CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Code Comparison

CodeRabbit vs. GitHub Copilot

At a glance

At a glance

CodeRabbit

Best for

Best for engineering teams that want every pull request reviewed and ranked before a human opens it.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

GitHub Copilot

Best for

Best for teams that live in GitHub and want one vendor for hosting, CI/CD and AI assistance.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion CodeRabbit GitHub Copilot
Starting price Free for open-source repos; Pro $24 / user / month Pro and Pro Plus are quoted billed annually: $24 and $48 per user per month. CodeRabbit Security is $40 per user per month. Enterprise is quoted by sales, and its self-hosted option starts at 500 seats. lower value Free tier; Pro $10 / month The free tier covers 2,000 completions per month. Pro+ $39 per month, Enterprise $39 per user. Billing moved to usage-based AI Credits on 1 June 2026.
Free trial 14 days, no credit card; public and open-source repositories are reviewed free permanently Free tier with 2,000 completions per month
Commercial use Yes Yes, with IP indemnity
Output AI reviews on pull requests, with one-click fixes and pre-merge checks Completions plus agent mode
API Yes, on the Enterprise plan N/A
Hosting Cloud, with a self-hosted Enterprise deployment from 500 seats and an EU SaaS region Not stated
Where it runs On the pull request in GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket and Azure DevOps, plus a VS Code extension and a CLI VS Code, JetBrains, Neovim and GitHub.com
Inline completions No, it reviews and comments on changes rather than completing code as you type Yes, inline completions and chat
Agent mode Yes, agentic reviews with one-click fixes, agentic chat, coding agent loops and an issue planner; unit tests, merge-conflict resolution and post-merge actions come with Pro Plus Yes, agent mode from issue to pull request
Model choice No model picker; an ensemble of models is used, with code shared with OpenAI and Anthropic for reviewing purposes Yes, models from Anthropic, OpenAI, Google, xAI, Moonshot AI and Microsoft; which ones are offered depends on the plan and the client
Data control Customer code is never used for training. Encrypted code caches, vector indexes and longer-lived Learnings are stored; self-hosted Enterprise can opt out entirely, and model output logging is off by default for eligible non-open-source organisations Business and Enterprise customer data is not used to train models; a duplicate-detection filter blocks suggestions matching about 150 characters of public code, and free and individual plans carry a training opt-out
Ecosystem fit GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket and Azure DevOps including self-managed servers, plus Jira and Linear, MCP connections and a VS Code extension GitHub, one vendor for hosting, CI/CD and AI
Deployment more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Not stated
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations GitHub, GitHub Enterprise Server, GitLab, Bitbucket, Azure DevOps, Jira, Linear, Slack, VS Code Not stated

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price CodeRabbit Free for open-source repos; Pro $24 / user / month GitHub Copilot Free tier; Pro $10 / month
  • Free trial CodeRabbit 14 days, no credit card; public and open-source repositories are reviewed free permanently GitHub Copilot Free tier with 2,000 completions per month
  • Deployment CodeRabbit Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise GitHub Copilot Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
  • Commercial use CodeRabbit Yes GitHub Copilot Yes, with IP indemnity
  • Output CodeRabbit AI reviews on pull requests, with one-click fixes and pre-merge checks GitHub Copilot Completions plus agent mode

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

CodeRabbit

Strengths

  • Reviews every pull request automatically and proposes one-click fixes
  • Covers GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket and Azure DevOps, including self-managed servers
  • Free reviews for public and open-source repositories
  • Customer code is not used for training, and Enterprise can self-host

Limitations

  • Reviews code rather than writing it, so it sits alongside a coding assistant rather than replacing one
  • Hourly review caps per developer: 5 pull requests on Pro, 10 on Pro Plus
  • Self-hosting is Enterprise only and starts at 500 seats
  • Security monitoring is a separate $40 per user per month tier

GitHub Copilot

Strengths

  • Most widely adopted and easy to get approved
  • Widest IDE support
  • Free tier
  • IP indemnity

Limitations

  • Agent and multi-file orchestration trail Cursor and Claude Code
  • New usage-based credits can raise heavy-use cost

Plans

Pricing

CodeRabbit

  • Open source $0 Free reviews for public and open-source repositories.
  • Pro $24 Per user per month, billed annually. Includes agentic reviews, one-click fixes, 5 MCP connections and Jira and Linear integrations; 5 pull request reviews per developer per hour.
  • Pro Plus $48 Per user per month, billed annually. Adds multi-repo analysis across 10 repos, 20 custom pre-merge checks, unit tests and merge-conflict resolution, post-merge actions, an issue planner and 15 MCP connections; 10 reviews per developer per hour.
  • CodeRabbit Security $40 Per user per month, for continuous security monitoring, security pull request reviews and usage-based full repository scans.
  • Enterprise Not stated Contact sales. Adds custom RBAC, SSO, audit logging, API access, self-hosting, multi-org support, an SLA, a dedicated CSM, EU SaaS deployment and 20 MCP connections.
Visit site

GitHub Copilot

  • Free $0 2,000 completions per month.
  • Pro $10 Per month.
  • Pro+ $39 Per month.
  • Enterprise $39 Per user.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

CodeRabbit

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

GitHub Copilot

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

CodeRabbit https://www.coderabbit.ai · no check date recorded yet

GitHub Copilot https://github.com/features/copilot · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.