CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Topaz Labs

AI upscaling, denoising and restoration for photos and video, on the desktop, in the browser and through an API.

Starting price
From $19 / month
Commercial use
Yes, personal and commercial use for organisations under $1M USD annual revenue; Topaz Studio Pro carries full commercial use
Output
Enhanced and upscaled images and video, up to 16x on Gigapixel and 4K output on Astra
Visit Topaz Labs

Overview

Topaz Labs makes AI enhancement software rather than an image generator: it takes footage and photographs that already exist and upscales, denoises, sharpens and restores them. The desktop line covers Topaz Photo for denoising, sharpening, lighting, face recovery and restoration, Topaz Gigapixel for upscaling up to 16 times the pixels, and Topaz Video for upscaling, frame interpolation, slow motion and SDR to HDR conversion, all rendering locally without a per-image cloud charge. Around that sit browser apps (Topaz for Web for image and video, Bloom and Astra, which enhances video in the cloud up to 4K), an iPhone app and an Adobe Premiere panel. Work is driven by named models chosen per job, among them Wonder, Standard Max, High Fidelity, Low Res, Text and Shapes, Art and CG, Recover and Face Recovery, rather than by prompts. Licensing is tiered by the buyer's size: standard plans cover personal and commercial use for organisations under one million US dollars in annual revenue, while Topaz Studio Pro carries full commercial use. A separate REST API exposes image upscale, denoise and sharpen plus video upscale and frame interpolation, priced in credits, with an enterprise tier offering on-premise deployment.

Best for photographers, video teams and AI creators who need existing material brought up to print or delivery quality, rather than new images generated.

This is the finishing step of a pipeline rather than a place to make something, which is why it turns up next to the generators rather than competing with them: the material comes from a camera, an archive or another model, and Topaz decides how good it looks at full size. Local rendering is the commercial argument, because the per-job cost of a large batch disappears once the subscription is paid, and it is the reason the desktop apps still matter next to the browser versions. Two things deserve a look before committing. The catalogue is fragmented across apps, browser tools and an API with their own prices, so working out what a given workflow actually costs takes a few minutes with the pricing page. And the licence is scaled to company revenue, an unusual condition in this category, so a growing studio should know where its threshold sits before it crosses it.

Key Facts

Category
Starting price From $19 / month List price of Topaz for Web (Image), shown at $12 under a limited-time offer when this entry was written. Topaz for Web (Video) is $29, Astra $39 and the desktop apps $29 (Gigapixel) and $39 (Photo) a month. Topaz Studio bundles every app at $399 a year, $34 a month billed annually or $69 billed monthly; Topaz Studio Pro is $799 a year. The API is separate, from $50 a month.
Commercial use Yes, personal and commercial use for organisations under $1M USD annual revenue; Topaz Studio Pro carries full commercial use
Output Enhanced and upscaled images and video, up to 16x on Gigapixel and 4K output on Astra
API Yes, a REST API priced in credits from $50 a month, with enterprise and on-premise options
Hosting Desktop apps for Windows and Mac with unlimited local rendering, browser apps, an iPhone app and a cloud API

Screenshots

Placeholders. They are replaced as soon as the vendor sends material, and both open the same short form.

Features

Where you use it
Desktop apps for Windows and Mac (Topaz Photo, Topaz Video, Topaz Gigapixel), browser apps (Topaz for Web for image and video, Bloom, Astra), an iPhone app and an Adobe Premiere panel, plus a REST API
Text in images
Not a text-to-image generator. Gigapixel carries a Text and Shapes model for upscaling lettering and graphics, and Topaz Photo a Preserve Text option that keeps type legible while the rest of the image is enhanced
Customization and control
Named models picked per job rather than prompts: Wonder, Standard, Standard Max, High Fidelity, Low Res, Art and CG, Recover, Redefine and Face Recovery on images, and Precision Upscale, Creative Upscale, Frame Interpolation, Slow Motion and SDR to HDR on video, with unlimited local rendering on the desktop apps and credit-metered rendering in the cloud
Open weights
No, the models are proprietary
API
Yes, a REST API covering image upscaling, denoise and sharpen plus video upscaling and frame interpolation, priced in credits from $50 a month, with an enterprise tier offering volume pricing and on-premise deployment

Integrations

  • Adobe Premiere Pro

Deployment and Support

Deployment
  • Cloud (SaaS)
  • Browser-based
  • On-premise
Support
  • Email helpdesk
  • Community forum
Onboarding
  • Documentation and knowledge base
Company size
  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Suitability

Industry FreelancersSmall and mid-sizedEnterprise
Agencies Not stated Not stated Not stated
Architecture & Engineering Not stated Not stated Not stated
Consulting Not stated Not stated Not stated
Media & Creative Stated as a fit Stated as a fit Stated as a fit
Technology Not stated Not stated Not stated

The table combines the industries the vendor addresses with the company sizes the tool is aimed at. An empty cell means the combination is not stated, not that it is ruled out.

Pros and Cons

Strengths

  • Unlimited local rendering on the desktop apps, so large batches carry no per-image cloud cost
  • Upscaling up to 16x the pixels in Gigapixel
  • Named models chosen per job for photos, artwork, low-resolution sources and faces
  • REST API with an enterprise tier that can be deployed on-premise

Limitations

  • Enhancement only, so nothing is generated from a prompt
  • The standard commercial licence is limited to organisations under $1M USD annual revenue
  • Pricing is spread across separate apps, browser tools, bundles and the API
  • Cloud video work is metered in credits that expire at the end of each month

Pricing

  • Topaz for Web - Image

    $19

    Per month, shown at $12 under a limited-time offer. Unlimited cloud image rendering, includes Topaz for Mobile, 32 MP export limit and two concurrent renders.

  • Topaz for Web - Video

    $29

    Per month, shown at $19 under a limited-time offer. 200 credits a month, two concurrent renders and file storage.

  • Astra Standard

    $39

    Per month, shown at $19 under a limited-time offer. Cloud video enhancement up to 4K, 400 credits a month for roughly ten minutes of HD video; extra credits $0.10 each.

  • Topaz Gigapixel

    $29

    Per month. Image upscaling up to 16x with unlimited local rendering and unlimited cloud image rendering.

  • Topaz Photo

    $39

    Per month. Image enhancement models including Wonder, Super Focus, Dust and Scratch and Recover Faces, with unlimited local rendering.

  • Topaz Studio

    $399

    Per year, or $34 a month billed annually and $69 billed monthly. Every app, unlimited local rendering, unlimited cloud image rendering and 300 video cloud credits a month.

  • Topaz Studio Pro

    $799

    Per year. Pro licences of every app with pro-exclusive models, 600 video cloud credits a month, 100 MP cloud export, seat management and full commercial use.

  • API Developer

    $50

    Per month. 500 credits at $0.10 each, rolling over up to five times the monthly volume.

  • API Scale

    $240

    Per month. 3,000 credits at $0.08 each, with priority support and custom workflows.

Best For

Alternatives and Comparisons

FAQ

Can Topaz Labs generate images from a prompt?
No. Topaz enhances material that already exists: upscaling, denoising, sharpening, restoring and, on video, frame interpolation and SDR to HDR conversion. It is often used as the finishing step on output from a generator, and the vendor publishes upscaling pages aimed at exactly that.
May I use the output commercially?
Standard plans cover personal and commercial use for organisations under one million US dollars in annual revenue. Above that threshold the vendor points to Topaz Studio Pro, which carries full commercial use, or to its enterprise offer.
Does the software need an internet connection?
Not for the desktop apps, which render locally and are sold with unlimited local rendering. Cloud rendering, the browser apps and Astra are metered in credits, and those credits expire at the end of each month rather than rolling over.

What users say

Reviews

-

0 reviews

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Share your experience

Write a Review

Click a star to rate each area. The arrow keys work as well.

Ease of use
User interface
Onboarding
Support and service
Value for money
Features

Only used to check the review. Never published.

The overall score is the average of the six ratings above. Nothing is weighted, and a paid placement does not change a single one of them.

Last verified:

Ready to take a closer look at Topaz Labs

The link goes straight to the vendor. Some links on this site are affiliate links.

Visit Topaz Labs