CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Voice & Speech Comparison

Fathom vs. Murf AI

At a glance

At a glance

Fathom

Best for

Best for sales and customer-facing teams who want every call recorded and summarised on a free plan, and the follow-up written back into the CRM once it is worth paying for.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Murf AI

Best for

Best for business presentations, training and e-learning voiceovers.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Fathom Murf AI
Starting price Free plan; Premium $20 / user / month Premium is $16 per user per month billed annually. For teams, Team is $19 per user per month ($15 annually) and Business $34 ($25 annually), both with a two-user minimum. Enterprise is quoted. Free tier; paid tiers above The free tier has no downloads and no commercial rights.
Free trial Free plan with unlimited recordings, transcription and AI summaries Free tier, without downloads or commercial rights
Commercial use Not stated Paid tiers only
Output Transcripts, AI meeting summaries, action items and follow-up emails Studio-quality voiceover, plus real-time voices (Falcon)
API Yes, a public REST API with webhooks and SDKs, plus an MCP server Yes
Hosting Cloud, with a desktop app for bot-free capture Not stated
Voice cloning No, Fathom records, transcribes and summarises meetings and does not synthesise or clone voices Yes, voice cloning to replicate a speaker
Real-time use Yes in the new experience, which shows a live summary that updates as the meeting runs; in the previous experience summaries and transcripts are generated once the recording has been processed Yes, real-time voice agents (Falcon)
Languages Transcripts in 38 languages; summaries are automatically translated when a call is detected in Spanish, Portuguese, German, French, Italian or Dutch, and can be switched between those six from a drop-down 200+ voices across 35+ languages
Speech-to-speech and dubbing No speech-to-speech or dubbing; the translation covers written summaries only Yes, Murf Dubbing localizes video into 40+ languages, keeping the original tone
Editing and controls Chronological and enhanced summaries, advanced summaries from over fifteen templates including BANT and Sandler, AI action items and follow-up emails, clips and playlists, Ask Fathom chat over a single call or the whole account, keyword and AI search alerts, custom summary templates and a custom bot name Pitch, speed and intonation controls, plus a custom pronunciation library
Consent and trust A choice of bot or bot-free capture, a custom bot name and the option to disable the in-meeting banner on paid plans; Enterprise adds SSO, Okta SCIM provisioning, organisation-wide security controls, custom data retention policies and a signed HIPAA BAA Voices sourced through voice-actor partnerships; SOC 2, ISO 27001, GDPR and HIPAA compliant
MCP-ready stated Yes No
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk Not stated
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base, Guided onboarding Not stated
Company size more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations more entries Zoom, Google Meet, Microsoft Teams, HubSpot, Salesforce, Slack, Asana, Zapier, Make, ChatGPT, Claude Canva, Microsoft PowerPoint, Adobe Captivate

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Fathom Free plan; Premium $20 / user / month Murf AI Free tier; paid tiers above
  • Free trial Fathom Free plan with unlimited recordings, transcription and AI summaries Murf AI Free tier, without downloads or commercial rights
  • Company size Fathom Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Murf AI Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • MCP-ready Fathom Yes Murf AI No
  • Output Fathom Transcripts, AI meeting summaries, action items and follow-up emails Murf AI Studio-quality voiceover, plus real-time voices (Falcon)

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Fathom

Strengths

  • Free plan carries unlimited recordings, transcription and AI summaries
  • Records without a bot in the call from the desktop app, or with one
  • Transcripts in 38 languages
  • Documented REST API with webhooks, SDKs and an MCP server

Limitations

  • Transcription and summarisation only, with no voice synthesis, cloning or dubbing
  • Summary translation covers six languages against the 38 it transcribes
  • Team and Business plans carry a two-user minimum
  • CRM field sync, coaching metrics and custom summaries start on the Business plan

Murf AI

Strengths

  • Polished business voiceover
  • Flexible for training and e-learning
  • Also does real-time agent voices

Limitations

  • Free tier has no downloads or commercial rights
  • Less storytelling realism than ElevenLabs

Plans

Pricing

Fathom

  • Free $0 Unlimited recordings and transcriptions, bot-free or bot capture, instant AI summaries, clips, playlists and search across calls.
  • Premium $20 Per user per month, $16 billed annually. Adds advanced call summaries, AI action items, the conversational meeting assistant and a custom meeting bot.
  • Team $19 Per user per month, $15 billed annually, two-user minimum. Adds global search across calls, team playlists and collaboration with comments, folders and keyword alerts.
  • Business $34 Per user per month, $25 billed annually, two-user minimum. Adds CRM field sync, deal view, coaching metrics and AI scorecards and custom summaries.
  • Enterprise Not stated Quoted. Adds the Launch Assist onboarding programme, organisation-wide security controls, SSO and SCIM provisioning, custom data retention and a dedicated success manager.
Visit site

Murf AI

  • Free $0 No downloads, no commercial rights.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Fathom

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Murf AI

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Fathom https://fathom.video · checked against the official source on 2026-09-16

Murf AI https://murf.ai · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.