CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Voice & Speech Comparison

Bland AI vs. Read AI

At a glance

At a glance

Bland AI

Best for

Best for regulated industries that need phone automation on their own infrastructure and one predictable per-minute bill.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Read AI

Best for

Best for organisations that want meetings, email and messages searchable in one place, and metrics on how the meetings themselves are being run.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Bland AI Read AI
Starting price lower value From $0.14 / minute of calls Start has no platform fee. Build drops the rate to $0.12 per minute but adds a $299 / month platform fee, so it pays off only above a certain call volume. Transfer time is billed separately at $0.05 per minute on Start and $0.04 on Build. Enterprise is contracted to volume. Free plan; Pro $19.75 / user / month Pro is $15 per user per month billed annually. Enterprise is $29.75 monthly or $22.50 annually, Enterprise+ $39.75 monthly or $29.75 annually and requires five or more licences. Every plan is measured on 30 meetings a month.
Free trial Start includes 2 credits and an inbound number, which the vendor values at $15 / month, with no card required Free plan with 5 meeting transcripts a month
Commercial use Yes, usage-based Not stated
Output AI phone agents for inbound and outbound calls, plus the same agents over SMS, RCS, iMessage and a web chat widget Meeting reports with summary, topics, action items, key questions and a speaker-separated transcript
API Yes, a REST API with a CLI, a Web Agent SDK and an MCP plugin for coding agents Yes, plus an MCP server and Claude and ChatGPT connectors
Languages 40 or more out of the box, with real-time translation in 23 Meeting reports in 16+ languages
Hosting Cloud, with self-hosted and on-premises deployments for regulated industries and US, EU and APAC data residency Cloud, with Windows, macOS, Android and iOS apps and a Chrome extension
Voice cloning Yes, built-in voices can be used or a voice cloned from your own recordings, with a professional clone tier and per-account clone limits No, Read AI transcribes, summarises and measures meetings and does not synthesise or clone voices
Real-time use Yes, inbound and outbound calls at a stated sub-400ms response latency and up to one million concurrent calls, handling interruptions, accents and topic changes Yes, an in-meeting dashboard with live notes, transcription, summaries and meeting metrics as the call runs, on Zoom, Microsoft Teams and Google Meet
Speech-to-speech and dubbing A call runs as spoken conversation on the vendor's own speech-to-text, language model and text-to-speech, with real-time translation between languages during the call; dubbing of existing recordings is not part of the product No dubbing or speech-to-speech translation
Editing and controls Conversational Pathways, a node-based designer for branching calls with state, tool calls, webhooks and variable extraction, plus personas, memory across conversations, automated test scenarios, outcome tagging, custom dialling and enterprise nodes for scheduling and custom JavaScript Meeting reports with summary, topics, action items and key questions, a meeting coach scoring talking speed, filler words, bias and charisma with coaching trends, audio and video playback with highlights from the Enterprise plan, Ask Read search across meetings, email and messages with direct access to Anthropic and OpenAI models, audio and video uploads, and workspace rules controlling which meetings Read joins
Consent and trust SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA, GDPR and PCI DSS v4.0, with FedRAMP 20X Class A available, AES-256 encryption at rest and TLS 1.3 in transit, role-based access control with MFA, a 24/7 incident response team, BAAs for healthcare and DPAs for EU customers. Models run on the vendor's own infrastructure, so call data does not pass through third parties Custom assistant branding, naming on all platforms and a logo on Zoom, plus workspace distribution and sharing rules; Enterprise+ adds SAML SSO, SCIM provisioning, domain capture, a custom data retention policy and HIPAA compliance support
MCP-ready Yes Yes
Deployment more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Not stated Email helpdesk
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base, Personal consulting Documentation and knowledge base, Guided onboarding
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Twilio, Salesforce, HubSpot, Slack, Notion, Zapier, Genesys, Five9, NICE CXone, Talkdesk, Amazon Connect, Calendly, Cal.com Zoom, Microsoft Teams, Google Meet, HubSpot, Salesforce, Jira, Confluence, Notion, Asana, Slack, Zapier, ChatGPT, Claude

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Bland AI From $0.14 / minute of calls Read AI Free plan; Pro $19.75 / user / month
  • Free trial Bland AI Start includes 2 credits and an inbound number, which the vendor values at $15 / month, with no card required Read AI Free plan with 5 meeting transcripts a month
  • Deployment Bland AI Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Read AI Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
  • Company size Bland AI Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Read AI Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • Hosting Bland AI Cloud, with self-hosted and on-premises deployments for regulated industries and US, EU and APAC data residency Read AI Cloud, with Windows, macOS, Android and iOS apps and a Chrome extension

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Bland AI

Strengths

  • One per-minute rate covers the language model, speech-to-text, text-to-speech and telephony, with no token charges or provider pass-throughs
  • Self-hosted and on-premises deployments, plus US, EU and APAC data residency
  • SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA, GDPR and PCI DSS v4.0, with FedRAMP 20X Class A available
  • The same pathways, personas and memory run across voice, SMS, RCS, iMessage and web chat

Limitations

  • Owning the stack means no choice of speech or language model provider
  • The lower $0.12 per minute rate carries a $299 / month platform fee, so it only pays off above a certain volume
  • Transfer time to a human is billed on top of the per-minute rate
  • Positioned around regulated enterprise workloads, which is more platform than a small team needs for a single use case

Read AI

Strengths

  • Live notes and meeting metrics while the call is still running
  • Meeting coach and trend reporting on how meetings themselves are run
  • Search spans meetings, email and messages rather than calls alone
  • MCP server with Claude and ChatGPT connectors

Limitations

  • Free plan is capped at five meeting transcripts a month
  • Audio and video playback only from the Enterprise plan up
  • Meeting length is capped by plan, from one hour on Free to eight on Enterprise+
  • SSO, SCIM, HIPAA support and data retention policies need Enterprise+ and five or more licences

Plans

Pricing

Bland AI

  • Start $0.14 Per minute, with no platform fee. Includes 2 credits and an inbound number, valued by the vendor at $15 / month, and needs no card. Transfer time is $0.05 per minute.
  • Build $0.12 Per minute plus a $299 / month platform fee. Transfer time is $0.04 per minute.
  • Enterprise Not stated Contact sales. Contracted to your volume and includes dedicated infrastructure, version-controlled releases and canary deployments.
Visit site

Read AI

  • Free $0 Five meeting transcripts a month, best-in-class summaries for meetings, email and messaging, personalised meeting coach, basic integrations, topic readouts and one-hour maximum meeting length.
  • Pro $19.75 Per user per month, $15 billed annually. Unlimited meeting transcripts and reports, priority report processing, 100 file upload credits a month and premium integrations including Notion, Salesforce, HubSpot, Jira, Confluence, Zapier and webhooks.
  • Enterprise $29.75 Per user per month, $22.50 billed annually. Adds audio and video playback, video highlights, 200 file upload credits a month and premium support.
  • Enterprise+ $39.75 Per user per month, $29.75 billed annually, five licences or more. Adds HIPAA compliance, SAML and SCIM, domain capture, a custom data retention policy, 300 file upload credits a month and workspace onboarding.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Bland AI

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Read AI

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Bland AI https://www.bland.ai · checked against the official source on 2026-09-13

Read AI https://www.read.ai · checked against the official source on 2026-09-16

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.