CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Voice & Speech Comparison

Fathom vs. Speechify

At a glance

At a glance

Fathom

Best for

Best for sales and customer-facing teams who want every call recorded and summarised on a free plan, and the follow-up written back into the CRM once it is worth paying for.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Speechify

Best for

Best for turning documents, articles and audiobooks into natural-sounding audio.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Fathom Speechify
Starting price Free plan; Premium $20 / user / month Premium is $16 per user per month billed annually. For teams, Team is $19 per user per month ($15 annually) and Business $34 ($25 annually), both with a two-user minimum. Enterprise is quoted. Free; paid tiers above The free tier has no commercial rights.
Free trial Free plan with unlimited recordings, transcription and AI summaries Free tier, without commercial rights
Commercial use Not stated Paid tiers
Output Transcripts, AI meeting summaries, action items and follow-up emails Natural text-to-speech for reading and listening, plus Speechify Studio for content
API Yes, a public REST API with webhooks and SDKs, plus an MCP server Yes, a text-to-speech API and a voice agents API on the developer platform
Hosting Cloud, with a desktop app for bot-free capture Not stated
Voice cloning No, Fathom records, transcribes and summarises meetings and does not synthesise or clone voices Yes, voice cloning in Speechify Studio, and zero-shot cloning on the developer platform that turns a short reference clip into a reusable voice ID
Real-time use Yes in the new experience, which shows a live summary that updates as the meeting runs; in the previous experience summaries and transcripts are generated once the recording has been processed Yes, the developer models are streaming-native with a claimed time to first byte under 300ms, and a separate voice agents API adds tools, memory and telephony
Languages Transcripts in 38 languages; summaries are automatically translated when a call is detected in Spanish, Portuguese, German, French, Italian or Dutch, and can be switched between those six from a drop-down 1,000+ voices in 60+ languages in the reader; the developer models cover six validated locales, namely US English, German, Mexican Spanish, French, Italian and Brazilian Portuguese
Speech-to-speech and dubbing No speech-to-speech or dubbing; the translation covers written summaries only Yes, dubbing in Speechify Studio
Editing and controls Chronological and enhanced summaries, advanced summaries from over fifteen templates including BANT and Sandler, AI action items and follow-up emails, clips and playlists, Ask Fathom chat over a single call or the whole account, keyword and AI search alerts, custom summary templates and a custom bot name Playback up to 4.5x with synchronized highlighting, plus captions in Studio and SSML emotion control on the developer models across neutral, calm, cheerful, energetic and sad
Consent and trust A choice of bot or bot-free capture, a custom bot name and the option to disable the in-meeting banner on paid plans; Enterprise adds SSO, Okta SCIM provisioning, organisation-wide security controls, custom data retention policies and a signed HIPAA BAA Cloning is consent-first: a voice is built from a consented reference clip, and the company publishes its policy on keeping cloned voices out of election misinformation
MCP-ready stated Yes No
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk Email helpdesk
Onboarding more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Guided onboarding Documentation and knowledge base
Company size more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations more entries Zoom, Google Meet, Microsoft Teams, HubSpot, Salesforce, Slack, Asana, Zapier, Make, ChatGPT, Claude Google Docs, Gmail, Outlook, Slack

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Fathom Free plan; Premium $20 / user / month Speechify Free; paid tiers above
  • Free trial Fathom Free plan with unlimited recordings, transcription and AI summaries Speechify Free tier, without commercial rights
  • Company size Fathom Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Speechify Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
  • MCP-ready Fathom Yes Speechify No
  • Output Fathom Transcripts, AI meeting summaries, action items and follow-up emails Speechify Natural text-to-speech for reading and listening, plus Speechify Studio for content

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Fathom

Strengths

  • Free plan carries unlimited recordings, transcription and AI summaries
  • Records without a bot in the call from the desktop app, or with one
  • Transcripts in 38 languages
  • Documented REST API with webhooks, SDKs and an MCP server

Limitations

  • Transcription and summarisation only, with no voice synthesis, cloning or dubbing
  • Summary translation covers six languages against the 38 it transcribes
  • Team and Business plans carry a two-user minimum
  • CRM field sync, coaching metrics and custom summaries start on the Business plan

Speechify

Strengths

  • Best for turning reading material into audio
  • Accessibility focus
  • Popular with creators

Limitations

  • Free tiers lack commercial rights
  • More consumer reader than production studio

Plans

Pricing

Fathom

  • Free $0 Unlimited recordings and transcriptions, bot-free or bot capture, instant AI summaries, clips, playlists and search across calls.
  • Premium $20 Per user per month, $16 billed annually. Adds advanced call summaries, AI action items, the conversational meeting assistant and a custom meeting bot.
  • Team $19 Per user per month, $15 billed annually, two-user minimum. Adds global search across calls, team playlists and collaboration with comments, folders and keyword alerts.
  • Business $34 Per user per month, $25 billed annually, two-user minimum. Adds CRM field sync, deal view, coaching metrics and AI scorecards and custom summaries.
  • Enterprise Not stated Quoted. Adds the Launch Assist onboarding programme, organisation-wide security controls, SSO and SCIM provisioning, custom data retention and a dedicated success manager.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Fathom

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Speechify

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Fathom https://fathom.video · checked against the official source on 2026-09-16

Speechify https://speechify.com · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.