CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Image Comparison

InvokeAI vs. Photoroom

At a glance

At a glance

InvokeAI

Best for

Best for artists and studios who want local, self-hosted image generation with a proper editing canvas.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Photoroom

Best for

Best for e-commerce sellers and marketers who need listing-ready product visuals fast, with API and MCP automation.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion InvokeAI Photoroom
Starting price Free Open source under Apache-2.0. You supply the hardware. From $12.99 / month Photoroom Pro billed monthly, or $89.99 for a year. Max is $34.99 a month or $250 a year, Ultra $99 a month or $990 a year, and Enterprise is quoted.
Free trial Free and open source, no subscription Free plan, paid plans add AI credits
Commercial use The application is Apache-2.0; the licence of each model you load applies to its output Yes, for listings, ads and branded content
Output Images Product-focused images: backgrounds, scenes, mockups and graphics from text
Hosting Self-hosted on Windows 10+, macOS on Apple Silicon or Linux, with a GPU Not stated
Where you use it Self-hosted application on Windows 10+, macOS (Apple Silicon) and Linux, installed via installer, Docker or manual Python setup Web, iOS and Android apps, plus an API and an MCP server
Text in images Depends on the model loaded; the application renders nothing itself Through separate tools rather than the image generator: an AI Font and Text Generator turns a prompt into a styled text graphic as a PNG or JPEG, and the editor lays text overlays over a photo
Customization and control Unified Canvas with layers, brush tools and in- and outpainting, node-based workflows, ControlNet, LoRAs, textual inversions, batch generation and upscaling Integrates with Photoroom's editors: background removal, product staging, virtual models and upscaling, with batch workflows, plus a Brand Kit holding logos, fonts and colours
Open weights Yes, Apache-2.0 application running open-weight models including Stable Diffusion 1.5 and 2.0, SDXL, Flux and CogView 4 No
API Yes, the self-hosted server exposes an HTTP API built with FastAPI and Socket.IO, with an annotated OpenAPI spec; it is the same interface the web UI runs on Yes, plus an official MCP server for AI agents
MCP-ready No stated Yes
Deployment On-premise more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Community forum Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Not stated Shopify, Zapier, Make, Airtable, Figma, Google Drive, WordPress, Capture One, Pixelz, Image Relay

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price InvokeAI Free Photoroom From $12.99 / month
  • Free trial InvokeAI Free and open source, no subscription Photoroom Free plan, paid plans add AI credits
  • Deployment InvokeAI On-premise Photoroom Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
  • Company size InvokeAI Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Photoroom Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • MCP-ready InvokeAI No Photoroom Yes

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

InvokeAI

Strengths

  • Free and Apache-2.0, a permissive licence for commercial work
  • Layer-based Unified Canvas with brushes, inpainting and outpainting
  • Runs locally, so prompts and output stay on your own hardware
  • Supports 25+ model architectures with LoRA, textual inversion and ControlNet management

Limitations

  • You supply and maintain a suitable GPU
  • macOS support is Apple Silicon only
  • Community support rather than a vendor helpdesk

Photoroom

Strengths

  • Purpose-built for product and e-commerce visuals
  • Commercial rights for listings, ads and branded content
  • Official MCP server lets AI agents like Claude drive its tools
  • API and batch workflows for automation

Limitations

  • Oriented to product imagery, not open-ended artistic generation
  • AI generations are metered by credits

Plans

Pricing

InvokeAI

  • Open source $0 Apache-2.0 licence, self-hosted on your own hardware.
Visit site

Photoroom

  • Free Not stated Basic AI generations to try the tool.
  • Pro $12.99 / month 8,000 AI credits and 1,000 exports per month. $89.99 paid yearly.
  • Max $34.99 / month 25,000 AI credits and 3,000 exports per month. $250 paid yearly.
  • Ultra $99 / month 75,000 AI credits and 10,000 exports per month, in several tiers. $990 paid yearly.
  • Enterprise Not stated Custom credits and pricing.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

InvokeAI

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Photoroom

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

InvokeAI https://invoke.ai · checked against the official source on 2026-09-05

Photoroom https://www.photoroom.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-11

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.