CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Writing Comparison

Anyword vs. ProWritingAid

At a glance

At a glance

Anyword

Best for

Best for performance marketers who want data-scored ad, landing-page and email copy.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

ProWritingAid

Best for

Best for authors and long-form writers who want deep style reports and story critique inside the app they already write in.

  • Freelancers

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Anyword ProWritingAid
Starting price From $49 / month Starter, billed monthly, or $39 per month billed yearly, and it covers one seat. Data-Driven is $99 per month, or $79 billed yearly, with 3 seats. Business and Enterprise are priced on request. lower value Free tier; Premium from $10 / month $10 per month billed yearly ($120 a year), $30 billed monthly. Premium Pro is $12 billed yearly ($144) or $36 monthly. Lifetime licences are $399 (Premium) and $699 (Premium Pro).
Free trial 7-day free trial with a limit of 2,500 words Free plan with a 500-word limit, 2 report runs per report per day, 10 rephrases and 3 Sparks per day
Commercial use Yes Not stated
Output Performance marketing copy with predictive scoring Grammar and style suggestions, 25+ writing reports, rephrasing and story critique
Hosting Not stated Cloud, with desktop apps for Windows and macOS and browser extensions
Content types Ads, social posts, emails, blog articles and landing pages Fiction manuscripts and general prose; more than 40 document types can be set for tailored suggestions
Brand voice Yes, central brand messaging, tone, audience profiles and guidelines Custom style guide with your own rules, plus terminology management from an uploaded term base (Premium and above)
Content scoring Yes, predictive performance scoring and Content Intelligence Yes, more than 25 writing analysis reports covering readability, structure, overused words and sensory detail, plus comparison against 90 fiction authors
Drafting tools A/B variants ranked by predicted performance Rephrase and Sparks rewrite, enhance, summarize, expand or continue text; the vendor states its AI features are not intended to write for you
Templates Yes No template library; Snippets store frequently used pieces of text for reuse
Team workflows Yes, team collaboration, with multi-level permissions management on the Business and Enterprise plans Document sharing with real-time comments; the published plans are individual rather than team seats
API Yes, it exposes the performance predictions and RAG capabilities. Full API access is listed on the Enterprise plan Yes, a Grammar and Style checking API at api.prowritingaid.com, licensed and paid for separately from the writing subscription. The licence covers unlimited servers and locations but forbids shipping it inside an SDK or using it to build a competing checker
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk Not stated
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base, Guided onboarding Documentation and knowledge base, Live online demos and webinars
Company size more entries Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers
Integrations more entries Salesforce, HubSpot, Microsoft Dynamics 365 Sales, Oktopost, Sprinklr, Marketo, Braze, Iterable, Oracle Eloqua, Outreach, Gong, Wrike, Microsoft Word, Google Drive, Google Ads, Meta Ads, LinkedIn Ads, Sitecore, Drupal, Chrome extension Microsoft Word, Google Docs, Scrivener, Vellum, Apple Notes, Atticus, Wattpad, Chrome, Edge, Firefox

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Anyword From $49 / month ProWritingAid Free tier; Premium from $10 / month
  • Free trial Anyword 7-day free trial with a limit of 2,500 words ProWritingAid Free plan with a 500-word limit, 2 report runs per report per day, 10 rephrases and 3 Sparks per day
  • Company size Anyword Small and mid-sized, Enterprise ProWritingAid Freelancers
  • Output Anyword Performance marketing copy with predictive scoring ProWritingAid Grammar and style suggestions, 25+ writing reports, rephrasing and story critique
  • Content types Anyword Ads, social posts, emails, blog articles and landing pages ProWritingAid Fiction manuscripts and general prose; more than 40 document types can be set for tailored suggestions

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Anyword

Strengths

  • Predictive scoring reduces guesswork on ad variants
  • Performance-focused

Limitations

  • Higher price
  • Narrow focus on performance copy

ProWritingAid

Strengths

  • More than 25 reports go well past grammar into structure, pacing and overused words
  • Story-level critique covers chapters, plot, characters and marketability
  • Edits in place in Microsoft Word, Scrivener, Vellum, Google Docs and the browser
  • Lifetime licence available as a one-time payment
  • Vendor states it never uses your writing to train its algorithms

Limitations

  • Free plan is capped at 500 words per document
  • Built for authors and prose rather than marketing content at volume
  • AI features are deliberately assistive and will not draft for you
  • Manuscript-wide analyses are metered separately through Story Credits

Plans

Pricing

Anyword

  • Starter $49 Per month, or $39 per month billed yearly. One seat, 50 performance predictions, 1 brand voice.
  • Data-Driven $99 Per month, or $79 per month billed yearly. 3 seats, 100 performance predictions.
  • Business Not stated Priced on request. 3 seats, 250 performance predictions, 5 brand voices, custom AI models, onboarding and setup and prioritised support.
  • Enterprise Not stated Priced on request. Custom seats, 500 or more performance predictions, private LLM, full API access, tailored onboarding and a dedicated customer success contact.
Visit site

ProWritingAid

  • Free $0 500 word count limit, 2 runs per report per day, 10 rephrases and 3 Sparks per day.
  • Premium $30 Per month billed monthly. $10 per month billed yearly ($120 a year), or a $399 one-time lifetime licence. Unlimited word count, reports and rephrases, custom style guide, 5 Sparks and 1 Chapter Critique per day.
  • Premium Pro $36 Per month billed monthly. $12 per month billed yearly ($144 a year), or a $699 one-time lifetime licence. Adds 50 Sparks and 3 Chapter Critiques per day plus live workshops and the on-demand workshop library.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Anyword

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

ProWritingAid

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Anyword https://anyword.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-14

ProWritingAid https://prowritingaid.com · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.