Best for
Best for designers and artists who want striking, cinematic visuals with minimal prompt effort.
- Freelancers
- Small and mid-sized
No tools match
Press / to search, arrow keys to move, Enter to open
AI Image Comparison
At a glance
Best for
Best for designers and artists who want striking, cinematic visuals with minimal prompt effort.
Best for
Best for photographers, video teams and AI creators who need existing material brought up to print or delivery quality, rather than new images generated.
Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.
| Criterion | Midjourney | Topaz Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | lower value Basic $10 / month Around 200 images. Standard $30, Pro $60, Mega $120. Annual billing saves 20%. | From $19 / month List price of Topaz for Web (Image), shown at $12 under a limited-time offer when this entry was written. Topaz for Web (Video) is $29, Astra $39 and the desktop apps $29 (Gigapixel) and $39 (Photo) a month. Topaz Studio bundles every app at $399 a year, $34 a month billed annually or $69 billed monthly; Topaz Studio Pro is $799 a year. The API is separate, from $50 a month. |
| Free trial | No free tier | Not stated |
| Commercial use | Yes, from the Basic plan | Yes, personal and commercial use for organisations under $1M USD annual revenue; Topaz Studio Pro carries full commercial use |
| Output | Artistic and cinematic images, weaker at readable text | Enhanced and upscaled images and video, up to 16x on Gigapixel and 4K output on Astra |
| API | No official public API | Yes, a REST API priced in credits from $50 a month, with enterprise and on-premise options |
| Hosting | Not stated | Desktop apps for Windows and Mac with unlimited local rendering, browser apps, an iPhone app and a cloud API |
| Where you use it | Web and Discord | Desktop apps for Windows and Mac (Topaz Photo, Topaz Video, Topaz Gigapixel), browser apps (Topaz for Web for image and video, Bloom, Astra), an iPhone app and an Adobe Premiere panel, plus a REST API |
| Text in images | Weaker at readable text | Not a text-to-image generator. Gigapixel carries a Text and Shapes model for upscaling lettering and graphics, and Topaz Photo a Preserve Text option that keeps type legible while the rest of the image is enhanced |
| Customization and control | Yes, style control | Named models picked per job rather than prompts: Wonder, Standard, Standard Max, High Fidelity, Low Res, Art and CG, Recover, Redefine and Face Recovery on images, and Precision Upscale, Creative Upscale, Frame Interpolation, Slow Motion and SDR to HDR on video, with unlimited local rendering on the desktop apps and credit-metered rendering in the cloud |
| Open weights | No, closed model | No, the models are proprietary |
| Deployment | Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based | more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise |
| Support | Not stated | Email helpdesk, Community forum |
| Onboarding | Not stated | Documentation and knowledge base |
| Company size | Freelancers, Small and mid-sized | more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise |
| Integrations | Not stated | Adobe Premiere Pro |
Adds a column to the table, from the tools in this category.
Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.
The short version
Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.
The trade-offs
Midjourney
Strengths
Limitations
Topaz Labs
Strengths
Limitations
Plans
Midjourney
Topaz Labs
What users say
Midjourney
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.
Topaz Labs
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.
Where this comes from
Midjourney https://www.midjourney.com · no check date recorded yet
Topaz Labs https://www.topazlabs.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-16
This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.