CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Code Comparison

Qodo vs. Zed

At a glance

At a glance

Qodo

Best for

Best for teams that want automated, context-aware AI code review across their IDE, pull requests and Git workflows.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Zed

Best for

Best for developers who want a fast, native, open-source editor with agentic AI and the option to bring their own model keys.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Qodo Zed
Starting price Pro Team $30 / month Credit-based at $0.012 per credit, with credit packs; up to 30 users. Enterprise is custom. lower value Free; Pro $10 / month Business $30 per seat per month. Pro includes $5 of monthly AI token credits, with hosted model usage billed by token beyond that.
Free trial 14-day free trial, no credit card Free plan (Personal)
Commercial use Yes Yes
Output AI code review and context-aware suggestions in the IDE, PRs and CLI Agentic, multi-file AI editing in a native editor
API No public developer API; the Agentic Toolbox exposes Qodo to coding agents N/A
Where it runs IDE plugins for VS Code, JetBrains IDEs and Visual Studio, plus pull requests, CLI and Git workflows Its own native editor for macOS, Linux and Windows
Inline completions No, autocomplete and chat-based code generation have been deprecated; the IDE plugin reviews local changes instead Yes, edit prediction, with 2,000 accepted predictions on the free plan and unlimited on Pro
Agent mode Yes, agentic pull-request code review with multi-repository context Yes, an agentic mode for multi-file edits
Model choice Enterprise can bring its own model: OpenAI, Anthropic, Azure OpenAI or self-hosted Yes, Zed-hosted models or your own API keys from Anthropic, OpenAI, Google, Amazon Bedrock and others
Data control Bring-your-own-model and self-hosted options on Enterprise Bring your own API keys so requests go straight to your provider; Business adds organization data governance
Ecosystem fit GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket and Azure DevOps Native editor built for speed, with multiplayer collaboration
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Not stated
Support Not stated Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket, Azure DevOps, Visual Studio Code, JetBrains IDEs, Visual Studio Not stated

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Qodo Pro Team $30 / month Zed Free; Pro $10 / month
  • Free trial Qodo 14-day free trial, no credit card Zed Free plan (Personal)
  • Company size Qodo Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Zed Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • Output Qodo AI code review and context-aware suggestions in the IDE, PRs and CLI Zed Agentic, multi-file AI editing in a native editor
  • API Qodo No public developer API; the Agentic Toolbox exposes Qodo to coding agents Zed N/A

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Qodo

Strengths

  • Automated, context-aware code review in the IDE and pull requests
  • Bring-your-own-model and self-hosted options on Enterprise
  • Broad Git platform coverage across GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket and Azure DevOps

Limitations

  • Credit-based pricing can be harder to predict
  • Focused on review and quality more than full IDE autocomplete

Zed

Strengths

  • Fast, native, open-source editor
  • Agentic AI editing with a free plan and a bring-your-own-key option
  • Model choice across Anthropic, OpenAI, Google and more

Limitations

  • Younger ecosystem than established IDEs
  • Hosted AI beyond the included credit is billed by token

Plans

Pricing

Qodo

  • Trial $0 14 days, no credit card. Unlimited reviews and credits.
  • Pro Team $30 Per month, up to 30 users, billed monthly with no annual commitment. Credit-based at $0.012 per credit, pooled across the team, in packs of roughly 2,500, 5,000 or 20,000. Credits do not roll over; overage is charged at the same rate up to a cap you set.
  • Enterprise Custom For 30+ users. Priority support and a dedicated customer success manager.
Visit site

Zed

  • Personal $0 Free forever. 2,000 accepted edit predictions, or unlimited with your own API keys.
  • Pro $10 Per month. Unlimited edit predictions and $5 of monthly AI token credits; hosted model usage billed by token beyond that.
  • Business $30 Per seat per month. Adds organization AI policies and data governance.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Qodo

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Zed

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Qodo https://www.qodo.ai/ · checked against the official source on 2026-09-08

Zed https://zed.dev · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.