CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Music Comparison

ACE Studio vs. Udio

At a glance

At a glance

ACE Studio

Best for

Best for producers who write the melody themselves and need a convincing sung vocal for it.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Udio

Best for

Best for creators who want vocal songs with fine-grained, section-level editing.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion ACE Studio Udio
Starting price From $16.58 / month Artist plan, billed yearly, at the discounted rate currently shown (20% off the regular $20.73). After two years of payments both plans convert to a lifetime licence. lower value Free tier; Standard $10 / month, Pro $30 / month Annual billing is 20 percent cheaper; Standard is $96 plus tax a year in the US. Students at accredited universities get 50 percent off for six months.
Free trial Not stated Free tier: 10 daily credits plus a monthly limit of 100 credits. A one-off seven-day subscription trial is available, limited to one per creator.
Commercial use Royalty-free AI voices and AI instruments on the paid plans Paid tiers
Output AI singing vocals and AI instrument performances, exported as WAV, MIDI or stems Full songs with vocals
API No public REST API; a local MCP server and the acestudio-cli let an AI agent drive the app No, the vendor states it does not currently offer a public API
Languages 8 languages for the AI voices Not stated
Hosting Desktop application for Windows and macOS; ACE Bridge plugin in VST3, AU and AAX Not stated
Vocals and lyrics Yes, singing vocals from MIDI and lyrics; 160+ royalty-free AI voices in 8 languages, Choir Mode and voice cloning Yes, songs with vocals
Control and editing Yes, driven by your own MIDI and lyrics, plus Generative Kits that build an arrangement from a text description, a Music Enhancer, a voice changer and audio-to-MIDI Yes, section-level inpainting: regenerate a passage while keeping the rest
Sound effects Yes, sound-effect generation, and the Video Composer places effects on the cuts of a video No, focused on songs
Export and stems WAV, MIDI and stem export; a stem splitter also separates existing tracks Downloads of audio, video and stems were disabled as of early 2026 pending a relicensed platform
MCP-ready stated Yes No
Deployment On-premise more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk Chat
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations Claude Desktop, ChatGPT desktop app, VS Code (GitHub Copilot), Cursor, Codex Not stated

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price ACE Studio From $16.58 / month Udio Free tier; Standard $10 / month, Pro $30 / month
  • Deployment ACE Studio On-premise Udio Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
  • Support ACE Studio Email helpdesk Udio Chat
  • MCP-ready ACE Studio Yes Udio No
  • Commercial use ACE Studio Royalty-free AI voices and AI instruments on the paid plans Udio Paid tiers

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

ACE Studio

Strengths

  • Vocals follow your own MIDI and lyrics, so melody and phrasing stay yours
  • 160+ royalty-free AI voices in 8 languages, with voice cloning on both paid plans
  • ACE Bridge plugin (VST3, AU, AAX) puts the engine inside a DAW
  • Rent-to-own: after two years the subscription becomes a lifetime licence

Limitations

  • Desktop software for Windows and macOS, not a browser tool
  • No free plan or trial is published, only a seven-day money-back guarantee
  • Both plans are billed yearly and metered in monthly credits
  • Needs MIDI and lyrics as input, so it is not a prompt-to-song generator

Udio

Strengths

  • Section-level inpainting for precise edits
  • Strong vocal music
  • Broad label licensing settlements

Limitations

  • As of mid-2026 audio, video and stem downloads were disabled pending a relicensed platform
  • Ongoing litigation reported
  • No public API, so it cannot be automated or built into a pipeline

Plans

Pricing

ACE Studio

  • Artist $16.58 Per month, billed yearly, at the discounted rate currently shown (20% off the regular $20.73). 2,500 credits a month, 160+ AI voices, 40+ AI instruments, one cloning slot for vocal synthesis and one for the voice changer.
  • Artist Pro $22 Per month, billed yearly, at the discounted rate currently shown (20% off the regular $27.50). 5,000 credits a month, five cloning slots for vocal synthesis and ten for the voice changer, plus everything in Artist.
Visit site

Udio

  • Free $0 10 daily credits plus a monthly limit of 100 credits.
  • Standard $10 Per month, up to 2,400 credits. Annual billing is 20 percent cheaper, $96 plus tax a year in the US.
  • Pro $30 Per month, up to 6,000 credits. Annual billing is 20 percent cheaper.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

ACE Studio

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Udio

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

ACE Studio https://acestudio.ai · checked against the official source on 2026-08-30

Udio https://www.udio.com · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.