CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Writing Comparison

HyperWrite vs. ProWritingAid

At a glance

At a glance

HyperWrite

Best for

Best for individuals who want AI writing help and a personal assistant across the web.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

ProWritingAid

Best for

Best for authors and long-form writers who want deep style reports and story critique inside the app they already write in.

  • Freelancers

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion HyperWrite ProWritingAid
Starting price Free tier; Premium from $19.99 / month Premium $16 / month billed annually; Ultra $44.99 / month ($29 annually). lower value Free tier; Premium from $10 / month $10 per month billed yearly ($120 a year), $30 billed monthly. Premium Pro is $12 billed yearly ($144) or $36 monthly. Lifetime licences are $399 (Premium) and $699 (Premium Pro).
Free trial Free plan with limited monthly credits Free plan with a 500-word limit, 2 report runs per report per day, 10 rephrases and 3 Sparks per day
Commercial use Yes Not stated
Output Written content and emails Grammar and style suggestions, 25+ writing reports, rephrasing and story critique
Hosting Not stated Cloud, with desktop apps for Windows and macOS and browser extensions
Content types Emails, paragraphs, speeches and general writing Fiction manuscripts and general prose; more than 40 document types can be set for tailored suggestions
Brand voice Yes, custom personas mirror your writing style (3 on Premium, 10 on Ultra) Custom style guide with your own rules, plus terminology management from an uploaded term base (Premium and above)
Content scoring No score or grade for a draft; the editor gives written AI feedback, rewrites and citations instead Yes, more than 25 writing analysis reports covering readability, structure, overused words and sensory detail, plus comparison against 90 fiction authors
Drafting tools Yes, Flexible AutoWrite, Magic Editor, a summarizer and hundreds of AI tools, plus custom tools Rephrase and Sparks rewrite, enhance, summarize, expand or continue text; the vendor states its AI features are not intended to write for you
Templates Hundreds of built-in AI tools for specific tasks No template library; Snippets store frequently used pieces of text for reuse
Team workflows No team plan and no shared workspace; the published plans are Free, Premium and Ultra, all single-user Document sharing with real-time comments; the published plans are individual rather than team seats
API No public developer API is published; HyperWrite is used through the web app and the Chrome extension Yes, a Grammar and Style checking API at api.prowritingaid.com, licensed and paid for separately from the writing subscription. The licence covers unlimited servers and locations but forbids shipping it inside an SDK or using it to build a competing checker
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk, Community forum Not stated
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Live online demos and webinars
Company size more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Freelancers
Integrations Chrome extension, Gmail more entries Microsoft Word, Google Docs, Scrivener, Vellum, Apple Notes, Atticus, Wattpad, Chrome, Edge, Firefox

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price HyperWrite Free tier; Premium from $19.99 / month ProWritingAid Free tier; Premium from $10 / month
  • Free trial HyperWrite Free plan with limited monthly credits ProWritingAid Free plan with a 500-word limit, 2 report runs per report per day, 10 rephrases and 3 Sparks per day
  • Company size HyperWrite Freelancers, Small and mid-sized ProWritingAid Freelancers
  • Output HyperWrite Written content and emails ProWritingAid Grammar and style suggestions, 25+ writing reports, rephrasing and story critique
  • Content types HyperWrite Emails, paragraphs, speeches and general writing ProWritingAid Fiction manuscripts and general prose; more than 40 document types can be set for tailored suggestions

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

HyperWrite

Strengths

  • Custom personas match your own writing style
  • Chrome extension brings suggestions and citations to any site
  • Large library of tools plus custom tools you can build

Limitations

  • Premium caps AI messages at 250 per month
  • Built for individuals rather than team workflows
  • Better models are limited to paid plans

ProWritingAid

Strengths

  • More than 25 reports go well past grammar into structure, pacing and overused words
  • Story-level critique covers chapters, plot, characters and marketability
  • Edits in place in Microsoft Word, Scrivener, Vellum, Google Docs and the browser
  • Lifetime licence available as a one-time payment
  • Vendor states it never uses your writing to train its algorithms

Limitations

  • Free plan is capped at 500 words per document
  • Built for authors and prose rather than marketing content at volume
  • AI features are deliberately assistive and will not draft for you
  • Manuscript-wide analyses are metered separately through Story Credits

Plans

Pricing

HyperWrite

  • Free Free Limited monthly credits on the basic AI.
  • Premium $19.99 Per month ($16 billed annually). 250 AI messages per month, 3 custom personas, citations, unlimited TypeAheads.
  • Ultra $44.99 Per month ($29 billed annually). Unlimited AI messages, 10 custom personas, early access to experimental features.
Visit site

ProWritingAid

  • Free $0 500 word count limit, 2 runs per report per day, 10 rephrases and 3 Sparks per day.
  • Premium $30 Per month billed monthly. $10 per month billed yearly ($120 a year), or a $399 one-time lifetime licence. Unlimited word count, reports and rephrases, custom style guide, 5 Sparks and 1 Chapter Critique per day.
  • Premium Pro $36 Per month billed monthly. $12 per month billed yearly ($144 a year), or a $699 one-time lifetime licence. Adds 50 Sparks and 3 Chapter Critiques per day plus live workshops and the on-demand workshop library.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

HyperWrite

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

ProWritingAid

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

HyperWrite https://www.hyperwriteai.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-08

ProWritingAid https://prowritingaid.com · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.