CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Voice & Speech Comparison

Fathom vs. Speechmatics

At a glance

At a glance

Fathom

Best for

Best for sales and customer-facing teams who want every call recorded and summarised on a free plan, and the follow-up written back into the CRM once it is worth paying for.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Speechmatics

Best for

Best for teams transcribing real conversations across accents and languages, including where the audio may not leave their own infrastructure.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Fathom Speechmatics
Starting price Free plan; Premium $20 / user / month Premium is $16 per user per month billed annually. For teams, Team is $19 per user per month ($15 annually) and Business $34 ($25 annually), both with a two-user minimum. Enterprise is quoted. lower value From $0.129 / hour of audio Pro tier rate, billed to the second with no commitment. Volume discounts of 20% apply automatically above 500 hours per month for each speech-to-text type, with further discounts above 24,000 hours a year. One credit equals one dollar.
Free trial Free plan with unlimited recordings, transcription and AI summaries Free tier with $100 in credit, no card required
Commercial use Not stated Yes, usage-based
Output Transcripts, AI meeting summaries, action items and follow-up emails Transcripts, translations and synthesised speech
API Yes, a public REST API with webhooks and SDKs, plus an MCP server Yes, batch and real-time speech-to-text, text-to-speech, translation and a management API
Languages Transcripts in 38 languages; summaries auto-translated into six 55+ languages and dialects for speech-to-text; translation across 69 language pairs
Hosting Cloud, with a desktop app for bot-free capture Cloud, CPU or GPU containers, Kubernetes, on-premises virtual appliance, or on-device
Made in Not stated United Kingdom
Voice cloning No, Fathom records, transcribes and summarises meetings and does not synthesise or clone voices No, the text-to-speech API ships four fixed voices, sarah and theo in British English and megan and jack in American English, and the documentation describes no custom or cloned voice; speed, pitch and emphasis are not adjustable either
Real-time use Yes in the new experience, which shows a live summary that updates as the meeting runs; in the previous experience summaries and transcripts are generated once the recording has been processed Yes, streaming transcription returned in under a second, alongside batch transcription of recorded files
Speech-to-speech and dubbing No speech-to-speech or dubbing; the translation covers written summaries only Audio translation across 69 language pairs, returned as translated transcript rather than dubbed audio; a Voice Agent API is in early access
Editing and controls Chronological and enhanced summaries, advanced summaries from over fifteen templates including BANT and Sandler, AI action items and follow-up emails, clips and playlists, Ask Fathom chat over a single call or the whole account, keyword and AI search alerts, custom summary templates and a custom bot name Speaker diarization and identification, custom dictionary, language identification, background speech filtering, and speech intelligence for summaries, sentiment, topics and auto-chapters
Consent and trust A choice of bot or bot-free capture, a custom bot name and the option to disable the in-meeting banner on paid plans; Enterprise adds SSO, Okta SCIM provisioning, organisation-wide security controls, custom data retention policies and a signed HIPAA BAA Data is not logged as standard; container, Kubernetes, virtual appliance and on-device deployment keep audio inside your own infrastructure
MCP-ready stated Yes No
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
Support Email helpdesk Email helpdesk
Onboarding more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Guided onboarding Documentation and knowledge base
Company size more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations more entries Zoom, Google Meet, Microsoft Teams, HubSpot, Salesforce, Slack, Asana, Zapier, Make, ChatGPT, Claude LiveKit, Pipecat, Vapi, Zapier

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Fathom Free plan; Premium $20 / user / month Speechmatics From $0.129 / hour of audio
  • Free trial Fathom Free plan with unlimited recordings, transcription and AI summaries Speechmatics Free tier with $100 in credit, no card required
  • Deployment Fathom Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Speechmatics Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
  • Company size Fathom Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Speechmatics Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • Hosting Fathom Cloud, with a desktop app for bot-free capture Speechmatics Cloud, CPU or GPU containers, Kubernetes, on-premises virtual appliance, or on-device

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Fathom

Strengths

  • Free plan carries unlimited recordings, transcription and AI summaries
  • Records without a bot in the call from the desktop app, or with one
  • Transcripts in 38 languages
  • Documented REST API with webhooks, SDKs and an MCP server

Limitations

  • Transcription and summarisation only, with no voice synthesis, cloning or dubbing
  • Summary translation covers six languages against the 38 it transcribes
  • Team and Business plans carry a two-user minimum
  • CRM field sync, coaching metrics and custom summaries start on the Business plan

Speechmatics

Strengths

  • 55+ languages with explicit accent, dialect and code-switching coverage
  • Runs in the cloud, in containers, on-premises or on-device
  • $100 in credit to start, with no card required
  • Data is not logged as standard

Limitations

  • A developer API rather than a ready-made voice studio
  • Text-to-speech on the free tier covers English only
  • The Voice Agent API is still in early access
  • Volume discounts start at 500 hours a month, so small workloads pay the full rate

Plans

Pricing

Fathom

  • Free $0 Unlimited recordings and transcriptions, bot-free or bot capture, instant AI summaries, clips, playlists and search across calls.
  • Premium $20 Per user per month, $16 billed annually. Adds advanced call summaries, AI action items, the conversational meeting assistant and a custom meeting bot.
  • Team $19 Per user per month, $15 billed annually, two-user minimum. Adds global search across calls, team playlists and collaboration with comments, folders and keyword alerts.
  • Business $34 Per user per month, $25 billed annually, two-user minimum. Adds CRM field sync, deal view, coaching metrics and AI scorecards and custom summaries.
  • Enterprise Not stated Quoted. Adds the Launch Assist onboarding programme, organisation-wide security controls, SSO and SCIM provisioning, custom data retention and a dedicated success manager.
Visit site

Speechmatics

  • Free $0 $100 in credit, no card required. 55+ languages for speech-to-text, 2 concurrent real-time sessions and low-latency English text-to-speech.
  • Pro $0.129 Per hour of audio, billed to the second with no commitment. 50 concurrent real-time sessions, 10 file jobs per second and email support.
  • Enterprise Not stated Volume-based pricing that scales with usage, unlimited concurrency and no rate limits, custom models, custom vocabularies and formatting rules, and SaaS or on-premises deployment.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Fathom

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Speechmatics

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Fathom https://fathom.video · checked against the official source on 2026-09-16

Speechmatics https://www.speechmatics.com · checked against the official source on 2026-08-30

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.