CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Voice & Speech Comparison

Fathom vs. Typecast

At a glance

At a glance

Fathom

Best for

Best for sales and customer-facing teams who want every call recorded and summarised on a free plan, and the follow-up written back into the CRM once it is worth paying for.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Typecast

Best for

Best for creators who want expressive, emotion-controlled voiceover for video, audiobooks and podcasts.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Fathom Typecast
Starting price Free plan; Premium $20 / user / month Premium is $16 per user per month billed annually. For teams, Team is $19 per user per month ($15 annually) and Business $34 ($25 annually), both with a two-user minimum. Enterprise is quoted. lower value Free tier; Basic from $5 / month Credit-based. The free tier offers trial voices only and requires attribution; commercial use starts on Basic.
Free trial Free plan with unlimited recordings, transcription and AI summaries Free tier with 3,000 lifetime credits (around 5 minutes), trial voices only
Commercial use Not stated Paid (Basic and above)
Output Transcripts, AI meeting summaries, action items and follow-up emails Expressive AI speech with emotion and dynamics control; video export on paid tiers
API Yes, a public REST API with webhooks and SDKs, plus an MCP server Yes
Hosting Cloud, with a desktop app for bot-free capture Not stated
Voice cloning No, Fathom records, transcribes and summarises meetings and does not synthesise or clone voices Yes, instant and professional cloning; slots scale from one to ten by plan
Real-time use Yes in the new experience, which shows a live summary that updates as the meeting runs; in the previous experience summaries and transcripts are generated once the recording has been processed Yes, real-time generation via the API
Languages Transcripts in 38 languages; summaries are automatically translated when a call is detected in Spanish, Portuguese, German, French, Italian or Dutch, and can be switched between those six from a drop-down 35+ languages
Speech-to-speech and dubbing No speech-to-speech or dubbing; the translation covers written summaries only Not documented: the API covers text-to-speech, streaming playback, word- and character-level timestamps and voice cloning from a sample, with no voice-conversion or dubbing endpoint
Editing and controls Chronological and enhanced summaries, advanced summaries from over fifteen templates including BANT and Sandler, AI action items and follow-up emails, clips and playlists, Ask Fathom chat over a single call or the whole account, keyword and AI search alerts, custom summary templates and a custom bot name Emotion, pitch, intensity, speed and dynamics
Consent and trust A choice of bot or bot-free capture, a custom bot name and the option to disable the in-meeting banner on paid plans; Enterprise adds SSO, Okta SCIM provisioning, organisation-wide security controls, custom data retention policies and a signed HIPAA BAA Every voice actor on the platform has agreed to the use cases for their voice and keeps ownership of the model. Uploading a sample requires confirming permission for any third-party voice in it, and cloned voices stay private
MCP-ready stated Yes No
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk Email helpdesk
Onboarding more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Guided onboarding Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Zoom, Google Meet, Microsoft Teams, HubSpot, Salesforce, Slack, Asana, Zapier, Make, ChatGPT, Claude Not stated

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Fathom Free plan; Premium $20 / user / month Typecast Free tier; Basic from $5 / month
  • Free trial Fathom Free plan with unlimited recordings, transcription and AI summaries Typecast Free tier with 3,000 lifetime credits (around 5 minutes), trial voices only
  • MCP-ready Fathom Yes Typecast No
  • Output Fathom Transcripts, AI meeting summaries, action items and follow-up emails Typecast Expressive AI speech with emotion and dynamics control; video export on paid tiers
  • API Fathom Yes, a public REST API with webhooks and SDKs, plus an MCP server Typecast Yes

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Fathom

Strengths

  • Free plan carries unlimited recordings, transcription and AI summaries
  • Records without a bot in the call from the desktop app, or with one
  • Transcripts in 38 languages
  • Documented REST API with webhooks, SDKs and an MCP server

Limitations

  • Transcription and summarisation only, with no voice synthesis, cloning or dubbing
  • Summary translation covers six languages against the 38 it transcribes
  • Team and Business plans carry a two-user minimum
  • CRM field sync, coaching metrics and custom summaries start on the Business plan

Typecast

Strengths

  • 700+ voices with fine emotion and delivery control
  • Context-aware emotion model adapts tone to the script
  • Affordable entry with a commercial license from $5 per month

Limitations

  • Free tier is limited to trial voices and requires attribution
  • Credit allowances are modest on the lower tiers

Plans

Pricing

Fathom

  • Free $0 Unlimited recordings and transcriptions, bot-free or bot capture, instant AI summaries, clips, playlists and search across calls.
  • Premium $20 Per user per month, $16 billed annually. Adds advanced call summaries, AI action items, the conversational meeting assistant and a custom meeting bot.
  • Team $19 Per user per month, $15 billed annually, two-user minimum. Adds global search across calls, team playlists and collaboration with comments, folders and keyword alerts.
  • Business $34 Per user per month, $25 billed annually, two-user minimum. Adds CRM field sync, deal view, coaching metrics and AI scorecards and custom summaries.
  • Enterprise Not stated Quoted. Adds the Launch Assist onboarding programme, organisation-wide security controls, SSO and SCIM provisioning, custom data retention and a dedicated success manager.
Visit site

Typecast

  • Free $0 3,000 lifetime credits (around 5 minutes), trial voices only, attribution required.
  • Basic $5 / month $54 / year. 30,000 credits per month (around 35 minutes), all AI voices, commercial license, 1 instant cloning slot.
  • Plus $19 / month $204 / year. 40,000 credits per month, speed control, 1 professional cloning slot.
  • Pro $29 / month $312 / year. 75,000 credits per month, emotion and intonation controls, 2 cloning slots.
  • Business $69 / month $744 / year. 200,000 credits per month, 10 cloning slots, additional credit purchases.
  • Enterprise Not stated Custom pricing.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Fathom

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Typecast

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Fathom https://fathom.video · checked against the official source on 2026-09-16

Typecast https://typecast.ai · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.