CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Voice & Speech Comparison

Azure AI Speech vs. Read AI

At a glance

At a glance

Azure AI Speech

Best for

Best for teams already building on Azure who need transcription, synthesis and translation under one compliance and billing umbrella, including where audio cannot leave their own infrastructure.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Read AI

Best for

Best for organisations that want meetings, email and messages searchable in one place, and metrics on how the meetings themselves are being run.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Azure AI Speech Read AI
Starting price Free tier, then pay-as-you-go Billed by hours of audio transcribed or translated, characters converted to audio and speaker recognition transactions. The rates on Microsoft's pricing page are rendered per region and currency and are not published as fixed figures, so use the Azure pricing calculator for a quote. Free plan; Pro $19.75 / user / month Pro is $15 per user per month billed annually. Enterprise is $29.75 monthly or $22.50 annually, Enterprise+ $39.75 monthly or $29.75 annually and requires five or more licences. Every plan is measured on 30 meetings a month.
Free trial Free F0 tier: 5 audio hours a month of speech to text, 0.5 million neural characters a month of text to speech and 5 audio hours a month of speech translation Free plan with 5 meeting transcripts a month
Output Transcripts, synthesised speech, translated speech and avatar video Meeting reports with summary, topics, action items, key questions and a speaker-separated transcript
API Yes, Speech SDK, Speech CLI and REST APIs Yes, plus an MCP server and Claude and ChatGPT connectors
Languages 100+ languages for captioning; the exact locale list differs per feature Meeting reports in 16+ languages
Hosting Cloud, containers at the edge, embedded on-device, and sovereign clouds including Azure Government and Azure operated by 21Vianet Cloud, with Windows, macOS, Android and iOS apps and a Chrome extension
Voice cloning Yes, custom neural voice creates a private voice unique to a brand or product, behind a limited-access application and a code of conduct that requires disclosure and recorded consent from the voice talent No, Read AI transcribes, summarises and measures meetings and does not synthesise or clone voices
Real-time use Yes, real-time transcription of streaming audio, fast transcription of pre-recorded files, batch transcription for large volumes, and Voice Live for live conversational agents Yes, an in-meeting dashboard with live notes, transcription, summaries and meeting metrics as the call runs, on Zoom, Microsoft Teams and Google Meet
Speech-to-speech and dubbing Yes, speech translation produces real-time speech-to-speech and speech-to-text translation, and can generate translated videos No dubbing or speech-to-speech translation
Editing and controls SSML control over pitch, pronunciation, rate and volume, custom speech models trained on acoustic, language and pronunciation data, custom vocabulary, language identification, pronunciation assessment, speaker recognition, and a no-code Speech Studio alongside the SDK, CLI and REST APIs Meeting reports with summary, topics, action items and key questions, a meeting coach scoring talking speed, filler words, bias and charisma with coaching trends, audio and video playback with highlights from the Enterprise plan, Ask Read search across meetings, email and messages with direct access to Anthropic and OpenAI models, audio and video uploads, and workspace rules controlling which meetings Read joins
Consent and trust Custom neural voice is a limited-access feature with published transparency notes, a code of conduct, disclosure guidelines and a voice-talent disclosure requirement; containers, embedded speech and sovereign clouds keep audio inside your own boundary Custom assistant branding, naming on all platforms and a logo on Zoom, plus workspace distribution and sharing rules; Enterprise+ adds SAML SSO, SCIM provisioning, domain capture, a custom data retention policy and HIPAA compliance support
MCP-ready No stated Yes
Deployment more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Not stated Email helpdesk
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Guided onboarding
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Not stated Zoom, Microsoft Teams, Google Meet, HubSpot, Salesforce, Jira, Confluence, Notion, Asana, Slack, Zapier, ChatGPT, Claude

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Azure AI Speech Free tier, then pay-as-you-go Read AI Free plan; Pro $19.75 / user / month
  • Free trial Azure AI Speech Free F0 tier: 5 audio hours a month of speech to text, 0.5 million neural characters a month of text to speech and 5 audio hours a month of speech translation Read AI Free plan with 5 meeting transcripts a month
  • Deployment Azure AI Speech Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Read AI Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
  • Company size Azure AI Speech Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Read AI Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • Hosting Azure AI Speech Cloud, containers at the edge, embedded on-device, and sovereign clouds including Azure Government and Azure operated by 21Vianet Read AI Cloud, with Windows, macOS, Android and iOS apps and a Chrome extension

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Azure AI Speech

Strengths

  • One service covers transcription, synthesis, translation, speaker recognition and avatars
  • Runs in containers at the edge, embedded on-device and in sovereign clouds
  • Custom neural voice and custom speech models for brand voices and domain vocabulary
  • Free F0 tier with 5 audio hours and 0.5 million characters a month

Limitations

  • Pay-as-you-go rates are not published as fixed figures and depend on region and currency
  • Custom neural voice requires a limited-access application before it can be used
  • A platform assembled from many services rather than a single endpoint, so setup takes longer
  • The LLM speech model is still in preview

Read AI

Strengths

  • Live notes and meeting metrics while the call is still running
  • Meeting coach and trend reporting on how meetings themselves are run
  • Search spans meetings, email and messages rather than calls alone
  • MCP server with Claude and ChatGPT connectors

Limitations

  • Free plan is capped at five meeting transcripts a month
  • Audio and video playback only from the Enterprise plan up
  • Meeting length is capped by plan, from one hour on Free to eight on Enterprise+
  • SSO, SCIM, HIPAA support and data retention policies need Enterprise+ and five or more licences

Plans

Pricing

Azure AI Speech

  • Free (F0) Free 5 audio hours a month of speech to text across standard and custom combined, 0.5 million neural characters a month of text to speech, and 5 audio hours a month of standard speech translation.
  • Standard (S0) Not stated Pay-as-you-go, charged per hour of audio for real-time, batch, fast and custom transcription, per million characters for neural, neural HD and custom professional voice synthesis, and per audio hour for real-time speech translation. Custom speech training is billed per compute hour and custom model endpoint hosting per model per hour. Microsoft renders the rates per region and currency rather than publishing fixed figures.
Visit site

Read AI

  • Free $0 Five meeting transcripts a month, best-in-class summaries for meetings, email and messaging, personalised meeting coach, basic integrations, topic readouts and one-hour maximum meeting length.
  • Pro $19.75 Per user per month, $15 billed annually. Unlimited meeting transcripts and reports, priority report processing, 100 file upload credits a month and premium integrations including Notion, Salesforce, HubSpot, Jira, Confluence, Zapier and webhooks.
  • Enterprise $29.75 Per user per month, $22.50 billed annually. Adds audio and video playback, video highlights, 200 file upload credits a month and premium support.
  • Enterprise+ $39.75 Per user per month, $29.75 billed annually, five licences or more. Adds HIPAA compliance, SAML and SCIM, domain capture, a custom data retention policy, 300 file upload credits a month and workspace onboarding.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Azure AI Speech

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Read AI

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Azure AI Speech https://azure.microsoft.com/en-us/products/ai-services/ai-speech · checked against the official source on 2026-09-04

Read AI https://www.read.ai · checked against the official source on 2026-09-16

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.