CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Sound & Audio Comparison

Async vs. sonible

At a glance

At a glance

Async

Best for

Best for podcasters and video creators who want to record, clean up and re-cut a session by describing the edit.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

sonible

Best for

Best for producers and engineers who want mixing and mastering plug-ins that suggest a starting point, bought outright rather than rented.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Async sonible
Starting price lower value Free tier; Essentials $19.99 / creator / month Billed per creator. Yearly billing takes 40 percent off, bringing Essentials to $11.99, Pro to $23.99 and Teams to $49.99 a month. Business is quoted. Free plug-in available; paid plug-ins from $39 Perpetual licences, priced per plug-in. The pure series lists at $39, most smart series plug-ins at $129, and bundles from $99 to $599.
Free trial Free plan: 3 hours of video recording, 10 lifetime AI credits and 1 hour of transcription, for one creator puffer:fish is free
Users Millions of creators, per the vendor Not stated
Commercial use Not stated Yes
Output Edited audio and video, transcripts, captions and short-form clips Processed audio inside a DAW
API Yes, the Async Voice API No, desktop plug-ins
Hosting Not stated Desktop plug-ins, macOS 10.14+ or Windows 10 64-bit
Made in Not stated Austria
What it does Records, edits and publishes podcasts and video, with the edit driven by chat instructions instead of a timeline AI-assisted mixing and mastering plug-ins that analyse the audio and propose their own settings
Noise removal and repair Yes, Magic Dust removes background noise and clarifies the voice; a separate pass cuts filler words, pauses, repeats and bad takes Partly: smart:gate for noise and bleed, smart:deess and pure:deess for sibilance. Not a restoration suite for damaged recordings
Mastering and loudness AI Auto leveling optimizes the volume and noise levels across a track, but there is no mastering pass and no stated LUFS loudness target Yes, smart:limit for loudness targets, with true:level and true:balance for metering
Where it runs In the browser, with remote recording for up to 10 participants and multitrack recording on the higher plans Plug-ins inside a DAW on macOS 10.14+ and Windows 10 64-bit, in VST, VST3 and AAX, plus AU on macOS, native on Apple Silicon
Also included Transcription, styled automatic captions, AI voice generation, generated B-roll and scenes, beat-synced pacing and short-form clips for TikTok, Reels and Shorts Audio interfaces (ml:mio, d:16, d:24) alongside the plug-ins
Deployment more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based On-premise
Support Email helpdesk, Chat, Community forum Not stated
Onboarding more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Guided onboarding Documentation and knowledge base
Company size more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Async Free tier; Essentials $19.99 / creator / month sonible Free plug-in available; paid plug-ins from $39
  • Free trial Async Free plan: 3 hours of video recording, 10 lifetime AI credits and 1 hour of transcription, for one creator sonible puffer:fish is free
  • Deployment Async Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based sonible On-premise
  • Company size Async Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise sonible Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
  • Output Async Edited audio and video, transcripts, captions and short-form clips sonible Processed audio inside a DAW

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Async

Strengths

  • Records, cleans up, edits and publishes in one browser tool
  • Editing by chat instruction rather than by timeline
  • Turns one recording into clips, captions and a transcript
  • Free plan available, and a developer voice API alongside the studio

Limitations

  • The public pricing page names the plans but leaves the amounts blank, so a price has to be looked up in the help centre or in the app
  • Metered in AI credits, so heavy months cost more regardless of seat count
  • Free plan's AI credits and transcription are lifetime allowances, not monthly ones
  • The vendor cautions that AI edits need reviewing

sonible

Strengths

  • Analysis step proposes settings, which is a faster start than a flat processor
  • Perpetual licences rather than a subscription
  • A free plug-in and a cheaper pure series for one-control decisions
  • Native Apple Silicon support, in VST, VST3, AU and AAX

Limitations

  • Priced per plug-in, so a full set adds up and the smart and pure tiers overlap
  • Mixing and mastering only, not repair of damaged recordings
  • Desktop plug-ins with no API or browser version

Plans

Pricing

Async

  • Free $0 One creator, 3 hours of video recording, 10 remote participants, 10 lifetime AI credits and 1 hour of transcription.
  • Essentials $19.99 Per creator per month, or $11.99 a month billed yearly. 8 hours of recording, 450 AI credits a month, 10 hours of transcription, no watermark and 320 kbps MP3 audio.
  • Pro $39.99 Per creator per month, or $23.99 a month billed yearly. 20 hours of recording, 1,200 AI credits a month, 25 hours of transcription, 4K video and unlimited cloud storage.
  • Teams $84.99 Per creator per month, or $49.99 a month billed yearly. 20 hours of recording, 3,000 AI credits a month, 100 hours of transcription, unlimited multitrack recording and collaboration features.
  • Business Not stated Custom, contact sales.
Visit site

sonible

  • puffer:fish $0 Free plug-in.
  • pure series $39 List price per plug-in (pure:EQ, pure:comp, pure:level, pure:limit, pure:verb, pure:deess, pure:unmask). Perpetual licence.
  • smart series $129 List price per plug-in (smart:EQ 4, smart:comp 3, smart:limit, smart:reverb 2, smart:deess, smart:gate). Perpetual licence.
  • smart:chain / prime:vocal $179 List price per plug-in. Perpetual licence.
  • Bundles $99 pure:bundle lists at $159, smart:essentials at $249, smart:bundle at $399 and the Studio Bundle at $599. The Metering Bundle is the cheapest at $99. Perpetual licences.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Async

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

sonible

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Async https://async.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-17

sonible https://www.sonible.com · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.