CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Time Tracking Comparison

Deputy vs. DeskTime

At a glance

At a glance

Deputy

Best for

Best for businesses rostering hourly staff across sites, where the hours have to reach payroll rather than an invoice.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

DeskTime

Best for

Best for managers who want automatic time tracking with productivity analysis across remote and hybrid teams.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Deputy DeskTime
Starting price lower value From $5 / user / month The $5 Lite plan covers basic scheduling, timesheets and time clocking. Core is $6.50 and Pro $9 per user per month. Deputy Payroll adds $8 per user per month plus a $49 monthly base fee, HR $2, Messaging+ $1.95 and Analytics+ $1.50 per user per month. Pro from $6.42 / user / month Billed annually; $7.50 per user / month billed monthly. Premium from $9.17 ($10.71 monthly). Enterprise custom for 200+ users.
Free trial Free trial, no credit card required 14-day free trial
Team size Priced per user, per month Not stated
Users Shift-based teams across more than 15 industries, among them hospitality, healthcare, retail, manufacturing and logistics, construction and engineering, education, security and cleaning Not stated
API Yes, a developer API alongside prebuilt payroll, point-of-sale, HR and accounting connectors Not stated
Hosting Cloud (SaaS), with iOS and Android apps and a shared-device time clock Not stated
Made in Not stated Latvia
Time tracking Time clocking from the iOS and Android apps or a shared device, with biometric time clocking from the Core plan, timesheets with auto-approval from Core and advanced timesheets on Pro, plus shift swaps, find-a-replacement, leave and availability management and labour-law compliance rules Yes, automatic background tracking with app and website logging and productivity scoring
Invoicing No. Deputy's published feature set ends at approved timesheets, which export into payroll and accounting systems such as ADP, Gusto, Paychex, Paycor, Paylocity, Xero and QuickBooks; client invoicing happens in those tools Yes, invoices are built from tracked project time and project hourly rates, saved as reusable templates, emailed to the client as a PDF and tracked through created, sent, unpaid, paid and cancelled statuses
Reporting and controlling Basic reporting on Lite; Core adds demand forecasting, labour optimisation and wage and labour budgets; Pro includes the Analytics+ add-on alongside advanced timesheets and location hierarchies Yes, productivity reports, project tracking and an absence calendar
Integrations and API A developer API plus prebuilt connectors for payroll (ADP, Gusto, Paychex, Paycor, Paylocity, OnPay, Wagepoint, Xero), point of sale (Square, Clover, Lightspeed, Revel, Epos Now), HR (BambooHR, HiBob, Rippling, TriNet, Okta) and accounting (QuickBooks, NetSuite, Xero), with Zapier for anything else Yes, an API and integrations (Jira, Asana, Outlook, Google Calendar, GitLab, Trello) from the Premium tier
AI features Yes Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Chat, 24/7 more entries Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base, Guided onboarding more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials, Guided onboarding
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations more entries ADP, Gusto, Paychex, Paycom, Paycor, Paylocity, OnPay, Wagepoint, Talenox, Xero, QuickBooks, NetSuite, Square, Clover, Lightspeed, Revel, Epos Now, BambooHR, HiBob, Rippling, TriNet, Okta, JobAdder, Box, Dropbox, ServiceM8, Tapcheck, Wagestream, TipHaus, Zapier Jira, Asana, Outlook, Google Calendar, GitLab, Trello

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Deputy From $5 / user / month DeskTime Pro from $6.42 / user / month
  • Free trial Deputy Free trial, no credit card required DeskTime 14-day free trial
  • Company size Deputy Small and mid-sized, Enterprise DeskTime Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • Support Deputy Chat, 24/7 DeskTime Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat
  • Time tracking Deputy Time clocking from the iOS and Android apps or a shared device, with biometric time clocking from the Core plan, timesheets with auto-approval from Core and advanced timesheets on Pro, plus shift swaps, find-a-replacement, leave and availability management and labour-law compliance rules DeskTime Yes, automatic background tracking with app and website logging and productivity scoring

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Deputy

Strengths

  • Biometric time clocking and a shared-device clock cover on-site and shift work
  • Deep payroll and point-of-sale connector list, including ADP, Gusto, Paychex, Xero, QuickBooks and Square
  • Demand forecasting and auto-scheduling build rosters against wage and labour budgets
  • Single sign-on, custom access levels and location hierarchies on the Pro plan

Limitations

  • No client invoicing: timesheets are built for payroll rather than for billing work
  • Forecasting, auto-scheduling and biometric clocking all require the Core plan or above
  • Payroll, HR, Messaging+ and Analytics+ are separately priced add-ons, and Deputy Payroll carries a monthly base fee
  • No free tier; Lite is the cheapest paid plan

DeskTime

Strengths

  • Automatic tracking with productivity scoring out of the box
  • Shift scheduling and absence calendar for team management
  • AI-generated summaries of work patterns

Limitations

  • Monitoring focus leans toward oversight
  • Screenshots and API sit behind the Premium tier

Plans

Pricing

Deputy

  • Lite $5 Per user per month. Basic scheduling, timesheets and time clocking, labour-law compliance, shift swap and find a replacement, leave and availability management, basic reporting, messaging and news feed, and payroll and HR integrations.
  • Core $6.50 Per user per month. Everything in Lite plus advanced scheduling, timesheet auto-approval, biometric time clocking, micro-scheduling, auto-scheduling, demand forecasting, labour optimisation, wage and labour budgets and a customer success manager.
  • Pro $9 Per user per month. Everything in Core plus custom access levels, advanced timesheets, location hierarchies, single sign-on, a dedicated customer success manager, a sandbox environment, 24/7 live chat and the Analytics+ and Messaging+ add-ons.
  • Add-ons Not stated Deputy Payroll $8 per user per month plus a $49 monthly base fee, HR $2, Messaging+ $1.95 and Analytics+ $1.50 per user per month. HR, Messaging+ and Analytics+ carry 30-day free trials.
Visit site

DeskTime

  • Pro $6.42 Per user / month, billed annually ($7.50 monthly).
  • Premium $9.17 Per user / month, billed annually ($10.71 monthly). Adds screenshots, integrations and API.
  • Enterprise Custom For 200+ users; adds an account manager and training.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Deputy

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

DeskTime

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Deputy https://www.deputy.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-12

DeskTime https://desktime.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-04

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.