CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Code Comparison

Devin vs. OpenHands

At a glance

At a glance

Devin

Best for

Best for engineering teams that want to delegate backlog tickets, bug fixes and migrations to an agent that runs them end to end in the cloud.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

OpenHands

Best for

Best for engineering teams that want an open-source coding agent they can self-host and point at their own models.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Devin OpenHands
Starting price Free tier; Pro $20 / month Pro is for a single developer, with daily and weekly usage quotas plus pay-as-you-go credits. Max $200 per month, Teams from $80 per month ($40 per full seat). Enterprise is billed by consumption in Agent Compute Units. Free, open source (MIT) The hosted Individual plan is free with up to 10 conversations per day; models are billed through your own key or the OpenHands provider at cost. Enterprise is priced on request.
Free trial Free tier Free and open source; hosted Individual plan free with up to 10 conversations per day
Commercial use Yes Yes
Output Autonomous coding, from ticket to pull request Autonomous agents that plan, edit, run and test code
API Yes, the Devin API Yes, REST and WebSocket APIs through the Agent Server
Hosting Not stated Self-hosted locally, in Docker or Kubernetes, or the managed OpenHands Cloud
Where it runs Cloud web app, CLI, Slack and Microsoft Teams, plus an embedded editor (Devin Desktop, the former Windsurf IDE) Agent Canvas web interface, a terminal CLI, a Python, TypeScript and REST SDK, self-hosted Agent and Sandbox servers, or the managed OpenHands Cloud
Inline completions No, Devin works asynchronously as an agent rather than as an inline autocomplete No, an agent platform rather than an inline autocomplete tool
Agent mode Yes, an autonomous agent that plans, writes, runs and tests code in its own cloud environment and opens pull requests Yes, that is the product: agents that plan, edit, run and test code, with automations that decompose GitHub issues into tasks
Model choice Yes, models from Anthropic, OpenAI, Google and Cognition plus open-source options, set with a --model flag, a /model command mid-session or a config file; the Adaptive router can pick per task instead Model-agnostic through LiteLLM, with provider guides for OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, AWS Bedrock, Azure and OpenRouter, plus local open-weight models
Data control SOC 2 Type II, encrypted in transit and at rest; paid plans can opt out of training, which also switches on zero data retention, and enterprise agreements exclude training without written consent. Devin Outposts runs sessions on your own infrastructure Runs on your own machine or in your own VPC when self-hosted; Enterprise adds SAML and SSO, multi-user RBAC and auditability
Ecosystem fit Integrates with GitHub, Linear, Jira, Slack and Microsoft Teams Git integrations plus Jira and Slack, and interoperability with agents that speak the Agent Client Protocol
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
Support Not stated Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations more entries GitHub, Linear, Jira, Slack, Microsoft Teams GitHub, Slack, Jira, Linear

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Devin Free tier; Pro $20 / month OpenHands Free, open source (MIT)
  • Free trial Devin Free tier OpenHands Free and open source; hosted Individual plan free with up to 10 conversations per day
  • Deployment Devin Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based OpenHands Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
  • Output Devin Autonomous coding, from ticket to pull request OpenHands Autonomous agents that plan, edit, run and test code
  • API Devin Yes, the Devin API OpenHands Yes, REST and WebSocket APIs through the Agent Server

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Devin

Strengths

  • Works asynchronously in the cloud, so it can run tasks without occupying your editor
  • Takes whole tickets end to end, from Linear or Jira through to a pull request
  • Reachable from Slack, Teams, a CLI, a web app and an API, not only an IDE

Limitations

  • Consumption-based ACU billing makes heavy use harder to predict than a flat seat price
  • Aimed at delegable, self-contained tasks rather than interactive pair programming

OpenHands

Strengths

  • Open source under MIT, so it can be self-hosted, audited and modified
  • Model-agnostic through LiteLLM, including local open-weight models
  • One agent available as a web interface, a CLI, an SDK and a hosted cloud service

Limitations

  • No inline code completion; it is an agent platform, not an editor assistant
  • Self-hosting means supplying and paying for your own model access
  • The free hosted tier is capped at 10 conversations per day

Plans

Pricing

Devin

  • Free $0 Limited usage; Devin Review and DeepWiki access for individual trial users.
  • Pro $20 Per month. Single developer, daily and weekly usage quotas plus pay-as-you-go credits.
  • Max $200 Per month. Larger weekly quota with no daily cap.
  • Teams $80 Per month minimum. Unlimited members; $40 per full seat, free flex seats draw from shared credits.
  • Enterprise Custom Billed by consumption in Agent Compute Units (ACUs).
Visit site

OpenHands

  • Open source $0 Self-hosted under MIT, model-agnostic, with community support. You bring your own model access.
  • Individual $0 Hosted cloud access with up to 10 conversations per day, API support and Jira and Slack integrations. Bring your own key, or use the OpenHands provider at cost.
  • Enterprise Not stated Priced on request. SaaS or self-hosted VPC, SAML and SSO, unlimited concurrent conversations per user, multi-user RBAC and priority support.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Devin

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

OpenHands

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Devin https://devin.ai · no check date recorded yet

OpenHands https://www.openhands.dev · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.