CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Voice & Speech Comparison

Read AI vs. Typecast

At a glance

At a glance

Read AI

Best for

Best for organisations that want meetings, email and messages searchable in one place, and metrics on how the meetings themselves are being run.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Typecast

Best for

Best for creators who want expressive, emotion-controlled voiceover for video, audiobooks and podcasts.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Read AI Typecast
Starting price Free plan; Pro $19.75 / user / month Pro is $15 per user per month billed annually. Enterprise is $29.75 monthly or $22.50 annually, Enterprise+ $39.75 monthly or $29.75 annually and requires five or more licences. Every plan is measured on 30 meetings a month. lower value Free tier; Basic from $5 / month Credit-based. The free tier offers trial voices only and requires attribution; commercial use starts on Basic.
Free trial Free plan with 5 meeting transcripts a month Free tier with 3,000 lifetime credits (around 5 minutes), trial voices only
Commercial use Not stated Paid (Basic and above)
Output Meeting reports with summary, topics, action items, key questions and a speaker-separated transcript Expressive AI speech with emotion and dynamics control; video export on paid tiers
API Yes, plus an MCP server and Claude and ChatGPT connectors Yes
Hosting Cloud, with Windows, macOS, Android and iOS apps and a Chrome extension Not stated
Voice cloning No, Read AI transcribes, summarises and measures meetings and does not synthesise or clone voices Yes, instant and professional cloning; slots scale from one to ten by plan
Real-time use Yes, an in-meeting dashboard with live notes, transcription, summaries and meeting metrics as the call runs, on Zoom, Microsoft Teams and Google Meet Yes, real-time generation via the API
Languages Meeting reports in 16+ languages, including Arabic, Chinese (Cantonese and Mandarin), Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Norwegian, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish and Swedish 35+ languages
Speech-to-speech and dubbing No dubbing or speech-to-speech translation Not documented: the API covers text-to-speech, streaming playback, word- and character-level timestamps and voice cloning from a sample, with no voice-conversion or dubbing endpoint
Editing and controls Meeting reports with summary, topics, action items and key questions, a meeting coach scoring talking speed, filler words, bias and charisma with coaching trends, audio and video playback with highlights from the Enterprise plan, Ask Read search across meetings, email and messages with direct access to Anthropic and OpenAI models, audio and video uploads, and workspace rules controlling which meetings Read joins Emotion, pitch, intensity, speed and dynamics
Consent and trust Custom assistant branding, naming on all platforms and a logo on Zoom, plus workspace distribution and sharing rules; Enterprise+ adds SAML SSO, SCIM provisioning, domain capture, a custom data retention policy and HIPAA compliance support Every voice actor on the platform has agreed to the use cases for their voice and keeps ownership of the model. Uploading a sample requires confirming permission for any third-party voice in it, and cloned voices stay private
MCP-ready stated Yes No
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk Email helpdesk
Onboarding more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Guided onboarding Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Zoom, Microsoft Teams, Google Meet, HubSpot, Salesforce, Jira, Confluence, Notion, Asana, Slack, Zapier, ChatGPT, Claude Not stated

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Read AI Free plan; Pro $19.75 / user / month Typecast Free tier; Basic from $5 / month
  • Free trial Read AI Free plan with 5 meeting transcripts a month Typecast Free tier with 3,000 lifetime credits (around 5 minutes), trial voices only
  • MCP-ready Read AI Yes Typecast No
  • Output Read AI Meeting reports with summary, topics, action items, key questions and a speaker-separated transcript Typecast Expressive AI speech with emotion and dynamics control; video export on paid tiers
  • API Read AI Yes, plus an MCP server and Claude and ChatGPT connectors Typecast Yes

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Read AI

Strengths

  • Live notes and meeting metrics while the call is still running
  • Meeting coach and trend reporting on how meetings themselves are run
  • Search spans meetings, email and messages rather than calls alone
  • MCP server with Claude and ChatGPT connectors

Limitations

  • Free plan is capped at five meeting transcripts a month
  • Audio and video playback only from the Enterprise plan up
  • Meeting length is capped by plan, from one hour on Free to eight on Enterprise+
  • SSO, SCIM, HIPAA support and data retention policies need Enterprise+ and five or more licences

Typecast

Strengths

  • 700+ voices with fine emotion and delivery control
  • Context-aware emotion model adapts tone to the script
  • Affordable entry with a commercial license from $5 per month

Limitations

  • Free tier is limited to trial voices and requires attribution
  • Credit allowances are modest on the lower tiers

Plans

Pricing

Read AI

  • Free $0 Five meeting transcripts a month, best-in-class summaries for meetings, email and messaging, personalised meeting coach, basic integrations, topic readouts and one-hour maximum meeting length.
  • Pro $19.75 Per user per month, $15 billed annually. Unlimited meeting transcripts and reports, priority report processing, 100 file upload credits a month and premium integrations including Notion, Salesforce, HubSpot, Jira, Confluence, Zapier and webhooks.
  • Enterprise $29.75 Per user per month, $22.50 billed annually. Adds audio and video playback, video highlights, 200 file upload credits a month and premium support.
  • Enterprise+ $39.75 Per user per month, $29.75 billed annually, five licences or more. Adds HIPAA compliance, SAML and SCIM, domain capture, a custom data retention policy, 300 file upload credits a month and workspace onboarding.
Visit site

Typecast

  • Free $0 3,000 lifetime credits (around 5 minutes), trial voices only, attribution required.
  • Basic $5 / month $54 / year. 30,000 credits per month (around 35 minutes), all AI voices, commercial license, 1 instant cloning slot.
  • Plus $19 / month $204 / year. 40,000 credits per month, speed control, 1 professional cloning slot.
  • Pro $29 / month $312 / year. 75,000 credits per month, emotion and intonation controls, 2 cloning slots.
  • Business $69 / month $744 / year. 200,000 credits per month, 10 cloning slots, additional credit purchases.
  • Enterprise Not stated Custom pricing.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Read AI

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Typecast

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Read AI https://www.read.ai · checked against the official source on 2026-09-16

Typecast https://typecast.ai · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.