CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI App Builders Comparison

Appsmith vs. Glide

At a glance

At a glance

Appsmith

Best for

Best for engineering teams that want self-hosted internal tools with the source under an open licence.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Glide

Best for

Best for teams that want to turn spreadsheets and databases into internal tools and customer apps without writing code.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Appsmith Glide
Starting price lower value Free; Business $15 / user / month Business is billed monthly by credit card for up to 99 users. Enterprise starts at $2,500 per month from 100 users and is usually billed annually. The self-hosted community edition is free. Free plan; paid from $25 / month Billed per month; Plus is $50, Pro $125 and Enterprise custom priced. Each plan carries a monthly credit allowance, from 100 credits on Basic to 500 on Pro.
Free trial Free plan for up to 5 users, plus a 15-day Business trial for new cloud signups Free plan (1 project, limited credits)
Commercial use Not stated Yes
Output Internal web apps: admin panels, dashboards and service tools No-code business apps for web and mobile, built on your existing data
Hosting Appsmith cloud or self-hosted (Docker, Kubernetes, AWS AMI) Not stated
What it generates Internal tools: admin panels, dashboards, customer 360 views and IT or service-management apps, assembled from a widget library Business apps such as CRMs, inventory, dashboards and internal tools on web and mobile; can be generated from data, a file or a prompt
Stack and frameworks Drag-and-drop widgets with JavaScript available in every binding; an in-product AI copilot helps write queries, JavaScript and interface changes rather than generating a whole app from a prompt No-code editor; no generated code to manage or export
Auth and database 25+ databases (PostgreSQL, MongoDB, MySQL, SQL Server, Oracle, Snowflake, Redshift, DynamoDB, Databricks), REST and GraphQL, and 30+ SaaS connectors; Google SSO on the free plan, SAML and OIDC SSO with SCIM provisioning on Enterprise Glide Tables plus Google Sheets, Excel, Airtable and databases like PostgreSQL and Snowflake; per-user sign-in with role-based access (SSO on Enterprise)
Hosting and deploy Appsmith cloud, or self-hosted with Docker, Kubernetes or an AWS AMI; an air-gapped edition on Enterprise Published to a web-accessible URL and installable as a mobile app
Payments No built-in payments; Stripe is one of the SaaS connectors an app can call Yes, a Stripe integration that creates and sends invoices from inside the app; access may require a paid plan
Access to the code Apache 2.0 and self-hostable, with Git version control against GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket or Azure: 3 repositories on the free plan, unlimited on Business No code access, visual no-code editing only
Deployment more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk, Chat, Community forum Email helpdesk, Chat, Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations more entries PostgreSQL, MongoDB, MySQL, Microsoft SQL Server, Oracle, Snowflake, Redshift, DynamoDB, Elasticsearch, Redis, Firestore, Databricks, Amazon S3, Salesforce, HubSpot, Slack, Jira, Asana, Notion, Google Sheets, Airtable, Stripe, monday.com, Linear, OpenAI, Anthropic, Google AI Google Sheets, Microsoft Excel, Airtable, PostgreSQL, Snowflake, Stripe, OpenAI, Slack

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Appsmith Free; Business $15 / user / month Glide Free plan; paid from $25 / month
  • Free trial Appsmith Free plan for up to 5 users, plus a 15-day Business trial for new cloud signups Glide Free plan (1 project, limited credits)
  • Deployment Appsmith Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Glide Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
  • Company size Appsmith Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Glide Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • Output Appsmith Internal web apps: admin panels, dashboards and service tools Glide No-code business apps for web and mobile, built on your existing data

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Appsmith

Strengths

  • Apache 2.0 licence with a free self-hosted community edition
  • Connects to 25+ databases plus REST, GraphQL and 30+ SaaS services
  • Git version control, including on the free plan

Limitations

  • AI assists the person building rather than generating a whole app from a prompt
  • Enterprise starts at $2,500 a month and 100 users
  • SAML and OIDC SSO and SCIM provisioning are Enterprise-only

Glide

Strengths

  • Turns an existing spreadsheet or database into a working app quickly
  • Connects to Glide Tables, Google Sheets, Excel, Airtable, PostgreSQL and Snowflake
  • Per-user access controls so each role sees only the right data

Limitations

  • No access to or export of the underlying code
  • Paid plans meter AI usage with credits

Plans

Pricing

Appsmith

  • Free $0 Cloud, up to 5 users: 5 workspaces, 3 Git repositories, Google SSO, community support.
  • Business $15 Per user per month, billed monthly, up to 99 users. Adds unlimited workspaces and Git repositories, workflows, premium integrations, custom roles and audit logs.
  • Enterprise $2,500 Per month from 100 users, typically billed annually. Adds SAML and OIDC SSO, SCIM, CI/CD, private app embedding, an air-gapped edition and support with SLAs.
  • Community (self-hosted) $0 Open source under Apache 2.0, self-hosted.
Visit site

Glide

  • Free $0 Per month, with limited credits.
  • Basic $25 Per month, 100 credits.
  • Plus $50 Per month, 250 credits.
  • Pro $125 Per month, 500 credits. Starts at five team members with 50 credits included per member, and adds human support.
  • Enterprise Not stated Custom pricing, with a dedicated success manager and priority support.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Appsmith

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Glide

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Appsmith https://www.appsmith.com · no check date recorded yet

Glide https://www.glideapps.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-03

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.