CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI App Builders Comparison

Softr vs. WeWeb

At a glance

At a glance

Softr

Best for

Best for teams building client portals and internal tools on top of existing data without writing code.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

WeWeb

Best for

Best for teams and agencies that want a visual front end on top of Supabase or Xano and the option to export the code and host it themselves.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Softr WeWeb
Starting price Free; paid plans from $19 / month Rates on annual billing: Basic $19, Pro $99 and Business $329 per month, Enterprise on request. Nonprofit and educational organizations get 50 percent off. Free plan; paid seat and hosting plans are priced separately Pricing is split in two. A seat plan (Free, Essential, Pro, Partner) controls editor access, AI tokens, code export and MCP access; a hosting plan (Free, Launch, Grow, Scale) covers WeWeb-hosted deployments, with limits on bandwidth, storage and app sessions. A seat plan is required before a hosting plan can be added, and self-hosted apps have no session limit.
Free trial Free plan Free plan with the visual editor, WeWeb-hosted deployment with a session limit and a monthly AI token allowance
Output Business web apps and portals (PWA for mobile) Vue.js single-page web apps, hosted by WeWeb or exported and self-hosted
Hosting Not stated WeWeb cloud on AWS, or self-hosted after code export
What it generates Business apps: client portals, internal tools, CRMs, dashboards, intranets and inventory systems Production web apps such as SaaS products, customer portals, internal tools, directories and MVPs, built visually or generated from a description by the WeWeb AI assistant
Stack and frameworks No-code, block-based builder with no generated code to manage Vue.js single-page applications, editable visually or extended with coded components
Auth and database Native database or 15+ external sources (Airtable, Google Sheets, Notion, PostgreSQL, MySQL, Supabase, HubSpot); email/password, magic link, Google and SSO login with user groups and permissions Supabase, Xano, Airtable, Algolia, SmartSuite and any REST API, with internal databases connected without replication; auth through Supabase Auth, Xano Auth, Auth0, OpenID, custom tokens or WeWeb Auth
Hosting and deploy Published to a Softr URL or a custom domain, with SOC 2 Type II and GDPR compliance WeWeb cloud hosting on AWS, or self-hosting anywhere after code export, with a documented Cloudflare route
Payments Stripe, to sell digital products and sync purchase data Yes, a Stripe plugin among the documented extensions
Access to the code No code access, visual editing and vibe coding only Yes, full Vue.js code export and self-hosting from the Essential seat plan upwards
MCP-ready No stated Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
Support Community forum more entries Chat, Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations more entries Airtable, Google Sheets, Notion, PostgreSQL, MySQL, Supabase, HubSpot, monday.com, ClickUp, Xero, Stripe, Make, Zapier Supabase, Xano, Airtable, Algolia, SmartSuite, Stripe

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Softr Free; paid plans from $19 / month WeWeb Free plan; paid seat and hosting plans are priced separately
  • Free trial Softr Free plan WeWeb Free plan with the visual editor, WeWeb-hosted deployment with a session limit and a monthly AI token allowance
  • Deployment Softr Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based WeWeb Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
  • Support Softr Community forum WeWeb Chat, Community forum
  • MCP-ready Softr No WeWeb Yes

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Softr

Strengths

  • Turns a prompt into a full app: database, pages, user groups and navigation
  • Connects to 15+ data sources with two-way sync (Airtable, Google Sheets, Supabase and more)
  • Built-in auth, user groups and permissions, with SSO and SOC 2 Type II

Limitations

  • No access to the underlying code
  • Mobile is delivered as a PWA, not a native app
  • Focused on business apps and portals rather than consumer apps

WeWeb

Strengths

  • Exports the generated Vue.js source, so an app can be self-hosted and is not locked to the platform
  • Connects to Supabase, Xano, Airtable, Algolia, SmartSuite and any REST API, including internal databases without replication
  • Six documented authentication routes, from Supabase Auth and Auth0 to a custom token flow
  • Official MCP server, so outside agents such as Claude, Cursor or ChatGPT can build inside a project

Limitations

  • Seat plan and hosting plan are billed separately, so the cost of a project depends on both
  • Code export and self-hosting require at least the Essential seat plan
  • MCP access needs a Pro or Partner plan once the 14-day trial on a new workspace ends
  • The MCP server does not expose plugin actions, so an agent cannot build with the Xano or Supabase plugins
  • It builds the front end and expects a backend such as Supabase or Xano alongside it

Plans

Pricing

Softr

  • Free $0
  • Basic $19 Per month on annual billing.
  • Pro $99 Per month on annual billing.
  • Business $329 Per month on annual billing.
  • Enterprise Custom Quoted by the vendor.
Visit site

WeWeb

  • Free (seat) $0 Visual editor, API integrations, WeWeb-hosted deployment with a session limit, and a monthly AI token allowance. No code export.
  • Essential (seat) Not stated Adds code export and self-hosting, and is the minimum seat plan required before a hosting plan can be added.
  • Pro (seat) Not stated Adds team seats and continued access to the WeWeb MCP server after the 14-day trial.
  • Partner (seat) Not stated For building in customer workspaces; MCP use there requires the customer workspace to be on at least Pro.
  • Hosting plans Not stated Free, Launch, Grow and Scale, added on top of a seat plan for WeWeb-hosted apps. They set deployment location, bandwidth, storage, compute and app sessions.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Softr

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

WeWeb

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Softr https://www.softr.io · no check date recorded yet

WeWeb https://www.weweb.io · checked against the official source on 2026-09-12

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.