CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Accounting & Invoicing Comparison

Invoice Ninja vs. MYOB

At a glance

At a glance

Invoice Ninja

Best for

Best for freelancers and small businesses that want open-source invoicing with a free or self-hosted option and a wide choice of payment gateways.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

MYOB

Best for

Best for Australian and New Zealand small businesses that want cloud accounting with GST, BAS and payroll built in, and the option of a desktop AccountRight plan.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Invoice Ninja MYOB
Starting price Free; Ninja Pro from $14 / month The free plan covers up to five clients with unlimited invoicing. Ninja Pro is $14 / month billed monthly ($140 / year) and adds a REST API, custom templates, US sales tax and financial reports. A free self-hosted option is also available. US pricing. From AUD 99 / year Solo plan at its regular annual price, for sole traders, in the mobile app only. Business plans start at AUD 315 / year for Business Lite.
Free trial Not stated Free for 14 days on Business Pro and AccountRight Plus
API Yes, a full REST API on the Pro and Enterprise plans, plus Zapier, Make and n8n Yes, the MYOB Business API, a REST/JSON API using OAuth 2.0
Hosting Cloud (SaaS) or self-hosted Cloud (SaaS); AccountRight Plus also runs on the desktop
Made in Not stated Australia
Invoicing and quotes Yes, invoices and quotes with real-time PDF preview, a product library, deposits and partial payments, multiple currencies and languages, and e-signature approval that auto-converts a quote to an invoice Yes, unlimited invoices and quotes on every plan
Bookkeeping and bank feeds Bank transaction import via Yodlee or GoCardless on the Enterprise plan Yes, bank feeds and reconciliation, two accounts on the entry plans and unlimited on Business Pro and AccountRight Plus
Expenses and receipts Yes, log and categorize expenses, manage vendors and purchase orders, and mark expenses billable to re-invoice clients Yes, enter and track bills and expenses
Tax and compliance US sales tax calculation by state on the Pro plan, with tax rates set per line item or per invoice Yes, GST tracking on every plan and full GST and BAS on the business plans, with Single Touch Payroll for payroll reporting
Payroll No, the product covers invoicing, expenses, time tracking, payments and taxes; there is no payroll module Included on AccountRight Plus; a per-employee add-on on Business Lite and Business Pro; also sold as a standalone Payroll Only plan
Reports and exports Yes, profit and loss, invoice, payment and expense reports and client statements, with CSV export Yes, from simple summaries on Solo to comprehensive reporting on AccountRight Plus
Integrations and API Yes, a full REST API on the Pro and Enterprise plans, plus Zapier, Make and n8n Yes, the MYOB Business API, a REST/JSON API using OAuth 2.0
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
Support Email helpdesk, Community forum Not stated
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials Not stated
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations Stripe, PayPal, Square, GoCardless, Zapier Not stated

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Invoice Ninja Free; Ninja Pro from $14 / month MYOB From AUD 99 / year
  • Hosting Invoice Ninja Cloud (SaaS) or self-hosted MYOB Cloud (SaaS); AccountRight Plus also runs on the desktop
  • API Invoice Ninja Yes, a full REST API on the Pro and Enterprise plans, plus Zapier, Make and n8n MYOB Yes, the MYOB Business API, a REST/JSON API using OAuth 2.0
  • Invoicing and quotes Invoice Ninja Yes, invoices and quotes with real-time PDF preview, a product library, deposits and partial payments, multiple currencies and languages, and e-signature approval that auto-converts a quote to an invoice MYOB Yes, unlimited invoices and quotes on every plan
  • Bookkeeping and bank feeds Invoice Ninja Bank transaction import via Yodlee or GoCardless on the Enterprise plan MYOB Yes, bank feeds and reconciliation, two accounts on the entry plans and unlimited on Business Pro and AccountRight Plus

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Invoice Ninja

Strengths

  • Open source with a free self-hosted option
  • Free cloud plan for up to five clients with unlimited invoicing
  • More than 20 payment gateways including Stripe, PayPal, Square and GoCardless
  • Client portal with online quote approval by e-signature

Limitations

  • Bank transaction import is limited to the Enterprise plan
  • The REST API and custom templates begin on the paid Pro plan
  • Automatic sales tax calculation is US-focused

MYOB

Strengths

  • GST and BAS handling built in for Australian and New Zealand businesses
  • Unlimited invoices and quotes on every plan
  • Payroll included on the top plan and available standalone
  • REST/JSON API with OAuth 2.0 for integrations

Limitations

  • Aimed at the Australian and New Zealand markets rather than internationally
  • Bank feeds are capped at two accounts on the entry plans

Plans

Pricing

Invoice Ninja

  • Free $0 Up to five clients with unlimited invoicing, four templates, online payments, recurring invoices, expenses and the client portal.
  • Ninja Pro $14 / month Billed monthly ($140 / year). Unlimited clients, removes branding, 11 templates, a REST API, US sales tax, financial reports and custom email.
  • Enterprise $18 / month From $18 / month for one to two users, scaling to $300 / month for 51 to 100 users. Adds account users with permissions, bank account sync, file attachments and e-invoicing.
  • Premium Business Not stated From $280 / year. Adds a developer concierge, priority support, an invoice design service, data migration help and custom reports.
Visit site

MYOB

  • Solo by MYOB AUD 99 / year Regular annual price for sole traders, mobile app only, with GST tracking and two bank feed accounts.
  • Business Lite AUD 315 / year Regular annual price; unlimited invoices and quotes, full GST and BAS, payroll add-on from AUD 3 per employee per month for up to two employees.
  • Business Pro AUD 70 / month Regular monthly price; unlimited bank feeds and a payroll add-on from AUD 3 per employee per month for unlimited employees.
  • AccountRight Plus AUD 165 / month Regular monthly price; adds included payroll, unlimited inventory, comprehensive reporting and desktop access.
  • Business Payroll Only AUD 15 / month Regular monthly price; standalone payroll with Single Touch Payroll reporting.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Invoice Ninja

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

MYOB

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Invoice Ninja https://invoiceninja.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-08

MYOB https://www.myob.com · checked against the official source on 2026-08-22

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.