CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI App Builders Comparison

Bolt.new vs. Caspio

At a glance

At a glance

Bolt.new

Best for

Best for quickly validating an idea with a working full-stack prototype.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Caspio

Best for

Best for regulated organisations building database applications and portals where HIPAA, SOC 2 or GDPR compliance has to be certified.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Bolt.new Caspio
Starting price Free tier; paid credits above The free limits are reached quickly. From $270 / month Team plan billed annually; $300 on monthly billing. Business is $540 annually or $600 monthly, and a separate HIPAA/Compliance Edition is $500 a month on a one-year term. All plans include unlimited app users.
Free trial Free tier Free trial with access to core features, no upfront cost
Commercial use Yes Not stated
Output Full-stack app in the browser, with automatic hosting Online database applications, deployed standalone or embedded
API Not stated Yes, a REST API with webhooks and an MCP server
Hosting Not stated Caspio-hosted on AWS, with data residency in the US, Canada, the EU, UK, Australia and South America
What it generates Full-stack app, built and run in the browser through StackBlitz WebContainers Online database applications generated from a description by the Caspi AI builder, then edited in the Flex drag-and-drop builder; automations cover scheduled tasks and triggered actions
Stack and frameworks Multi-framework A SQL Server data core with role and record-level security, encryption and audit trails; apps are configured rather than written in a framework
Auth and database Not out of the box, needs external services SQL Server with user directories and SAML single sign-on; record-level security controls which rows a given user sees
Hosting and deploy Yes, automatic hosting, prompt to deploy Caspio-hosted on AWS; apps deploy standalone or embed as components in a website, intranet or customer portal, with data residency across six regions
Payments Yes, Stripe for one-time payments and subscriptions, via Supabase or Bolt Database Not stated
Access to the code Yes, download the project as a zip or push it to GitHub Apps run on the platform; access to the data is through a documented REST API, webhooks and an MCP server rather than an exportable codebase
MCP-ready No stated Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Not stated Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat, Community forum
Onboarding Not stated Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials, Guided onboarding, Personal consulting
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Not stated Zapier, Make, n8n, Keragon

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Bolt.new Free tier; paid credits above Caspio From $270 / month
  • Free trial Bolt.new Free tier Caspio Free trial with access to core features, no upfront cost
  • Company size Bolt.new Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Caspio Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • MCP-ready Bolt.new No Caspio Yes
  • Output Bolt.new Full-stack app in the browser, with automatic hosting Caspio Online database applications, deployed standalone or embedded

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Bolt.new

Strengths

  • No setup, seamless prompt to deploy
  • Multi-framework flexibility
  • Great for quick idea validation

Limitations

  • Database and auth are not out of the box, they need external services
  • Costs rise with larger codebases
  • Free limits are reached quickly

Caspio

Strengths

  • HIPAA, SOC 2 Type II and GDPR certified annually by independent audit, not self-attested
  • Unlimited app users on every plan, so cost does not grow with the audience
  • Phone, live chat and ticketing, staffed by in-house support engineers rather than outsourced

Limitations

  • Entry pricing starts at $270 a month, well above most tools in this category
  • Apps live on the platform rather than as an exportable codebase
  • Builder seats are capped on the Team plan at five app authors

Plans

Pricing

Bolt.new

  • Free $0 Limits are reached quickly.
  • Credits Not stated
Visit site

Caspio

  • Team $270 Per month billed annually ($300 monthly). 5 app authors, 250K data records, unlimited app users.
  • Business $540 Per month billed annually ($600 monthly). Unlimited app authors, 1M data records.
  • HIPAA / Compliance Edition $500 Per month on a one-year term, for workloads under a signed Business Associate Agreement.
  • Enterprise Custom Quoted by the vendor, for full governance, security and guaranteed performance.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Bolt.new

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Caspio

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Bolt.new https://bolt.new · no check date recorded yet

Caspio https://www.caspio.com · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.