CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI App Builders Comparison

Appsmith vs. Rork

At a glance

At a glance

Appsmith

Best for

Best for engineering teams that want self-hosted internal tools with the source under an open licence.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Rork

Best for

Best for solo makers who want a native iPhone or Android app they own the code to and can publish to the stores themselves.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Appsmith Rork
Starting price lower value Free; Business $15 / user / month Business is billed monthly by credit card for up to 99 users. Enterprise starts at $2,500 per month from 100 users and is usually billed annually. The self-hosted community edition is free. Free tier; paid from $20 / month Rork Pro $20 / month for 100 credits up to $100 for 500; Rork Max $200 / month for 1,000 credits up to $1,800 for 10,000. Native iOS requires Max.
Free trial Free plan for up to 5 users, plus a 15-day Business trial for new cloud signups Free tier
Commercial use Not stated Yes, paid users own the generated code
Output Internal web apps: admin panels, dashboards and service tools Native iPhone apps (Swift and SwiftUI), native Android apps (Kotlin and Compose) and web apps (Vite and React)
Hosting Appsmith cloud or self-hosted (Docker, Kubernetes, AWS AMI) Not stated
What it generates Internal tools: admin panels, dashboards, customer 360 views and IT or service-management apps, assembled from a widget library Native iPhone apps, native Android apps and web apps, plus iPad, Apple Watch and Vision Pro targets on the Max plan
Stack and frameworks Drag-and-drop widgets with JavaScript available in every binding; an in-product AI copilot helps write queries, JavaScript and interface changes rather than generating a whole app from a prompt Swift and SwiftUI on iPhone, Kotlin and Compose on Android, Vite and React on the web; Expo and React Native projects can no longer be created, existing ones still build
Auth and database 25+ databases (PostgreSQL, MongoDB, MySQL, SQL Server, Oracle, Snowflake, Redshift, DynamoDB, Databricks), REST and GraphQL, and 30+ SaaS connectors; Google SSO on the free plan, SAML and OIDC SSO with SCIM provisioning on Enterprise Rork Cloud, a managed Postgres backend with row-level security and edge functions built on Supabase and transferable to your own Supabase organisation, or connect your own Supabase or Firebase project; sign in with Apple and Google via OAuth
Hosting and deploy Appsmith cloud, or self-hosted with Docker, Kubernetes or an AWS AMI; an air-gapped edition on Enterprise Publish to the Apple App Store, with an AI App Store Reviewer to check a submission first; Google Play via a manually created Android App Bundle; web apps are shared as a link, with no store or review
Payments No built-in payments; Stripe is one of the SaaS connectors an app can call RevenueCat for paywalls, in-app purchases, subscriptions and free trials
Access to the code Apache 2.0 and self-hostable, with Git version control against GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket or Azure: 3 repositories on the free plan, unlimited on Business Paid users own all generated code and download it through a two-way GitHub sync, so it can be edited locally and imported back
Deployment more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support more entries Email helpdesk, Chat, Community forum Email helpdesk, Chat
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations more entries PostgreSQL, MongoDB, MySQL, Microsoft SQL Server, Oracle, Snowflake, Redshift, DynamoDB, Elasticsearch, Redis, Firestore, Databricks, Amazon S3, Salesforce, HubSpot, Slack, Jira, Asana, Notion, Google Sheets, Airtable, Stripe, monday.com, Linear, OpenAI, Anthropic, Google AI Supabase, Firebase, RevenueCat, GitHub

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Appsmith Free; Business $15 / user / month Rork Free tier; paid from $20 / month
  • Free trial Appsmith Free plan for up to 5 users, plus a 15-day Business trial for new cloud signups Rork Free tier
  • Deployment Appsmith Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Rork Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
  • Company size Appsmith Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Rork Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
  • Support Appsmith Email helpdesk, Chat, Community forum Rork Email helpdesk, Chat

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Appsmith

Strengths

  • Apache 2.0 licence with a free self-hosted community edition
  • Connects to 25+ databases plus REST, GraphQL and 30+ SaaS services
  • Git version control, including on the free plan

Limitations

  • AI assists the person building rather than generating a whole app from a prompt
  • Enterprise starts at $2,500 a month and 100 users
  • SAML and OIDC SSO and SCIM provisioning are Enterprise-only

Rork

Strengths

  • Generates genuinely native code, Swift and SwiftUI on iPhone and Kotlin and Compose on Android, rather than a wrapped web view
  • Paid users own all generated code, with two-way GitHub sync back into the project
  • Rork Cloud gives an app a managed Postgres backend with no setup, and can be moved into your own Supabase organisation later

Limitations

  • Native iOS is only on the Max plan, from $200 per month
  • The free plan builds web apps only, and projects on it are public
  • Google Play publishing is a manual App Bundle upload
  • Expo and React Native projects can no longer be created, so a shared codebase for both phones is no longer an option

Plans

Pricing

Appsmith

  • Free $0 Cloud, up to 5 users: 5 workspaces, 3 Git repositories, Google SSO, community support.
  • Business $15 Per user per month, billed monthly, up to 99 users. Adds unlimited workspaces and Git repositories, workflows, premium integrations, custom roles and audit logs.
  • Enterprise $2,500 Per month from 100 users, typically billed annually. Adds SAML and OIDC SSO, SCIM, CI/CD, private app embedding, an air-gapped edition and support with SLAs.
  • Community (self-hosted) $0 Open source under Apache 2.0, self-hosted.
Visit site

Rork

  • Free $0 5 credits per day, up to 35 per month in major markets. Web apps only, projects are public.
  • Rork Pro From $20 Per month for 100 credits, up to $100 for 500. Native Android and web apps, private projects, dev mode.
  • Rork Max From $200 Per month for 1,000 credits, up to $1,800 for 10,000. Adds native iOS, iPad, Apple Watch and Vision Pro, and priority chat support.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Appsmith

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Rork

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Appsmith https://www.appsmith.com · no check date recorded yet

Rork https://rork.com · checked against the official source on 2026-08-30

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.