ProWritingAid
Writing toolkit for authors: grammar, 25+ style reports and story critique, with AI that assists rather than drafts.
- Starting price
- Free tier; Premium from $10 / month
- Free trial
- Free plan with a 500-word limit, 2 report runs per report per day, 10 rephrases and 3 Sparks per day
- Output
- Grammar and style suggestions, 25+ writing reports, rephrasing and story critique
Overview
ProWritingAid is a writing and editing toolkit aimed at authors working on long-form prose. Beyond the grammar, spelling and punctuation checker sits a set of more than 25 writing analysis reports covering readability, structure, overused words, sensory detail and repetition, an author comparison against 90 fiction writers across genres, and inline citation checks. A separate story layer handles the manuscript as a whole: Chapter Critique, Plot Analysis, Character Analysis, Manuscript Analysis, a Virtual Beta Reader and a Marketability Analysis, run against Story Credits. Planning and habit tools such as Story Canvas, Writing Sessions, Placeholders and Writing Sprints sit in front of the draft. Rather than a single editor, it installs into the apps writers already use: desktop apps for Windows and macOS reach Microsoft Word, Scrivener, Vellum and Apple Notes, and Chrome, Edge and Firefox extensions cover Google Docs, Atticus and Wattpad. The AI features (Rephrase and Sparks) rewrite, enhance, summarize, expand or continue text, and the vendor states plainly that none of them are intended to write for you and that your text is never used to train its algorithms. A free plan caps documents at 500 words; Premium and Premium Pro are sold monthly, yearly or as a one-time lifetime licence.
Best for authors and long-form writers who want deep style reports and story critique inside the app they already write in.
ProWritingAid is the pick for someone editing a manuscript rather than producing marketing copy, and its refusal to draft is a positioning choice as much as a limitation: it is aimed at writers who want the critique, not the words. The depth of the reports is the reason to pay, and it is also the cost, because a report set this large takes a while to learn to read selectively. The free plan is best understood as a demonstration, since a 500-word ceiling excludes the long-form work the tool is actually built for. Anyone who wants a generative engine for volume content is looking at the wrong end of this category.
Key Facts
| Category | |
|---|---|
| Starting price | Free tier; Premium from $10 / month $10 per month billed yearly ($120 a year), $30 billed monthly. Premium Pro is $12 billed yearly ($144) or $36 monthly. Lifetime licences are $399 (Premium) and $699 (Premium Pro). |
| Free trial | Free plan with a 500-word limit, 2 report runs per report per day, 10 rephrases and 3 Sparks per day |
| Output | Grammar and style suggestions, 25+ writing reports, rephrasing and story critique |
| Hosting | Cloud, with desktop apps for Windows and macOS and browser extensions |
Screenshots
Placeholders. They are replaced as soon as the vendor sends material, and both open the same short form.
Features
- Content types
- Fiction manuscripts and general prose; more than 40 document types can be set for tailored suggestions
- Brand voice
- Custom style guide with your own rules, plus terminology management from an uploaded term base (Premium and above)
- Content scoring
- Yes, more than 25 writing analysis reports covering readability, structure, overused words and sensory detail, plus comparison against 90 fiction authors
- Drafting tools
- Rephrase and Sparks rewrite, enhance, summarize, expand or continue text; the vendor states its AI features are not intended to write for you
- Templates
- No template library; Snippets store frequently used pieces of text for reuse
- Team workflows
- Document sharing with real-time comments; the published plans are individual rather than team seats
- API
- Yes, a Grammar and Style checking API at api.prowritingaid.com, licensed and paid for separately from the writing subscription. The licence covers unlimited servers and locations but forbids shipping it inside an SDK or using it to build a competing checker
Integrations
- Microsoft Word
- Google Docs
- Scrivener
- Vellum
- Apple Notes
- Atticus
- Wattpad
- Chrome
- Edge
- Firefox
Deployment and Support
- Deployment
-
- Cloud (SaaS)
- Browser-based
- Onboarding
-
- Documentation and knowledge base
- Live online demos and webinars
- Company size
-
- Freelancers
Suitability
| Industry | Freelancers | Small and mid-sized | Enterprise |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agencies | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Architecture & Engineering | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Consulting | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Media & Creative | Stated as a fit | Not stated | Not stated |
| Technology | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
The table combines the industries the vendor addresses with the company sizes the tool is aimed at. An empty cell means the combination is not stated, not that it is ruled out.
Pros and Cons
Strengths
- More than 25 reports go well past grammar into structure, pacing and overused words
- Story-level critique covers chapters, plot, characters and marketability
- Edits in place in Microsoft Word, Scrivener, Vellum, Google Docs and the browser
- Lifetime licence available as a one-time payment
- Vendor states it never uses your writing to train its algorithms
Limitations
- Free plan is capped at 500 words per document
- Built for authors and prose rather than marketing content at volume
- AI features are deliberately assistive and will not draft for you
- Manuscript-wide analyses are metered separately through Story Credits
Pricing
-
Free
$0
500 word count limit, 2 runs per report per day, 10 rephrases and 3 Sparks per day.
-
Premium
$30
Per month billed monthly. $10 per month billed yearly ($120 a year), or a $399 one-time lifetime licence. Unlimited word count, reports and rephrases, custom style guide, 5 Sparks and 1 Chapter Critique per day.
-
Premium Pro
$36
Per month billed monthly. $12 per month billed yearly ($144 a year), or a $699 one-time lifetime licence. Adds 50 Sparks and 3 Chapter Critiques per day plus live workshops and the on-demand workshop library.
Best For
Alternatives and Comparisons
What users say
Reviews
-
0 reviews
- Ease of use
- Not rated yet
- User interface
- Not rated yet
- Onboarding
- Not rated yet
- Support and service
- Not rated yet
- Value for money
- Not rated yet
- Features
- Not rated yet
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.
Share your experience
Write a Review
Ready to take a closer look at ProWritingAid
The link goes straight to the vendor. Some links on this site are affiliate links.
Visit ProWritingAid