CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI App Builders Comparison

Bolt.new vs. Rork

At a glance

At a glance

Bolt.new

Best for

Best for quickly validating an idea with a working full-stack prototype.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Rork

Best for

Best for solo makers who want a native iPhone or Android app they own the code to and can publish to the stores themselves.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Bolt.new Rork
Starting price Free tier; paid credits above The free limits are reached quickly. Free tier; paid from $20 / month Rork Pro $20 / month for 100 credits up to $100 for 500; Rork Max $200 / month for 1,000 credits up to $1,800 for 10,000. Native iOS requires Max.
Free trial Free tier Free tier
Commercial use Yes Yes, paid users own the generated code
Output Full-stack app in the browser, with automatic hosting Native iPhone apps (Swift and SwiftUI), native Android apps (Kotlin and Compose) and web apps (Vite and React)
What it generates Full-stack app, built and run in the browser through StackBlitz WebContainers Native iPhone apps, native Android apps and web apps, plus iPad, Apple Watch and Vision Pro targets on the Max plan
Stack and frameworks Multi-framework Swift and SwiftUI on iPhone, Kotlin and Compose on Android, Vite and React on the web; Expo and React Native projects can no longer be created, existing ones still build
Auth and database Not out of the box, needs external services Rork Cloud, a managed Postgres backend with row-level security and edge functions built on Supabase and transferable to your own Supabase organisation, or connect your own Supabase or Firebase project; sign in with Apple and Google via OAuth
Hosting and deploy Yes, automatic hosting, prompt to deploy Publish to the Apple App Store, with an AI App Store Reviewer to check a submission first; Google Play via a manually created Android App Bundle; web apps are shared as a link, with no store or review
Payments Yes, Stripe for one-time payments and subscriptions, via Supabase or Bolt Database RevenueCat for paywalls, in-app purchases, subscriptions and free trials
Access to the code Yes, download the project as a zip or push it to GitHub Paid users own all generated code and download it through a two-way GitHub sync, so it can be edited locally and imported back
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Not stated Email helpdesk, Chat
Onboarding Not stated Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations Not stated Supabase, Firebase, RevenueCat, GitHub

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Bolt.new Free tier; paid credits above Rork Free tier; paid from $20 / month
  • Commercial use Bolt.new Yes Rork Yes, paid users own the generated code
  • Output Bolt.new Full-stack app in the browser, with automatic hosting Rork Native iPhone apps (Swift and SwiftUI), native Android apps (Kotlin and Compose) and web apps (Vite and React)
  • What it generates Bolt.new Full-stack app, built and run in the browser through StackBlitz WebContainers Rork Native iPhone apps, native Android apps and web apps, plus iPad, Apple Watch and Vision Pro targets on the Max plan
  • Stack and frameworks Bolt.new Multi-framework Rork Swift and SwiftUI on iPhone, Kotlin and Compose on Android, Vite and React on the web; Expo and React Native projects can no longer be created, existing ones still build

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Bolt.new

Strengths

  • No setup, seamless prompt to deploy
  • Multi-framework flexibility
  • Great for quick idea validation

Limitations

  • Database and auth are not out of the box, they need external services
  • Costs rise with larger codebases
  • Free limits are reached quickly

Rork

Strengths

  • Generates genuinely native code, Swift and SwiftUI on iPhone and Kotlin and Compose on Android, rather than a wrapped web view
  • Paid users own all generated code, with two-way GitHub sync back into the project
  • Rork Cloud gives an app a managed Postgres backend with no setup, and can be moved into your own Supabase organisation later

Limitations

  • Native iOS is only on the Max plan, from $200 per month
  • The free plan builds web apps only, and projects on it are public
  • Google Play publishing is a manual App Bundle upload
  • Expo and React Native projects can no longer be created, so a shared codebase for both phones is no longer an option

Plans

Pricing

Bolt.new

  • Free $0 Limits are reached quickly.
  • Credits Not stated
Visit site

Rork

  • Free $0 5 credits per day, up to 35 per month in major markets. Web apps only, projects are public.
  • Rork Pro From $20 Per month for 100 credits, up to $100 for 500. Native Android and web apps, private projects, dev mode.
  • Rork Max From $200 Per month for 1,000 credits, up to $1,800 for 10,000. Adds native iOS, iPad, Apple Watch and Vision Pro, and priority chat support.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Bolt.new

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Rork

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Bolt.new https://bolt.new · no check date recorded yet

Rork https://rork.com · checked against the official source on 2026-08-30

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.