CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Voice & Speech Comparison

Read AI vs. Rev

At a glance

At a glance

Read AI

Best for

Best for organisations that want meetings, email and messages searchable in one place, and metrics on how the meetings themselves are being run.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Rev

Best for

Best for teams who need a transcript accurate enough to be relied on in court or in the record, with a human pass available on top of the machine one.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Read AI Rev
Starting price lower value Free plan; Pro $19.75 / user / month Pro is $15 per user per month billed annually. Enterprise is $29.75 monthly or $22.50 annually, Enterprise+ $39.75 monthly or $29.75 annually and requires five or more licences. Every plan is measured on 30 meetings a month. Free tier, then from $25.49 / seat / month The $25.49 Essentials rate is billed annually at $305.90 a year; paid monthly it is $29.99. Pro is $47.99 billed annually or $59.99 monthly. Human services are bought separately by the minute or page and are pooled across seats at account level. The Rev AI developer platform is billed per hour of audio instead, from $0.10 an hour on Reverb Turbo.
Free trial Free plan with 5 meeting transcripts a month Free plan with 45 AI transcription and caption minutes a month, plus free Rev AI credits worth 5 hours of Reverb transcription
Output Meeting reports with summary, topics, action items, key questions and a speaker-separated transcript Transcripts, captions, subtitles and case documents
API Yes, plus an MCP server and Claude and ChatGPT connectors Yes, Rev AI for asynchronous and streaming speech-to-text, plus a human transcription API
Languages Meeting reports in 16+ languages 57+ languages for the Rev AI speech-to-text API; 37+ on the Pro subscription; human captions in English and Spanish and subtitles in 17 languages
Hosting Cloud, with Windows, macOS, Android and iOS apps and a Chrome extension Cloud or on-premises for the Rev AI platform
Voice cloning No, Read AI transcribes, summarises and measures meetings and does not synthesise or clone voices No, Rev works only on incoming speech and does not synthesise or clone voices
Real-time use Yes, an in-meeting dashboard with live notes, transcription, summaries and meeting metrics as the call runs, on Zoom, Microsoft Teams and Google Meet Yes, a streaming speech-to-text API for live audio alongside asynchronous transcription of recorded files; human services are turnaround-based rather than real-time
Speech-to-speech and dubbing No dubbing or speech-to-speech translation No dubbing or synthesised speech. Translation is text-only, at $0.002 to $0.025 per minute through the API depending on standard or premium, plus human subtitles at $6.49 to $15.99 a minute
Editing and controls Meeting reports with summary, topics, action items and key questions, a meeting coach scoring talking speed, filler words, bias and charisma with coaching trends, audio and video playback with highlights from the Enterprise plan, Ask Read search across meetings, email and messages with direct access to Anthropic and OpenAI models, audio and video uploads, and workspace rules controlling which meetings Read joins Transcript editor with clipping, multi-file evidence analysis with citations, image analysis, a document editor exporting to Word and PDF, AI templates for chronologies and affidavits, and API-side custom vocabulary, forced alignment with word-level timestamps, topic extraction and sentiment analysis
Consent and trust Custom assistant branding, naming on all platforms and a logo on Zoom, plus workspace distribution and sharing rules; Enterprise+ adds SAML SSO, SCIM provisioning, domain capture, a custom data retention policy and HIPAA compliance support SOC 2, HIPAA, GDPR and PCI compliant with data encrypted at rest and in transit, a stated 99.99% uptime, and on-premises deployment for the API; the Unlimited subscription adds HIPAA and CJIS compliance, SSO and a dedicated specialist
MCP-ready stated Yes No
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
Support Email helpdesk Not stated
Onboarding more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Guided onboarding Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations more entries Zoom, Microsoft Teams, Google Meet, HubSpot, Salesforce, Jira, Confluence, Notion, Asana, Slack, Zapier, ChatGPT, Claude Clio

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Read AI Free plan; Pro $19.75 / user / month Rev Free tier, then from $25.49 / seat / month
  • Free trial Read AI Free plan with 5 meeting transcripts a month Rev Free plan with 45 AI transcription and caption minutes a month, plus free Rev AI credits worth 5 hours of Reverb transcription
  • Deployment Read AI Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Rev Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
  • Hosting Read AI Cloud, with Windows, macOS, Android and iOS apps and a Chrome extension Rev Cloud or on-premises for the Rev AI platform
  • Languages Read AI Meeting reports in 16+ languages Rev 57+ languages for the Rev AI speech-to-text API; 37+ on the Pro subscription; human captions in English and Spanish and subtitles in 17 languages

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Read AI

Strengths

  • Live notes and meeting metrics while the call is still running
  • Meeting coach and trend reporting on how meetings themselves are run
  • Search spans meetings, email and messages rather than calls alone
  • MCP server with Claude and ChatGPT connectors

Limitations

  • Free plan is capped at five meeting transcripts a month
  • Audio and video playback only from the Enterprise plan up
  • Meeting length is capped by plan, from one hour on Free to eight on Enterprise+
  • SSO, SCIM, HIPAA support and data retention policies need Enterprise+ and five or more licences

Rev

Strengths

  • Human transcription at a stated 99%+ accuracy alongside the machine tier
  • Developer API priced per hour of audio, from $0.10 on Reverb Turbo
  • Runs on-premises as well as in the cloud on the API side
  • Free credits worth 5 hours of transcription, with no card required

Limitations

  • Speech-to-text only, no text-to-speech, dubbing or voice cloning
  • The subscription is built around legal and investigative work, which is dead weight for other uses
  • The free plan covers 45 minutes a month and English only
  • Human services are charged on top of the subscription rather than included

Plans

Pricing

Read AI

  • Free $0 Five meeting transcripts a month, best-in-class summaries for meetings, email and messaging, personalised meeting coach, basic integrations, topic readouts and one-hour maximum meeting length.
  • Pro $19.75 Per user per month, $15 billed annually. Unlimited meeting transcripts and reports, priority report processing, 100 file upload credits a month and premium integrations including Notion, Salesforce, HubSpot, Jira, Confluence, Zapier and webhooks.
  • Enterprise $29.75 Per user per month, $22.50 billed annually. Adds audio and video playback, video highlights, 200 file upload credits a month and premium support.
  • Enterprise+ $39.75 Per user per month, $29.75 billed annually, five licences or more. Adds HIPAA compliance, SAML and SCIM, domain capture, a custom data retention policy, 300 file upload credits a month and workspace onboarding.
Visit site

Rev

  • Free $0 45 AI transcription and caption minutes a month, English only, up to 5 files analysed at once, document editor and mobile app.
  • Essentials $25.49 Per seat per month billed annually at $305.90, or $29.99 billed monthly. Up to 3 seats, 5,000 AI minutes per seat per month in English and Spanish, up to 10 files analysed and 10% off human services.
  • Pro $47.99 Per seat per month billed annually at $575.88, or $59.99 billed monthly. Up to 5 seats, 10,000 AI minutes per seat per month across 37+ languages, up to 50 files analysed, image analysis, Clio integration and 15% off human services.
  • Unlimited Not stated Custom pricing. Unlimited seats and AI minutes, up to 500 files analysed, HIPAA and CJIS compliance, SSO and a dedicated specialist.
  • Rev AI pay-as-you-go $0.10 Per hour of audio on Reverb Turbo; Reverb is $0.20 an hour and foreign-language transcription $0.30 an hour across 56+ languages. Whisper Fusion and Large are $0.005 a minute. Human transcription through the API is $1.99 a minute. Insights are priced separately: language identification and forced alignment $0.003 a minute, topic extraction and sentiment analysis $0.0008 per 10 words, translation $0.002 to $0.025 a minute. Free credits equivalent to 5 hours of Reverb transcription to start.
  • Human services From $1.99 Per minute for human transcription and for human captions, with up to 15% off on a subscription. Legal rough drafts are $2.25 a page and legal premium transcripts $2.50 a page. Global subtitles run $6.49 to $15.99 a minute depending on the language, across 17 languages.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Read AI

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Rev

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Read AI https://www.read.ai · checked against the official source on 2026-09-16

Rev https://www.rev.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-04

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.