-06
This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.