CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Accounting & Invoicing Comparison

Patriot Software vs. Zoho Invoice

At a glance

At a glance

Patriot Software

Best for

Best for US small businesses that want low-cost online accounting and invoicing, with the option to add payroll as a separate product.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Zoho Invoice

Best for

Best for freelancers and small consultancies that need to quote, track billable time and chase invoices without paying for a full accounting package.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Patriot Software Zoho Invoice
Starting price From $20 / month Accounting Basic plan at its regular monthly price; aimed at US small businesses. Payroll is a separate product. Free There is no paid tier. The free plan covers up to 2 users, 500 invoices per year and 2 organisations under one Zoho account, and adds a Zoho Invoice line to documents.
Free trial Free for 30 days Free plan; no paid tier
Users Not stated Up to 2 users on the free plan
API Not stated Yes, a REST API on the free plan, limited to 1,000 requests per day, 100 requests per minute and 5 concurrent calls
Hosting Cloud (SaaS) Cloud (SaaS), with apps for iOS, Android, Windows and Mac and a Chrome extension
Made in United States Not stated
Invoicing and quotes Yes, unlimited customers and invoices, with card and ACH payments; Premium adds estimates, recurring invoices and payment reminders Yes, professional invoices and custom quotes that convert to invoices, recurring invoices, a client portal for viewing and paying, and payment collection by card, ACH and e-wallet through integrated gateways
Bookkeeping and bank feeds Yes, automatic bank imports, income and expense tracking and account reconciliation No, Zoho Invoice covers billing and payment collection rather than bookkeeping; bank reconciliation and the general ledger sit in Zoho Books
Expenses and receipts Yes, income and expense tracking; Premium adds receipt and document management Yes, expenses are recorded and converted into billable line items on an invoice
Tax and compliance Yes, 1099 contractor tracking and 1099 e-filing Yes, taxes are calculated automatically from the tax authorities and rates defined for the organisation
Payroll Available as a separate product: Basic Payroll from $17 per month plus $4 per employee, Full Service Payroll from $37 per month plus $5 per employee No
Reports and exports Yes, profit and loss, balance sheet, trial balances, general ledger, check register, accounts receivable and payable aging, unpaid customer invoices, customer and vendor payment history, account reconciliations, sales tax and 1099 summary reports, with a cash-basis and accrual-basis toggle and downloads as PDF or spreadsheet Yes, a dashboard and business reports covering accounts receivable ageing, top customers, product performance and expenses
Integrations and API No public developer API or developer platform is documented. Prebuilt integrations cover Plaid for automatic bank imports, Stripe for card, Apple Pay, Google Pay and ACH payments, QuickBooks Online, and Patriot's own payroll and HR products Yes, a REST API covering invoices, estimates, recurring invoices, contacts, expenses, projects, payments, credit notes, items, taxes and time tracking, plus integration with Zoho CRM
AI features No stated Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat Not stated
Onboarding more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations more entries Plaid, Stripe, QuickBooks Online, Patriot Payroll Zoho CRM, Zoho Books

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Patriot Software From $20 / month Zoho Invoice Free
  • Free trial Patriot Software Free for 30 days Zoho Invoice Free plan; no paid tier
  • Hosting Patriot Software Cloud (SaaS) Zoho Invoice Cloud (SaaS), with apps for iOS, Android, Windows and Mac and a Chrome extension
  • AI features Patriot Software No Zoho Invoice Yes
  • Invoicing and quotes Patriot Software Yes, unlimited customers and invoices, with card and ACH payments; Premium adds estimates, recurring invoices and payment reminders Zoho Invoice Yes, professional invoices and custom quotes that convert to invoices, recurring invoices, a client portal for viewing and paying, and payment collection by card, ACH and e-wallet through integrated gateways

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Patriot Software

Strengths

  • Low monthly cost aimed at US small businesses
  • Unlimited customers and invoices on both plans
  • 1099 contractor tracking and e-filing included
  • 30-day free trial

Limitations

  • Aimed at the United States rather than internationally
  • Payroll is a separate product rather than part of the accounting plans

Zoho Invoice

Strengths

  • Genuinely free rather than a trial, with no paid tier to upgrade to
  • REST API included on the free plan, with a 1,000-request daily allowance
  • Time tracking and expenses convert straight into invoiced line items
  • Client portal lets customers view invoices, pay and respond to quotes

Limitations

  • Billing only: no bank reconciliation, no general ledger and no payroll
  • Capped at 2 users, 500 invoices per year and 2 organisations
  • Documents carry a Zoho Invoice line
  • Outgrowing the limits means moving to a different Zoho product

Plans

Pricing

Patriot Software

  • Accounting Basic $20 / month Unlimited customers and invoices, automatic bank imports, income and expense tracking, reconciliation and 1099 tracking.
  • Accounting Premium $30 / month Everything in Basic, plus estimates, recurring invoices, payment reminders, receipt and document management and subaccounts.
Visit site

Zoho Invoice

  • Free $0 The only plan. Up to 2 users, 500 invoices per year and 2 organisations under one Zoho account. Includes invoices and quotes, recurring invoices, payment gateways, expenses, time tracking, the client portal, tax calculation, reports and the REST API. Documents carry a Zoho Invoice line.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Patriot Software

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Zoho Invoice

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Patriot Software https://www.patriotsoftware.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-08

Zoho Invoice https://www.zoho.com/invoice/ · checked against the official source on 2026-09-05

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.