CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI App Builders Comparison

OutSystems vs. Softr

At a glance

At a glance

OutSystems

Best for

Best for enterprise IT teams that want AI-generated applications inside a governed low-code platform with its own architecture guard rails.

  • Enterprise

Softr

Best for

Best for teams building client portals and internal tools on top of existing data without writing code.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion OutSystems Softr
Starting price Free Personal Edition; OutSystems Developer Cloud quoted by the vendor ODC is metered on three things: application complexity in Application Objects, which is the sum of screens, database tables and API methods, with a typical medium app around 150 AOs; the number of internal and external end users; and advanced add-ons. A base subscription starts with one medium production application and 100 internal users. Free; paid plans from $19 / month Rates on annual billing: Basic $19, Pro $99 and Business $329 per month, Enterprise on request. Nonprofit and educational organizations get 50 percent off.
Free trial Free Personal Edition, no credit card required, for up to 100 internal users Free plan
Output Full-stack enterprise web and mobile applications with data model, server-side logic and UI screens Business web apps and portals (PWA for mobile)
API Yes, API-first with CI/CD APIs and APIs for uploading external libraries Not stated
Hosting OutSystems Cloud on AWS; self-hosting is available as an advanced add-on Not stated
What it generates Full-stack enterprise applications: Mentor generates the data model, server-side logic and UI screens from a natural language prompt or an uploaded requirements document, shows a visual blueprint before building, and then evolves the app through conversation inside the IDE with human sign-off on each implementation plan Business apps: client portals, internal tools, CRMs, dashboards, intranets and inventory systems
Stack and frameworks .NET Core on Linux containers, each application isolated in its own container, orchestrated with Kubernetes on AWS; developers extend apps with custom .NET code uploaded as high-code external libraries, whose methods are exposed to the visual editor as server actions No-code, block-based builder with no generated code to manage
Auth and database Amazon Aurora Serverless with PostgreSQL compatibility as the managed database; ISO 27001 compliance is included and SOC 2 Type II and PCI DSS are advanced add-ons Native database or 15+ external sources (Airtable, Google Sheets, Notion, PostgreSQL, MySQL, Supabase, HubSpot); email/password, magic link, Google and SSO login with user groups and permissions
Hosting and deploy OutSystems Cloud with development, testing and production runtimes and a 99.5 percent uptime guarantee, upgradeable to 99.95 percent; extra runtimes and a self-hosted option are advanced add-ons. Built-in CI/CD pipelines with monitoring, tracing and logging Published to a Softr URL or a custom domain, with SOC 2 Type II and GDPR compliance
Payments No checkout of its own; payment providers are integrated through components from the OutSystems Forge, including Stripe connectors for both ODC and OutSystems 11 that handle charges, customers and refunds, and a payments plugin covering Apple Pay, Google Pay and Stripe Stripe, to sell digital products and sync purchase data
Access to the code Applications are built visually rather than in a repository of hand-written source; custom C# and .NET logic enters as external libraries uploaded through the SDK and APIs, decorated so their methods surface as server actions No code access, visual editing and vibe coding only
Deployment more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support more entries Email helpdesk, Community forum Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Enterprise more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Not stated Airtable, Google Sheets, Notion, PostgreSQL, MySQL, Supabase, HubSpot, monday.com, ClickUp, Xero, Stripe, Make, Zapier

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price OutSystems Free Personal Edition; OutSystems Developer Cloud quoted by the vendor Softr Free; paid plans from $19 / month
  • Free trial OutSystems Free Personal Edition, no credit card required, for up to 100 internal users Softr Free plan
  • Deployment OutSystems Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Softr Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
  • Company size OutSystems Enterprise Softr Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • Support OutSystems Email helpdesk, Community forum Softr Community forum

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

OutSystems

Strengths

  • Mentor generates a complete application, data model and server logic included, from a requirements document rather than only from a chat prompt
  • Shows a visual blueprint and asks for sign-off before applying changes, instead of building unseen
  • Runs on containerised .NET Core with Kubernetes, managed Aurora PostgreSQL and built-in CI/CD, monitoring and tracing
  • Free Personal Edition for up to 100 internal users needs no credit card
  • Self-hosting is available, unlike most tools in this category

Limitations

  • No published prices at all, so every evaluation starts with a sales conversation
  • Pricing is metered on Application Objects and user counts, which makes cost hard to predict as an app grows
  • The Personal Edition is a development runtime only and cannot run production apps
  • Self-hosting, 24x7 support, higher uptime and SOC 2 or PCI DSS compliance are all paid add-ons rather than part of the base subscription
  • Base support is 8x5 business hours

Softr

Strengths

  • Turns a prompt into a full app: database, pages, user groups and navigation
  • Connects to 15+ data sources with two-way sync (Airtable, Google Sheets, Supabase and more)
  • Built-in auth, user groups and permissions, with SSO and SOC 2 Type II

Limitations

  • No access to the underlying code
  • Mobile is delivered as a PWA, not a native app
  • Focused on business apps and portals rather than consumer apps

Plans

Pricing

OutSystems

  • OutSystems Personal Edition $0 Free, no credit card required. Development runtime only, up to 100 internal users, hosted on OutSystems Cloud. For test applications, not production, and with no uptime guarantee or compliance options.
  • OutSystems Developer Cloud Custom Quoted by the vendor, priced on application complexity in Application Objects, end user counts and add-ons. Includes development, testing and production runtimes, professional support 8x5, OutSystems Cloud hosting, a 99.5 percent uptime guarantee and ISO 27001. Starts with 100 internal users and one medium-sized application.
  • Advanced add-ons Custom 24x7 professional support, additional non-production and production runtimes, a self-hosted option, a 99.95 percent uptime upgrade, SOC 2 Type II and PCI DSS compliance, and additional users or larger applications.
Visit site

Softr

  • Free $0
  • Basic $19 Per month on annual billing.
  • Pro $99 Per month on annual billing.
  • Business $329 Per month on annual billing.
  • Enterprise Custom Quoted by the vendor.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

OutSystems

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Softr

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

OutSystems https://www.outsystems.com · no check date recorded yet

Softr https://www.softr.io · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.