Best for
Best for developers who need accurate transcription, speech insights or voice agents behind a pay-as-you-go API.
- Small and mid-sized
- Enterprise
No tools match
Press / to search, arrow keys to move, Enter to open
AI Voice & Speech Comparison
At a glance
Best for
Best for developers who need accurate transcription, speech insights or voice agents behind a pay-as-you-go API.
Best for
Best for organisations that want meetings, email and messages searchable in one place, and metrics on how the meetings themselves are being run.
Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.
| Criterion | AssemblyAI | Read AI |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | lower value From $0.15 / hour of audio Pay-as-you-go, no subscription tiers. Pre-recorded speech-to-text is $0.15 / hour on Universal-2 and $0.21 / hour on Universal-3.5 Pro; streaming is $0.15 / hour on Universal-Streaming and $0.45 / hour on Universal-3.5 Pro Realtime; the Voice Agent API is $4.50 / hour, billed per second of connected conversation. Add-ons such as speaker diarization ($0.02 / hour) and medical mode ($0.15 / hour) are charged on top. | Free plan; Pro $19.75 / user / month Pro is $15 per user per month billed annually. Enterprise is $29.75 monthly or $22.50 annually, Enterprise+ $39.75 monthly or $29.75 annually and requires five or more licences. Every plan is measured on 30 meetings a month. |
| Free trial | $50 in free credits, no credit card required, covering up to 185 hours of pre-recorded or 333 hours of streaming transcription | Free plan with 5 meeting transcripts a month |
| Commercial use | Yes, usage-based | Not stated |
| Output | Transcripts, structured speech insights and live voice agent conversations | Meeting reports with summary, topics, action items, key questions and a speaker-separated transcript |
| API | Yes, REST APIs and SDKs | Yes, plus an MCP server and Claude and ChatGPT connectors |
| Languages | 99 languages on Universal-2 and 18 on Universal-3.5 Pro for pre-recorded audio; translation across 100+ languages | Meeting reports in 16+ languages |
| Hosting | Not stated | Cloud, with Windows, macOS, Android and iOS apps and a Chrome extension |
| Voice cloning | No, the platform covers speech recognition and voice agents rather than voice creation | No, Read AI transcribes, summarises and measures meetings and does not synthesise or clone voices |
| Real-time use | Yes, streaming speech-to-text and a Voice Agent API, alongside batch transcription of pre-recorded files | Yes, an in-meeting dashboard with live notes, transcription, summaries and meeting metrics as the call runs, on Zoom, Microsoft Teams and Google Meet |
| Speech-to-speech and dubbing | Yes, the Voice Agent API runs speech-to-speech conversations by orchestrating speech-to-text, an LLM and text-to-speech at one all-inclusive rate | No dubbing or speech-to-speech translation |
| Editing and controls | Speaker identification, diarization, custom formatting, key phrase extraction and guardrails for PII redaction, profanity filtering and content moderation | Meeting reports with summary, topics, action items and key questions, a meeting coach scoring talking speed, filler words, bias and charisma with coaching trends, audio and video playback with highlights from the Enterprise plan, Ask Read search across meetings, email and messages with direct access to Anthropic and OpenAI models, audio and video uploads, and workspace rules controlling which meetings Read joins |
| Consent and trust | SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001, PCI-DSS and a HIPAA BAA included at no premium; EU region available at identical US pricing for GDPR | Custom assistant branding, naming on all platforms and a logo on Zoom, plus workspace distribution and sharing rules; Enterprise+ adds SAML SSO, SCIM provisioning, domain capture, a custom data retention policy and HIPAA compliance support |
| MCP-ready | Yes | Yes |
| Deployment | Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based | Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based |
| Support | Not stated | Email helpdesk |
| Onboarding | Documentation and knowledge base | more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Guided onboarding |
| Company size | Small and mid-sized, Enterprise | more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise |
| Integrations | Not stated | Zoom, Microsoft Teams, Google Meet, HubSpot, Salesforce, Jira, Confluence, Notion, Asana, Slack, Zapier, ChatGPT, Claude |
Adds a column to the table, from the tools in this category.
Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.
The short version
Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.
The trade-offs
AssemblyAI
Strengths
Limitations
Read AI
Strengths
Limitations
Plans
AssemblyAI
Read AI
What users say
AssemblyAI
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.
Read AI
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.
Where this comes from
AssemblyAI https://www.assemblyai.com · checked against the official source on 2026-08-30
Read AI https://www.read.ai · checked against the official source on 2026-09-16
This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.