CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Code Comparison

OpenAI Codex vs. Roomote

At a glance

At a glance

OpenAI Codex

Best for

Best for developers in the OpenAI ecosystem who want one coding agent across the terminal, IDE, cloud and pull requests.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Roomote

Best for

Best for teams that want a cloud coding agent on their own infrastructure, driven from chat.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion OpenAI Codex Roomote
Starting price lower value Included with ChatGPT Plus $20 / month Codex is bundled into ChatGPT, not sold separately. A free tier and Go ($8 per month) are limited; Plus is $20, Pro from $100 (up to $200 for higher limits), Business $25 per user monthly or $20 billed annually. Also available through the OpenAI API at token rates. Free for up to 10 self-hosted users; cloud from $49 / month Cloud is $49 a month for up to 10 users, $249 for 11 to 50 and $499 for 51 to 100, with larger deployments quoted. Self-hosting needs no licence key up to 10 users and is priced the same as cloud above that. Inference and compute are billed by your own providers.
Free trial Free ChatGPT tier with basic Codex Seven-day cloud trial without a credit card; self-hosting is free up to 10 users
Commercial use Yes Yes, source-available under the Fair Core License 1.0, with each release converting to Apache 2.0 two years after publication
Output Autonomous coding across CLI, IDE, cloud and pull requests Branches, diffs and pull requests with live previews, plus plans and answers
API Yes, through the OpenAI API A Roomote MCP server starts, inspects and continues sessions and tasks from an MCP client
Hosting Not stated Self-hosted with a one-command installer or Docker Compose, or a single-tenant cloud deployment
Where it runs Codex CLI in the terminal, an IDE extension, a desktop app, a cloud sandbox and automated pull request review, plus web and iOS Not an editor: a self-hosted or single-tenant cloud deployment, driven from Slack, Microsoft Teams, Discord, Telegram, a web dashboard, Linear or a pull request
Inline completions No, Codex is an agent rather than an inline autocomplete No, the vendor states it is not an IDE, a local copilot or a desktop app; work is delegated rather than typed alongside
Agent mode Yes, it writes, runs and tests code and can delegate longer tasks to a cloud sandbox Yes, tasks run in isolated sandboxes with the repository and dev environment, the agent reviews its own changes with a second model, runs the app before calling the work done and hands back branches, diffs or pull requests with a live preview URL; automations start work on a schedule or on repository events
Model choice No, OpenAI's own GPT models tuned for coding Yes, model agnostic and bring your own key, with providers including Anthropic, OpenAI, Google Gemini, xAI, Amazon Bedrock, Azure OpenAI and Foundry, OpenRouter, Together AI, Baseten, Moonshot, Z.AI, MiniMax, LiteLLM, vLLM and Ollama
Data control Three sandbox modes, read-only, workspace-write and danger-full-access, with writable roots to widen the boundary without switching the sandbox off; network access asks for approval by default. Approval policies are untrusted, on-request or never, and a grant can be limited to one command or one session. In ChatGPT Work an administrator sets network access or an allowlist of hostnames, manages configuration and model availability, assigns workspace roles and reads audit events through a compliance API Self-hostable on your own infrastructure and single-tenant by design, source-available for inspection, with your own inference keys and your own sandbox provider; telemetry is anonymous and documented separately
Ecosystem fit OpenAI and ChatGPT; one usage allowance shared across surfaces GitHub, GitLab, Gitea, Bitbucket and Azure DevOps for source control; connectors for Jira, Linear, Asana, monday.com, Notion, Sentry, Grafana, PostHog, Snowflake, Supabase, Neon, Vercel and Railway; custom MCP servers; sandboxes on Docker, E2B, Daytona, Modal, Azure, Blaxel and Box
MCP-ready No stated Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
Support Not stated Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations GitHub, Visual Studio Code, Cursor, Windsurf, Xcode, JetBrains IDEs more entries GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket, Azure DevOps, Gitea, Slack, Microsoft Teams, Discord, Telegram, Linear, Jira, Asana, monday.com, Notion, Sentry, Grafana, PostHog, Snowflake, Supabase, Vercel

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price OpenAI Codex Included with ChatGPT Plus $20 / month Roomote Free for up to 10 self-hosted users; cloud from $49 / month
  • Free trial OpenAI Codex Free ChatGPT tier with basic Codex Roomote Seven-day cloud trial without a credit card; self-hosting is free up to 10 users
  • Deployment OpenAI Codex Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Roomote Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
  • Company size OpenAI Codex Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Roomote Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • MCP-ready OpenAI Codex No Roomote Yes

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

OpenAI Codex

Strengths

  • One agent and one allowance across the terminal, IDE, cloud and pull requests
  • Bundled into existing ChatGPT plans, easy to reach if you already pay for ChatGPT
  • Cloud sandbox runs longer tasks asynchronously while you keep working

Limitations

  • Tied to OpenAI's own models, with no third-party model choice
  • Token-based credits mean heavy use can need extra purchases; the free and Go tiers are limited

Roomote

Strengths

  • Self-hostable and single-tenant, with your own inference keys and sandbox provider
  • Work starts and lands in Slack, Teams, Discord, Telegram, Linear or a pull request rather than in an editor
  • Reviews its own changes with a second model and returns a live preview URL before a human looks

Limitations

  • No inline completions and no editor integration; it is not a local assistant
  • Self-hosting means running the deployment, the sandboxes and the inference bill yourself

Plans

Pricing

OpenAI Codex

  • Free $0 Basic Codex capabilities.
  • Go $8 Per month. Light use; excludes cloud task delegation.
  • Plus $20 Per month. Includes Codex with cloud task delegation.
  • Pro From $100 Per month for 5x limits, $200 per month for 20x limits.
  • Business $25 Per user monthly, or $20 billed annually.
  • Enterprise Custom Contact sales.
Visit site

Roomote

  • Self-hosted, up to 10 users $0 No licence key needed. You provide hosting, sandboxes, inference and maintenance.
  • Cloud, up to 10 users $49 Per month, all features included, with a seven-day free trial and no credit card.
  • 11 to 50 users $249 Per month, cloud or self-hosted.
  • 51 to 100 users $499 Per month, cloud or self-hosted.
  • 100+ users Not stated Quoted by the vendor.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

OpenAI Codex

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Roomote

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

OpenAI Codex https://openai.com/codex/ · no check date recorded yet

Roomote https://roomote.dev · checked against the official source on 2026-09-10

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.