CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Accounting & Invoicing Comparison

FreshBooks vs. Tipalti

At a glance

At a glance

FreshBooks

Best for

Best for freelancers and small service businesses that want invoicing-first accounting with time and expense tracking, double-entry books and a simple plan lineup.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Tipalti

Best for

Best for finance teams paying many suppliers, contractors or creators across borders, where onboarding and tax compliance matter more than bookkeeping.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion FreshBooks Tipalti
Starting price lower value From $23 / month Lite plan at its regular monthly price, for up to five billable clients. Accounts Payable from $99 / month; Mass Payments from $249 / month Both figures are the published starting points and include unlimited users, with no per-user or per-approver fee. Transaction pricing per invoice and per payment comes on top, and the monthly cost depends on payment volume, number of legal entities, enabled modules and the payment methods and currencies used. There is no free tier; mid-market and enterprise pricing is quoted.
Free trial Free for 30 days No free tier
API Yes, a JSON API with OAuth2, plus more than 100 integrations Yes, a documented REST API plus legacy SOAP APIs, an iFrame SDK and webhooks
Hosting Cloud (SaaS) Cloud (SaaS)
Invoicing and quotes Yes, professional invoices that auto-add tracked time and expenses and calculate taxes, plus estimates and proposals Incoming supplier invoices only: AI invoice capture, two-way and three-way purchase order matching, approval routing and payment scheduling, with self-billing available in Mass Payments. Customer invoicing and accounts receivable are not among the listed modules
Bookkeeping and bank feeds Yes, double-entry accounting with a general ledger and bank reconciliation via bank connection or CSV upload No general ledger of its own; bills, payments and GL accounts sync with Oracle NetSuite, Sage, QuickBooks, Xero, SAP Business One and Microsoft Dynamics GP or Business Central
Expenses and receipts Yes, mobile receipt scanning, bank imports and automatic expense categorization Yes, an Expense Management module with corporate card support for Mastercard, Visa, American Express and the Tipalti Card, an employee mobile app for receipt capture, and reimbursements across more than 200 countries
Tax and compliance Yes, sales tax applied to invoice line items, posted to a Taxes Payable account, with tax reports Yes, a continuously maintained tax engine covering W-9 and W-8 collection, 1099 filing, VAT and DAC7 reporting, alongside AML, OFAC and sanctions screening of payees; SOC and GDPR certified
Payroll Available as a paid add-on at $40 per month plus $6 per user per month No payroll module; the platform covers accounts payable, mass payouts, procurement, expenses and treasury
Reports and exports Yes, financial and accounting reports, including profit reports and the general ledger Yes, spend analytics across the procurement and payables flow, payment reconciliation across currencies and subsidiaries, cash visibility and forecasting in Treasury, and a Reporting Agent that builds reports from a written request
Integrations and API Yes, a JSON API authenticated with OAuth2, plus more than 100 integrations Yes, a documented REST API covering payees, invoices, payments, payment terms, payer entities, GL accounts, tax codes and custom fields, plus legacy SOAP APIs authenticated with API keys, an iFrame SDK for embedded payee onboarding, and webhooks with a three-attempt retry policy
AI features No stated Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Onboarding Not stated Documentation and knowledge base, Guided onboarding
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Not stated Oracle NetSuite, Sage, QuickBooks, Xero, SAP Business One, Microsoft Dynamics GP, Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central, Slack

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price FreshBooks From $23 / month Tipalti Accounts Payable from $99 / month; Mass Payments from $249 / month
  • Free trial FreshBooks Free for 30 days Tipalti No free tier
  • Company size FreshBooks Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Tipalti Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • AI features FreshBooks No Tipalti Yes
  • API FreshBooks Yes, a JSON API with OAuth2, plus more than 100 integrations Tipalti Yes, a documented REST API plus legacy SOAP APIs, an iFrame SDK and webhooks

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

FreshBooks

Strengths

  • Invoices automatically pull in tracked time and expenses
  • Double-entry accounting with bank reconciliation and a general ledger
  • JSON API with OAuth2 and more than 100 integrations
  • Unlimited billable clients from the Premium plan

Limitations

  • Plans are capped by billable client count on the lower tiers
  • Payroll is a paid add-on rather than part of the plan

Tipalti

Strengths

  • Payouts to more than 200 countries and territories in 120 currencies across over 50 payment methods
  • Suppliers and payees onboard themselves and supply their own banking and tax details
  • Maintained tax engine for W-9, W-8, 1099, VAT and DAC7, with AML and sanctions screening
  • Unlimited users on both published plans, with no per-user or per-approver fee
  • Documented REST API, iFrame SDK and webhooks for embedding the payment flow elsewhere

Limitations

  • No free tier, and transaction fees per invoice and per payment come on top of the monthly price
  • Not a general ledger; a separate accounting system is still needed
  • No customer invoicing or accounts receivable
  • Procurement, Expense Management and Treasury are separate modules rather than part of the entry price
  • Complex implementations may need paid professional services

Plans

Pricing

FreshBooks

  • Lite $23 / month Up to five billable clients; invoicing, expense tracking, estimates, payments and tax reports.
  • Plus $43 / month Up to fifty billable clients; adds proposals, accounting reports, receipt scanning and accountant access.
  • Premium $70 / month Unlimited billable clients; adds project profitability, bill receipt scanning and automated client emails.
  • Select Not stated Custom pricing; adds lower card fees, data migration, two team members, dedicated phone support and removes FreshBooks branding.
Visit site

Tipalti

  • Accounts Payable $99 / month Published starting price. Unlimited users, self-service supplier portal and core AP automation, with cashback rewards on card payments. Transaction pricing per invoice and per payment comes on top.
  • Mass Payments $249 / month Published starting price. Unlimited users, self-service payee portal and core automation, with standard implementation included. Transaction pricing per payment comes on top.
  • Custom Not stated Mid-market and enterprise pricing is quoted on request, based on the number of payments processed, the number of legal entities, the modules and features enabled and the global payment methods and currencies used.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

FreshBooks

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Tipalti

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

FreshBooks https://www.freshbooks.com · checked against the official source on 2026-08-19

Tipalti https://tipalti.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-08

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.