Best for
Best for founders who want to ship a native mobile app to the App Store from a prompt.
- Freelancers
- Small and mid-sized
No tools match
Press / to search, arrow keys to move, Enter to open
AI App Builders Comparison
At a glance
Best for
Best for founders who want to ship a native mobile app to the App Store from a prompt.
Best for
Best for solo makers who want a native iPhone or Android app they own the code to and can publish to the stores themselves.
Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.
| Criterion | a0.dev | Rork |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Not stated | Free tier; paid from $20 / month Rork Pro $20 / month for 100 credits up to $100 for 500; Rork Max $200 / month for 1,000 credits up to $1,800 for 10,000. Native iOS requires Max. |
| Free trial | Not stated | Free tier |
| Commercial use | Not stated | Yes, paid users own the generated code |
| Output | Native iOS and Android apps (React Native), plus web | Native iPhone apps (Swift and SwiftUI), native Android apps (Kotlin and Compose) and web apps (Vite and React) |
| API | Yes | Not stated |
| What it generates | Native mobile apps for iOS and Android (plus web), from a prompt | Native iPhone apps, native Android apps and web apps, plus iPad, Apple Watch and Vision Pro targets on the Max plan |
| Stack and frameworks | React Native | Swift and SwiftUI on iPhone, Kotlin and Compose on Android, Vite and React on the web; Expo and React Native projects can no longer be created, existing ones still build |
| Auth and database | Managed backend with a choice of Convex or Supabase for the database, plus built-in push notifications | Rork Cloud, a managed Postgres backend with row-level security and edge functions built on Supabase and transferable to your own Supabase organisation, or connect your own Supabase or Firebase project; sign in with Apple and Google via OAuth |
| Hosting and deploy | One-click publishing to the App Store and Google Play (IPA/APK), with a web preview | Publish to the Apple App Store, with an AI App Store Reviewer to check a submission first; Google Play via a manually created Android App Bundle; web apps are shared as a link, with no store or review |
| Payments | Built-in monetization: subscriptions and one-time purchases via the App Store | RevenueCat for paywalls, in-app purchases, subscriptions and free trials |
| Access to the code | Projects are built on Expo and edited by the agent inside a0's own workspace. The documentation covers runtime and Expo SDK upgrades, over-the-air updates and store publishing, and documents no source-code download, GitHub sync or local development | Paid users own all generated code and download it through a two-way GitHub sync, so it can be edited locally and imported back |
| Deployment | Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based | Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based |
| Support | Community forum | more entries Email helpdesk, Chat |
| Onboarding | Documentation and knowledge base | Documentation and knowledge base |
| Company size | Freelancers, Small and mid-sized | Freelancers, Small and mid-sized |
| Integrations | more entries Convex, Supabase, App Store Connect, Google Play, Firebase Cloud Messaging | Supabase, Firebase, RevenueCat, GitHub |
Adds a column to the table, from the tools in this category.
Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.
The short version
Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.
The trade-offs
a0.dev
Strengths
Limitations
Rork
Strengths
Limitations
Plans
a0.dev
Price on Request
Visit siteRork
What users say
a0.dev
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.
Rork
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.
Where this comes from
a0.dev https://a0.dev · checked against the official source on 2026-09-02
Rork https://rork.com · checked against the official source on 2026-08-30
This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.