CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Accounting & Invoicing Comparison

Invoice Ninja vs. Zoho Invoice

At a glance

At a glance

Invoice Ninja

Best for

Best for freelancers and small businesses that want open-source invoicing with a free or self-hosted option and a wide choice of payment gateways.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Zoho Invoice

Best for

Best for freelancers and small consultancies that need to quote, track billable time and chase invoices without paying for a full accounting package.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Invoice Ninja Zoho Invoice
Starting price Free; Ninja Pro from $14 / month The free plan covers up to five clients with unlimited invoicing. Ninja Pro is $14 / month billed monthly ($140 / year) and adds a REST API, custom templates, US sales tax and financial reports. A free self-hosted option is also available. US pricing. Free There is no paid tier. The free plan covers up to 2 users, 500 invoices per year and 2 organisations under one Zoho account, and adds a Zoho Invoice line to documents.
Free trial Not stated Free plan; no paid tier
Users Not stated Up to 2 users on the free plan
API Yes, a full REST API on the Pro and Enterprise plans, plus Zapier, Make and n8n Yes, a REST API on the free plan, limited to 1,000 requests per day, 100 requests per minute and 5 concurrent calls
Hosting Cloud (SaaS) or self-hosted Cloud (SaaS), with apps for iOS, Android, Windows and Mac and a Chrome extension
Invoicing and quotes Yes, invoices and quotes with real-time PDF preview, a product library, deposits and partial payments, multiple currencies and languages, and e-signature approval that auto-converts a quote to an invoice Yes, professional invoices and custom quotes that convert to invoices, recurring invoices, a client portal for viewing and paying, and payment collection by card, ACH and e-wallet through integrated gateways
Bookkeeping and bank feeds Bank transaction import via Yodlee or GoCardless on the Enterprise plan No, Zoho Invoice covers billing and payment collection rather than bookkeeping; bank reconciliation and the general ledger sit in Zoho Books
Expenses and receipts Yes, log and categorize expenses, manage vendors and purchase orders, and mark expenses billable to re-invoice clients Yes, expenses are recorded and converted into billable line items on an invoice
Tax and compliance US sales tax calculation by state on the Pro plan, with tax rates set per line item or per invoice Yes, taxes are calculated automatically from the tax authorities and rates defined for the organisation
Payroll No, the product covers invoicing, expenses, time tracking, payments and taxes; there is no payroll module No
Reports and exports Yes, profit and loss, invoice, payment and expense reports and client statements, with CSV export Yes, a dashboard and business reports covering accounts receivable ageing, top customers, product performance and expenses
Integrations and API Yes, a full REST API on the Pro and Enterprise plans, plus Zapier, Make and n8n Yes, a REST API covering invoices, estimates, recurring invoices, contacts, expenses, projects, payments, credit notes, items, taxes and time tracking, plus integration with Zoho CRM
AI features No stated Yes
Deployment more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk, Community forum Not stated
Onboarding more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations more entries Stripe, PayPal, Square, GoCardless, Zapier Zoho CRM, Zoho Books

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Invoice Ninja Free; Ninja Pro from $14 / month Zoho Invoice Free
  • Deployment Invoice Ninja Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Zoho Invoice Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
  • Hosting Invoice Ninja Cloud (SaaS) or self-hosted Zoho Invoice Cloud (SaaS), with apps for iOS, Android, Windows and Mac and a Chrome extension
  • AI features Invoice Ninja No Zoho Invoice Yes
  • API Invoice Ninja Yes, a full REST API on the Pro and Enterprise plans, plus Zapier, Make and n8n Zoho Invoice Yes, a REST API on the free plan, limited to 1,000 requests per day, 100 requests per minute and 5 concurrent calls

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Invoice Ninja

Strengths

  • Open source with a free self-hosted option
  • Free cloud plan for up to five clients with unlimited invoicing
  • More than 20 payment gateways including Stripe, PayPal, Square and GoCardless
  • Client portal with online quote approval by e-signature

Limitations

  • Bank transaction import is limited to the Enterprise plan
  • The REST API and custom templates begin on the paid Pro plan
  • Automatic sales tax calculation is US-focused

Zoho Invoice

Strengths

  • Genuinely free rather than a trial, with no paid tier to upgrade to
  • REST API included on the free plan, with a 1,000-request daily allowance
  • Time tracking and expenses convert straight into invoiced line items
  • Client portal lets customers view invoices, pay and respond to quotes

Limitations

  • Billing only: no bank reconciliation, no general ledger and no payroll
  • Capped at 2 users, 500 invoices per year and 2 organisations
  • Documents carry a Zoho Invoice line
  • Outgrowing the limits means moving to a different Zoho product

Plans

Pricing

Invoice Ninja

  • Free $0 Up to five clients with unlimited invoicing, four templates, online payments, recurring invoices, expenses and the client portal.
  • Ninja Pro $14 / month Billed monthly ($140 / year). Unlimited clients, removes branding, 11 templates, a REST API, US sales tax, financial reports and custom email.
  • Enterprise $18 / month From $18 / month for one to two users, scaling to $300 / month for 51 to 100 users. Adds account users with permissions, bank account sync, file attachments and e-invoicing.
  • Premium Business Not stated From $280 / year. Adds a developer concierge, priority support, an invoice design service, data migration help and custom reports.
Visit site

Zoho Invoice

  • Free $0 The only plan. Up to 2 users, 500 invoices per year and 2 organisations under one Zoho account. Includes invoices and quotes, recurring invoices, payment gateways, expenses, time tracking, the client portal, tax calculation, reports and the REST API. Documents carry a Zoho Invoice line.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Invoice Ninja

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Zoho Invoice

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Invoice Ninja https://invoiceninja.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-08

Zoho Invoice https://www.zoho.com/invoice/ · checked against the official source on 2026-09-05

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.