CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Voice & Speech Comparison

Fathom vs. Google Cloud Text-to-Speech

At a glance

At a glance

Fathom

Best for

Best for sales and customer-facing teams who want every call recorded and summarised on a free plan, and the follow-up written back into the CRM once it is worth paying for.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Google Cloud Text-to-Speech

Best for

Best for developers on Google Cloud who need speech synthesis in an application and want to pick their own quality and price point.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Fathom Google Cloud Text-to-Speech
Starting price Free plan; Premium $20 / user / month Premium is $16 per user per month billed annually. For teams, Team is $19 per user per month ($15 annually) and Business $34 ($25 annually), both with a two-user minimum. Enterprise is quoted. lower value Free tier, then from $4 per 1 million characters Pay-as-you-go by characters sent for synthesis, counting spaces, newlines and most SSML tags, with a free monthly allowance per voice type. Standard and WaveNet $4 per 1 million characters, free to 4 million a month. Neural2 and Polyglot $16, Chirp 3 HD $30 and Studio $160, each free to 1 million a month. Instant Custom Voice $60 with no free allowance. Gemini-TTS is billed per token instead, from $0.50 per 1 million input text tokens and $10 per 1 million output audio tokens, also with no free allowance.
Free trial Free plan with unlimited recordings, transcription and AI summaries Free monthly allowance: 4 million characters on Standard and WaveNet voices, 1 million on Chirp 3 HD, Neural2, Polyglot and Studio voices
Output Transcripts, AI meeting summaries, action items and follow-up emails Synthesised speech, single request, streaming or long-form, as LINEAR16, MP3, OGG_OPUS, ALAW, MULAW, PCM or M4A
API Yes, a public REST API with webhooks and SDKs, plus an MCP server Yes, the Cloud Text-to-Speech API with client libraries and a command-line path
Languages Transcripts in 38 languages; summaries auto-translated into six Google's own figure is 220+ voices across 40+ languages
Hosting Cloud, with a desktop app for bot-free capture Cloud (Google Cloud), with a global endpoint and regional endpoints
Voice cloning No, Fathom records, transcribes and summarises meetings and does not synthesise or clone voices Yes, Chirp 3 Instant Custom Voice builds a personal voice model from a short high-quality recording, usable afterwards for streaming and long-form synthesis. Access is restricted to allow-listed customers and is arranged through the sales team rather than self-service. A cloning key created for en-US can also speak German, US and European Spanish, Canadian and European French and Brazilian Portuguese
Real-time use Yes in the new experience, which shows a live summary that updates as the meeting runs; in the previous experience summaries and transcripts are generated once the recording has been processed Yes, bidirectional streaming synthesis for live use, alongside ordinary single requests and a separate long-form path for large documents
Speech-to-speech and dubbing No speech-to-speech or dubbing; the translation covers written summaries only No. This service synthesises speech from text only. Recognition is the separate Speech-to-Text service and translation the separate Translation AI service
Editing and controls Chronological and enhanced summaries, advanced summaries from over fifteen templates including BANT and Sandler, AI action items and follow-up emails, clips and playlists, Ask Fathom chat over a single call or the whole account, keyword and AI search alerts, custom summary templates and a custom bot name SSML, pace control from 0.25x to 2x, experimental pause tags and custom pronunciation in IPA or X-SAMPA phonetic encoding, device profiles that tune output for the playback hardware, and text-based prompting on the Gemini-TTS models, which take a written description of the delivery rather than markup
Consent and trust A choice of bot or bot-free capture, a custom bot name and the option to disable the in-meeting banner on paid plans; Enterprise adds SSO, Okta SCIM provisioning, organisation-wide security controls, custom data retention policies and a signed HIPAA BAA Instant Custom Voice sits behind an allow list that is granted by the sales team, and enrolment requires the speaker to record a consent statement that Google supplies in the language being cloned, in English: "I am the owner of this voice and I consent to Google using this voice to create a synthetic voice model." The recording is part of the enrolment, so a voice cannot be cloned from found audio
MCP-ready stated Yes No
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk Not stated
Onboarding more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Guided onboarding Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Zoom, Google Meet, Microsoft Teams, HubSpot, Salesforce, Slack, Asana, Zapier, Make, ChatGPT, Claude Not stated

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Fathom Free plan; Premium $20 / user / month Google Cloud Text-to-Speech Free tier, then from $4 per 1 million characters
  • Free trial Fathom Free plan with unlimited recordings, transcription and AI summaries Google Cloud Text-to-Speech Free monthly allowance: 4 million characters on Standard and WaveNet voices, 1 million on Chirp 3 HD, Neural2, Polyglot and Studio voices
  • Hosting Fathom Cloud, with a desktop app for bot-free capture Google Cloud Text-to-Speech Cloud (Google Cloud), with a global endpoint and regional endpoints
  • Languages Fathom Transcripts in 38 languages; summaries auto-translated into six Google Cloud Text-to-Speech Google's own figure is 220+ voices across 40+ languages
  • MCP-ready Fathom Yes Google Cloud Text-to-Speech No

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Fathom

Strengths

  • Free plan carries unlimited recordings, transcription and AI summaries
  • Records without a bot in the call from the desktop app, or with one
  • Transcripts in 38 languages
  • Documented REST API with webhooks, SDKs and an MCP server

Limitations

  • Transcription and summarisation only, with no voice synthesis, cloning or dubbing
  • Summary translation covers six languages against the 38 it transcribes
  • Team and Business plans carry a two-user minimum
  • CRM field sync, coaching metrics and custom summaries start on the Business plan

Google Cloud Text-to-Speech

Strengths

  • One API spans cheap legacy voices at $4 per million characters and current HD voices at $30
  • Gemini-TTS takes a written prompt for the delivery instead of hand-written SSML markup
  • Free monthly character allowance on every voice type except Gemini-TTS and custom voices
  • Bidirectional streaming, single request and long-form synthesis from the same service
  • Voice cloning requires a recorded consent statement from the speaker, in their own language

Limitations

  • Text to speech only: recognition and translation are separate Google Cloud services
  • Instant Custom Voice is restricted to allow-listed customers and goes through sales
  • Studio voices cost $160 per million characters, forty times the Standard rate
  • Gemini-TTS is billed per token rather than per character, so the two price models do not compare directly
  • The overlapping generations of voice model take some reading before the right one is obvious

Plans

Pricing

Fathom

  • Free $0 Unlimited recordings and transcriptions, bot-free or bot capture, instant AI summaries, clips, playlists and search across calls.
  • Premium $20 Per user per month, $16 billed annually. Adds advanced call summaries, AI action items, the conversational meeting assistant and a custom meeting bot.
  • Team $19 Per user per month, $15 billed annually, two-user minimum. Adds global search across calls, team playlists and collaboration with comments, folders and keyword alerts.
  • Business $34 Per user per month, $25 billed annually, two-user minimum. Adds CRM field sync, deal view, coaching metrics and AI scorecards and custom summaries.
  • Enterprise Not stated Quoted. Adds the Launch Assist onboarding programme, organisation-wide security controls, SSO and SCIM provisioning, custom data retention and a dedicated success manager.
Visit site

Google Cloud Text-to-Speech

  • Standard and WaveNet voices $4 Per 1 million characters. Free for the first 4 million characters a month.
  • Neural2 and Polyglot voices $16 Per 1 million characters. Free for the first 1 million characters a month. Polyglot is in preview.
  • Chirp 3: HD voices $30 Per 1 million characters. Free for the first 1 million characters a month.
  • Chirp 3: Instant Custom Voice $60 Per 1 million characters. No free allowance, and access is restricted to allow-listed customers.
  • Studio voices $160 Per 1 million characters. Free for the first 1 million characters a month. A legacy model.
  • Gemini-TTS Not stated Billed per token with no free allowance. Gemini 2.5 Flash TTS costs $0.50 per 1 million input text tokens and $10 per 1 million output audio tokens; Gemini 2.5 Pro TTS and Gemini 3.1 Flash TTS (preview) cost $1.00 and $20.00 respectively. Audio tokens correspond to 25 tokens per second of audio.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Fathom

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Google Cloud Text-to-Speech

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Fathom https://fathom.video · checked against the official source on 2026-09-16

Google Cloud Text-to-Speech https://cloud.google.com/text-to-speech · checked against the official source on 2026-09-13

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.