Best for
Best for developers building real-time speech-to-text, text-to-speech and voice agents through an API.
- Small and mid-sized
- Enterprise
No tools match
Press / to search, arrow keys to move, Enter to open
AI Voice & Speech Comparison
At a glance
Best for
Best for developers building real-time speech-to-text, text-to-speech and voice agents through an API.
Best for
Best for sales and customer-facing teams who want every call recorded and summarised on a free plan, and the follow-up written back into the CRM once it is worth paying for.
Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.
| Criterion | Deepgram | Fathom |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Usage-based, pay-as-you-go No minimums and no expiry. Speech-to-text from $0.0048 / minute on Nova-3 monolingual streaming, text-to-speech from $0.0150 / 1,000 characters on Aura-1, and the Voice Agent API from $0.056 / minute. | Free plan; Premium $20 / user / month Premium is $16 per user per month billed annually. For teams, Team is $19 per user per month ($15 annually) and Business $34 ($25 annually), both with a two-user minimum. Enterprise is quoted. |
| Free trial | $200 in free credits to start, no credit card required | Free plan with unlimited recordings, transcription and AI summaries |
| Commercial use | Yes, usage-based | Not stated |
| Output | Speech-to-text, text-to-speech and voice agents | Transcripts, AI meeting summaries, action items and follow-up emails |
| API | Yes | Yes, a public REST API with webhooks and SDKs, plus an MCP server |
| Hosting | Cloud, or self-hosted for in-region and in-house data control | Cloud, with a desktop app for bot-free capture |
| Voice cloning | No, the catalogue is fixed: 40+ prebuilt Aura-2 voices across English, Spanish, Dutch, French, German, Italian and Japanese, with no cloning or custom-voice product on the price list | No, Fathom records, transcribes and summarises meetings and does not synthesise or clone voices |
| Real-time use | Yes, real-time streaming speech-to-text and text-to-speech, plus batch processing | Yes in the new experience, which shows a live summary that updates as the meeting runs; in the previous experience summaries and transcripts are generated once the recording has been processed |
| Languages | 45+ languages for speech-to-text, with automatic language detection | Transcripts in 38 languages; summaries are automatically translated when a call is detected in Spanish, Portuguese, German, French, Italian or Dutch, and can be switched between those six from a drop-down |
| Speech-to-speech and dubbing | No dubbing or translation product. Speech-to-speech runs as a pipeline through the Voice Agent API, which handles listening, thinking and speaking with configurable speech-to-text models, LLM providers and voices, plus function calling mid-conversation | No speech-to-speech or dubbing; the translation covers written summaries only |
| Editing and controls | Voice selection, plus encoding, bit rate, container and sample rate on the output, streamed audio and callbacks. Aura-2 is built to read naturally without SSML markup, and speed and style can be changed mid-conversation without restarting the session | Chronological and enhanced summaries, advanced summaries from over fifteen templates including BANT and Sandler, AI action items and follow-up emails, clips and playlists, Ask Fathom chat over a single call or the whole account, keyword and AI search alerts, custom summary templates and a custom bot name |
| Consent and trust | SOC 2 Type 1 and 2, HIPAA, GDPR, CCPA and PCI compliant; self-hosting for in-house data control | A choice of bot or bot-free capture, a custom bot name and the option to disable the in-meeting banner on paid plans; Enterprise adds SSO, Okta SCIM provisioning, organisation-wide security controls, custom data retention policies and a signed HIPAA BAA |
| MCP-ready | Yes | Yes |
| Deployment | more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise | Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based |
| Support | Community forum | Email helpdesk |
| Onboarding | Documentation and knowledge base | more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Guided onboarding |
| Company size | Small and mid-sized, Enterprise | more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise |
| Integrations | Not stated | Zoom, Google Meet, Microsoft Teams, HubSpot, Salesforce, Slack, Asana, Zapier, Make, ChatGPT, Claude |
Adds a column to the table, from the tools in this category.
Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.
The short version
Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.
The trade-offs
Deepgram
Strengths
Limitations
Fathom
Strengths
Limitations
Plans
Deepgram
Fathom
What users say
Deepgram
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.
Fathom
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.
Where this comes from
Deepgram https://deepgram.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-01
Fathom https://fathom.video · checked against the official source on 2026-09-16
This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.