CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Voice & Speech Comparison

Azure AI Speech vs. Fathom

At a glance

At a glance

Azure AI Speech

Best for

Best for teams already building on Azure who need transcription, synthesis and translation under one compliance and billing umbrella, including where audio cannot leave their own infrastructure.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Fathom

Best for

Best for sales and customer-facing teams who want every call recorded and summarised on a free plan, and the follow-up written back into the CRM once it is worth paying for.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Azure AI Speech Fathom
Starting price Free tier, then pay-as-you-go Billed by hours of audio transcribed or translated, characters converted to audio and speaker recognition transactions. The rates on Microsoft's pricing page are rendered per region and currency and are not published as fixed figures, so use the Azure pricing calculator for a quote. Free plan; Premium $20 / user / month Premium is $16 per user per month billed annually. For teams, Team is $19 per user per month ($15 annually) and Business $34 ($25 annually), both with a two-user minimum. Enterprise is quoted.
Free trial Free F0 tier: 5 audio hours a month of speech to text, 0.5 million neural characters a month of text to speech and 5 audio hours a month of speech translation Free plan with unlimited recordings, transcription and AI summaries
Output Transcripts, synthesised speech, translated speech and avatar video Transcripts, AI meeting summaries, action items and follow-up emails
API Yes, Speech SDK, Speech CLI and REST APIs Yes, a public REST API with webhooks and SDKs, plus an MCP server
Languages 100+ languages for captioning; the exact locale list differs per feature Transcripts in 38 languages; summaries auto-translated into six
Hosting Cloud, containers at the edge, embedded on-device, and sovereign clouds including Azure Government and Azure operated by 21Vianet Cloud, with a desktop app for bot-free capture
Voice cloning Yes, custom neural voice creates a private voice unique to a brand or product, behind a limited-access application and a code of conduct that requires disclosure and recorded consent from the voice talent No, Fathom records, transcribes and summarises meetings and does not synthesise or clone voices
Real-time use Yes, real-time transcription of streaming audio, fast transcription of pre-recorded files, batch transcription for large volumes, and Voice Live for live conversational agents Yes in the new experience, which shows a live summary that updates as the meeting runs; in the previous experience summaries and transcripts are generated once the recording has been processed
Speech-to-speech and dubbing Yes, speech translation produces real-time speech-to-speech and speech-to-text translation, and can generate translated videos No speech-to-speech or dubbing; the translation covers written summaries only
Editing and controls SSML control over pitch, pronunciation, rate and volume, custom speech models trained on acoustic, language and pronunciation data, custom vocabulary, language identification, pronunciation assessment, speaker recognition, and a no-code Speech Studio alongside the SDK, CLI and REST APIs Chronological and enhanced summaries, advanced summaries from over fifteen templates including BANT and Sandler, AI action items and follow-up emails, clips and playlists, Ask Fathom chat over a single call or the whole account, keyword and AI search alerts, custom summary templates and a custom bot name
Consent and trust Custom neural voice is a limited-access feature with published transparency notes, a code of conduct, disclosure guidelines and a voice-talent disclosure requirement; containers, embedded speech and sovereign clouds keep audio inside your own boundary A choice of bot or bot-free capture, a custom bot name and the option to disable the in-meeting banner on paid plans; Enterprise adds SSO, Okta SCIM provisioning, organisation-wide security controls, custom data retention policies and a signed HIPAA BAA
MCP-ready No stated Yes
Deployment more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Not stated Email helpdesk
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Guided onboarding
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Not stated Zoom, Google Meet, Microsoft Teams, HubSpot, Salesforce, Slack, Asana, Zapier, Make, ChatGPT, Claude

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Azure AI Speech Free tier, then pay-as-you-go Fathom Free plan; Premium $20 / user / month
  • Free trial Azure AI Speech Free F0 tier: 5 audio hours a month of speech to text, 0.5 million neural characters a month of text to speech and 5 audio hours a month of speech translation Fathom Free plan with unlimited recordings, transcription and AI summaries
  • Deployment Azure AI Speech Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Fathom Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
  • Company size Azure AI Speech Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Fathom Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • Hosting Azure AI Speech Cloud, containers at the edge, embedded on-device, and sovereign clouds including Azure Government and Azure operated by 21Vianet Fathom Cloud, with a desktop app for bot-free capture

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Azure AI Speech

Strengths

  • One service covers transcription, synthesis, translation, speaker recognition and avatars
  • Runs in containers at the edge, embedded on-device and in sovereign clouds
  • Custom neural voice and custom speech models for brand voices and domain vocabulary
  • Free F0 tier with 5 audio hours and 0.5 million characters a month

Limitations

  • Pay-as-you-go rates are not published as fixed figures and depend on region and currency
  • Custom neural voice requires a limited-access application before it can be used
  • A platform assembled from many services rather than a single endpoint, so setup takes longer
  • The LLM speech model is still in preview

Fathom

Strengths

  • Free plan carries unlimited recordings, transcription and AI summaries
  • Records without a bot in the call from the desktop app, or with one
  • Transcripts in 38 languages
  • Documented REST API with webhooks, SDKs and an MCP server

Limitations

  • Transcription and summarisation only, with no voice synthesis, cloning or dubbing
  • Summary translation covers six languages against the 38 it transcribes
  • Team and Business plans carry a two-user minimum
  • CRM field sync, coaching metrics and custom summaries start on the Business plan

Plans

Pricing

Azure AI Speech

  • Free (F0) Free 5 audio hours a month of speech to text across standard and custom combined, 0.5 million neural characters a month of text to speech, and 5 audio hours a month of standard speech translation.
  • Standard (S0) Not stated Pay-as-you-go, charged per hour of audio for real-time, batch, fast and custom transcription, per million characters for neural, neural HD and custom professional voice synthesis, and per audio hour for real-time speech translation. Custom speech training is billed per compute hour and custom model endpoint hosting per model per hour. Microsoft renders the rates per region and currency rather than publishing fixed figures.
Visit site

Fathom

  • Free $0 Unlimited recordings and transcriptions, bot-free or bot capture, instant AI summaries, clips, playlists and search across calls.
  • Premium $20 Per user per month, $16 billed annually. Adds advanced call summaries, AI action items, the conversational meeting assistant and a custom meeting bot.
  • Team $19 Per user per month, $15 billed annually, two-user minimum. Adds global search across calls, team playlists and collaboration with comments, folders and keyword alerts.
  • Business $34 Per user per month, $25 billed annually, two-user minimum. Adds CRM field sync, deal view, coaching metrics and AI scorecards and custom summaries.
  • Enterprise Not stated Quoted. Adds the Launch Assist onboarding programme, organisation-wide security controls, SSO and SCIM provisioning, custom data retention and a dedicated success manager.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Azure AI Speech

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Fathom

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Azure AI Speech https://azure.microsoft.com/en-us/products/ai-services/ai-speech · checked against the official source on 2026-09-04

Fathom https://fathom.video · checked against the official source on 2026-09-16

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.