CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI App Builders Comparison

AppSheet vs. Rork

At a glance

At a glance

AppSheet

Best for

Best for teams on Google Workspace that want mobile and web apps over data already sitting in spreadsheets and cloud databases.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Rork

Best for

Best for solo makers who want a native iPhone or Android app they own the code to and can publish to the stores themselves.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion AppSheet Rork
Starting price lower value Free for prototyping; paid plans from $5 / user / month Starter $5, Core $10 and Enterprise Plus $20 per user per month. Core is included with most paid Google Workspace plans. Publisher Pro is priced per app instead, at $50 per app per month, and serves unlimited users. Free tier; paid from $20 / month Rork Pro $20 / month for 100 credits up to $100 for 500; Rork Max $200 / month for 1,000 credits up to $1,800 for 10,000. Native iOS requires Max.
Free trial Free plan with full platform access for prototyping with up to 10 test users, with no time limit stated Free tier
Commercial use Not stated Yes, paid users own the generated code
Output Mobile and web business apps plus automations such as email, SMS and push notifications Native iPhone apps (Swift and SwiftUI), native Android apps (Kotlin and Compose) and web apps (Vite and React)
API Yes, a REST API for reading and writing table records in an app Not stated
Hosting Google cloud Not stated
What it generates Mobile and web business apps for work such as operations, field work, HR, sales and project management, plus automations sending email, SMS and push notifications; Gemini for App Creation generates the app from a described business process, proposing tables and columns before building Native iPhone apps, native Android apps and web apps, plus iPad, Apple Watch and Vision Pro targets on the Max plan
Stack and frameworks No-code throughout: apps are configured in AppSheet's editor rather than written in a framework, and logic is extended with Google Apps Script functions and the REST API Swift and SwiftUI on iPhone, Kotlin and Compose on Android, Vite and React on the web; Expo and React Native projects can no longer be created, existing ones still build
Auth and database Runs on existing data rather than its own: Google Sheets and Drive, Microsoft 365 and hosted Excel, Cloud SQL, Azure SQL, BigQuery, Salesforce, Dropbox, Smartsheet, OData, Apigee and REST APIs, with an AppSheet database included. Row limits per database scale with the plan, from 5 databases of 2,500 rows on Starter to 200 databases of 200,000 rows on Enterprise Plus. Enterprise data service connections and the stronger security, team management and governance controls are Enterprise Plus, which needs a Google Workspace administrator account Rork Cloud, a managed Postgres backend with row-level security and edge functions built on Supabase and transferable to your own Supabase organisation, or connect your own Supabase or Firebase project; sign in with Apple and Google via OAuth
Hosting and deploy Google cloud only, with apps published to end users rather than deployed to infrastructure; there is no self-hosted option Publish to the Apple App Store, with an AI App Store Reviewer to check a submission first; Google Play via a manually created Android App Bundle; web apps are shared as a link, with no store or review
Payments No built-in payments. No payment provider appears among the external services AppSheet documents, so a provider has to be reached like any other API, through a REST data source or a webhook step in an automation RevenueCat for paywalls, in-app purchases, subscriptions and free trials
Access to the code Apps live in AppSheet rather than as an exportable codebase; Apps Script and the REST API are the extension points Paid users own all generated code and download it through a two-way GitHub sync, so it can be edited locally and imported back
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk more entries Email helpdesk, Chat
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations more entries Google Sheets, Google Drive, Google Apps Script, BigQuery, Cloud SQL, Microsoft 365, Azure SQL, Salesforce, Dropbox, Smartsheet, OData, Apigee Supabase, Firebase, RevenueCat, GitHub

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price AppSheet Free for prototyping; paid plans from $5 / user / month Rork Free tier; paid from $20 / month
  • Free trial AppSheet Free plan with full platform access for prototyping with up to 10 test users, with no time limit stated Rork Free tier
  • Company size AppSheet Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Rork Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
  • Support AppSheet Email helpdesk Rork Email helpdesk, Chat
  • Output AppSheet Mobile and web business apps plus automations such as email, SMS and push notifications Rork Native iPhone apps (Swift and SwiftUI), native Android apps (Kotlin and Compose) and web apps (Vite and React)

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

AppSheet

Strengths

  • Gemini app creation is included in every paid licence rather than charged separately
  • Starts from data a company already keeps, including non-Google sources such as Microsoft 365, Azure SQL and Salesforce
  • Core is bundled with most paid Google Workspace plans, so many organisations already hold the licence
  • Free tier has full platform access for prototyping with no stated time limit

Limitations

  • Google cloud only, with no self-hosted option
  • Apps are not an exportable codebase, so leaving the platform means rebuilding
  • Enterprise data connections, machine learning modelling and the governance controls are Enterprise Plus only, and need a Workspace administrator account
  • Database row limits are tied to the plan, so heavier data pushes the tier up

Rork

Strengths

  • Generates genuinely native code, Swift and SwiftUI on iPhone and Kotlin and Compose on Android, rather than a wrapped web view
  • Paid users own all generated code, with two-way GitHub sync back into the project
  • Rork Cloud gives an app a managed Postgres backend with no setup, and can be moved into your own Supabase organisation later

Limitations

  • Native iOS is only on the Max plan, from $200 per month
  • The free plan builds web apps only, and projects on it are public
  • Google Play publishing is a manual App Bundle upload
  • Expo and React Native projects can no longer be created, so a shared codebase for both phones is no longer an option

Plans

Pricing

AppSheet

  • Free $0 Full platform access for prototyping with up to 10 test users. No time limit stated.
  • Starter $5 Per user per month. Basic application and automation features, spreadsheet and cloud file storage connections, 5 AppSheet databases of 2,500 rows each.
  • Core $10 Per user per month. Advanced application and automation features, application security controls, email support, 10 databases of 2,500 rows each. Included with most paid Google Workspace plans.
  • Enterprise Plus $20 Per user per month. Adds enterprise data service connections to APIs, SaaS and databases, enhanced security, team management and governance, machine learning modelling, priority support and 200 databases of 200,000 rows each. Requires a Google Workspace administrator account.
  • Publisher Pro $50 Per app per month rather than per user. For publicly accessible apps that need no sign-in, with unlimited users per app and the Core feature set.
Visit site

Rork

  • Free $0 5 credits per day, up to 35 per month in major markets. Web apps only, projects are public.
  • Rork Pro From $20 Per month for 100 credits, up to $100 for 500. Native Android and web apps, private projects, dev mode.
  • Rork Max From $200 Per month for 1,000 credits, up to $1,800 for 10,000. Adds native iOS, iPad, Apple Watch and Vision Pro, and priority chat support.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

AppSheet

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Rork

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

AppSheet https://about.appsheet.com · no check date recorded yet

Rork https://rork.com · checked against the official source on 2026-08-30

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.