CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Voice & Speech Comparison

Amazon Polly vs. Read AI

At a glance

At a glance

Amazon Polly

Best for

Best for developers already on AWS who need speech synthesis inside an application, billed per character.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Read AI

Best for

Best for organisations that want meetings, email and messages searchable in one place, and metrics on how the meetings themselves are being run.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Amazon Polly Read AI
Starting price lower value Free tier, then from $4 per 1 million characters Pay-as-you-go by characters sent for synthesis, including spaces and most SSML tags. Standard $4, Neural $16, Generative $30 and Long-Form $100 per 1 million characters. Speech Marks requests are charged at the same rates. Free plan; Pro $19.75 / user / month Pro is $15 per user per month billed annually. Enterprise is $29.75 monthly or $22.50 annually, Enterprise+ $39.75 monthly or $29.75 annually and requires five or more licences. Every plan is measured on 30 meetings a month.
Free trial AWS Free Tier: 5 million Standard characters a month, plus 1 million Neural, 500,000 Long-Form and 100,000 Generative characters a month for the first 12 months Free plan with 5 meeting transcripts a month
Output Synthesised speech as MP3, Ogg Vorbis or raw PCM, plus Speech Marks metadata Meeting reports with summary, topics, action items, key questions and a speaker-separated transcript
API Yes, the Amazon Polly API through the AWS SDKs and the AWS CLI Yes, plus an MCP server and Claude and ChatGPT connectors
Languages Voices in 42 languages and language variants Meeting reports in 16+ languages
Hosting Cloud (AWS) Cloud, with Windows, macOS, Android and iOS apps and a Chrome extension
Voice cloning Brand Voice only, and not as a self-service feature. It is a custom engagement in which the Amazon Polly team builds a Neural voice for the exclusive use of one organisation, covering persona, casting an actor, recording their speech and training the model, after which the voice is released to that customer's AWS account. It starts with an AWS account manager rather than an upload No, Read AI transcribes, summarises and measures meetings and does not synthesise or clone voices
Real-time use Yes, the API returns an audio stream that an application can begin playing as it arrives, in near real time, with a choice of sampling rates to trade bandwidth against audio quality Yes, an in-meeting dashboard with live notes, transcription, summaries and meeting metrics as the call runs, on Zoom, Microsoft Teams and Google Meet
Speech-to-speech and dubbing No. Polly synthesises speech from text and nothing else. Transcription and translation are separate AWS services rather than features of this one No dubbing or speech-to-speech translation
Editing and controls SSML for phrasing, emphasis, intonation, pitch, rate and volume, custom Amazon SSML tags such as the Newscaster speaking style, custom lexicons that set the pronunciation of particular words through IPA-style phonemes, and Speech Marks metadata for speech-synchronised facial animation or word highlighting Meeting reports with summary, topics, action items and key questions, a meeting coach scoring talking speed, filler words, bias and charisma with coaching trends, audio and video playback with highlights from the Enterprise plan, Ask Read search across meetings, email and messages with direct access to Anthropic and OpenAI models, audio and video uploads, and workspace rules controlling which meetings Read joins
Consent and trust Brand Voice is a managed engagement rather than an upload, so a custom voice exists only where an actor has been cast and recorded for that purpose, and the finished voice is restricted to the commissioning organisation's AWS account IDs. There is no self-service cloning path that could be pointed at a voice without its owner taking part Custom assistant branding, naming on all platforms and a logo on Zoom, plus workspace distribution and sharing rules; Enterprise+ adds SAML SSO, SCIM provisioning, domain capture, a custom data retention policy and HIPAA compliance support
MCP-ready No stated Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Not stated Email helpdesk
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Guided onboarding
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Not stated Zoom, Microsoft Teams, Google Meet, HubSpot, Salesforce, Jira, Confluence, Notion, Asana, Slack, Zapier, ChatGPT, Claude

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Amazon Polly Free tier, then from $4 per 1 million characters Read AI Free plan; Pro $19.75 / user / month
  • Free trial Amazon Polly AWS Free Tier: 5 million Standard characters a month, plus 1 million Neural, 500,000 Long-Form and 100,000 Generative characters a month for the first 12 months Read AI Free plan with 5 meeting transcripts a month
  • Hosting Amazon Polly Cloud (AWS) Read AI Cloud, with Windows, macOS, Android and iOS apps and a Chrome extension
  • Languages Amazon Polly Voices in 42 languages and language variants Read AI Meeting reports in 16+ languages
  • MCP-ready Amazon Polly No Read AI Yes

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Amazon Polly

Strengths

  • Four voice engines let quality be traded against cost per character, from $4 to $100 per million
  • Generous free tier, with 5 million Standard characters a month that does not expire
  • Generated speech may be cached and replayed at no additional cost
  • Speech Marks and custom lexicons cover lip-sync and awkward pronunciations properly
  • Brand Voice cannot be used without the voice owner being cast and recorded

Limitations

  • Text to speech only: no transcription, translation or dubbing in this service
  • No self-service voice cloning, and Brand Voice starts with an AWS account manager
  • The Generative and Long-Form engines cover far fewer voices than Standard and Neural
  • Long-Form voices cost $100 per million characters, twenty-five times the Standard rate
  • Useful only from code, so it suits developers rather than anyone wanting an editor

Read AI

Strengths

  • Live notes and meeting metrics while the call is still running
  • Meeting coach and trend reporting on how meetings themselves are run
  • Search spans meetings, email and messages rather than calls alone
  • MCP server with Claude and ChatGPT connectors

Limitations

  • Free plan is capped at five meeting transcripts a month
  • Audio and video playback only from the Enterprise plan up
  • Meeting length is capped by plan, from one hour on Free to eight on Enterprise+
  • SSO, SCIM, HIPAA support and data retention policies need Enterprise+ and five or more licences

Plans

Pricing

Amazon Polly

  • AWS Free Tier Free 5 million Standard characters a month. Neural 1 million, Long-Form 500,000 and Generative 100,000 characters a month for the first 12 months.
  • Standard voices $4 Per 1 million characters for speech or Speech Marks requests, outside the free tier.
  • Neural voices $16 Per 1 million characters for speech or Speech Marks requests, outside the free tier.
  • Generative voices $30 Per 1 million characters for speech requests, outside the free tier.
  • Long-Form voices $100 Per 1 million characters for speech or Speech Marks requests, outside the free tier.
Visit site

Read AI

  • Free $0 Five meeting transcripts a month, best-in-class summaries for meetings, email and messaging, personalised meeting coach, basic integrations, topic readouts and one-hour maximum meeting length.
  • Pro $19.75 Per user per month, $15 billed annually. Unlimited meeting transcripts and reports, priority report processing, 100 file upload credits a month and premium integrations including Notion, Salesforce, HubSpot, Jira, Confluence, Zapier and webhooks.
  • Enterprise $29.75 Per user per month, $22.50 billed annually. Adds audio and video playback, video highlights, 200 file upload credits a month and premium support.
  • Enterprise+ $39.75 Per user per month, $29.75 billed annually, five licences or more. Adds HIPAA compliance, SAML and SCIM, domain capture, a custom data retention policy, 300 file upload credits a month and workspace onboarding.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Amazon Polly

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Read AI

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Amazon Polly https://aws.amazon.com/polly/ · checked against the official source on 2026-09-13

Read AI https://www.read.ai · checked against the official source on 2026-09-16

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.