Best for
Best for developers who need accurate transcription, speech insights or voice agents behind a pay-as-you-go API.
- Small and mid-sized
- Enterprise
No tools match
Press / to search, arrow keys to move, Enter to open
AI Voice & Speech Comparison
At a glance
Best for
Best for developers who need accurate transcription, speech insights or voice agents behind a pay-as-you-go API.
Best for
Best for sales and customer-facing teams who want every call recorded and summarised on a free plan, and the follow-up written back into the CRM once it is worth paying for.
Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.
| Criterion | AssemblyAI | Fathom |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | lower value From $0.15 / hour of audio Pay-as-you-go, no subscription tiers. Pre-recorded speech-to-text is $0.15 / hour on Universal-2 and $0.21 / hour on Universal-3.5 Pro; streaming is $0.15 / hour on Universal-Streaming and $0.45 / hour on Universal-3.5 Pro Realtime; the Voice Agent API is $4.50 / hour, billed per second of connected conversation. Add-ons such as speaker diarization ($0.02 / hour) and medical mode ($0.15 / hour) are charged on top. | Free plan; Premium $20 / user / month Premium is $16 per user per month billed annually. For teams, Team is $19 per user per month ($15 annually) and Business $34 ($25 annually), both with a two-user minimum. Enterprise is quoted. |
| Free trial | $50 in free credits, no credit card required, covering up to 185 hours of pre-recorded or 333 hours of streaming transcription | Free plan with unlimited recordings, transcription and AI summaries |
| Commercial use | Yes, usage-based | Not stated |
| Output | Transcripts, structured speech insights and live voice agent conversations | Transcripts, AI meeting summaries, action items and follow-up emails |
| API | Yes, REST APIs and SDKs | Yes, a public REST API with webhooks and SDKs, plus an MCP server |
| Languages | 99 languages on Universal-2 and 18 on Universal-3.5 Pro for pre-recorded audio; translation across 100+ languages | Transcripts in 38 languages; summaries auto-translated into six |
| Hosting | Not stated | Cloud, with a desktop app for bot-free capture |
| Voice cloning | No, the platform covers speech recognition and voice agents rather than voice creation | No, Fathom records, transcribes and summarises meetings and does not synthesise or clone voices |
| Real-time use | Yes, streaming speech-to-text and a Voice Agent API, alongside batch transcription of pre-recorded files | Yes in the new experience, which shows a live summary that updates as the meeting runs; in the previous experience summaries and transcripts are generated once the recording has been processed |
| Speech-to-speech and dubbing | Yes, the Voice Agent API runs speech-to-speech conversations by orchestrating speech-to-text, an LLM and text-to-speech at one all-inclusive rate | No speech-to-speech or dubbing; the translation covers written summaries only |
| Editing and controls | Speaker identification, diarization, custom formatting, key phrase extraction and guardrails for PII redaction, profanity filtering and content moderation | Chronological and enhanced summaries, advanced summaries from over fifteen templates including BANT and Sandler, AI action items and follow-up emails, clips and playlists, Ask Fathom chat over a single call or the whole account, keyword and AI search alerts, custom summary templates and a custom bot name |
| Consent and trust | SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001, PCI-DSS and a HIPAA BAA included at no premium; EU region available at identical US pricing for GDPR | A choice of bot or bot-free capture, a custom bot name and the option to disable the in-meeting banner on paid plans; Enterprise adds SSO, Okta SCIM provisioning, organisation-wide security controls, custom data retention policies and a signed HIPAA BAA |
| MCP-ready | Yes | Yes |
| Deployment | Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based | Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based |
| Support | Not stated | Email helpdesk |
| Onboarding | Documentation and knowledge base | more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Guided onboarding |
| Company size | Small and mid-sized, Enterprise | more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise |
| Integrations | Not stated | Zoom, Google Meet, Microsoft Teams, HubSpot, Salesforce, Slack, Asana, Zapier, Make, ChatGPT, Claude |
Adds a column to the table, from the tools in this category.
Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.
The short version
Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.
The trade-offs
AssemblyAI
Strengths
Limitations
Fathom
Strengths
Limitations
Plans
AssemblyAI
Fathom
What users say
AssemblyAI
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.
Fathom
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.
Where this comes from
AssemblyAI https://www.assemblyai.com · checked against the official source on 2026-08-30
Fathom https://fathom.video · checked against the official source on 2026-09-16
This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.