CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Writing Comparison

ProWritingAid vs. Rytr

At a glance

At a glance

ProWritingAid

Best for

Best for authors and long-form writers who want deep style reports and story critique inside the app they already write in.

  • Freelancers

Rytr

Best for

Best for freelancers and budget-conscious creators who need high-volume short-form copy.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion ProWritingAid Rytr
Starting price Free tier; Premium from $10 / month $10 per month billed yearly ($120 a year), $30 billed monthly. Premium Pro is $12 billed yearly ($144) or $36 monthly. Lifetime licences are $399 (Premium) and $699 (Premium Pro). lower value Free tier; Unlimited from $9 / month The free tier covers 10,000 characters per month. Premium is $29 per month. Yearly billing gives two months free.
Free trial Free plan with a 500-word limit, 2 report runs per report per day, 10 rephrases and 3 Sparks per day Free tier with 10,000 characters per month
Commercial use Not stated Yes
Output Grammar and style suggestions, 25+ writing reports, rephrasing and story critique Short-form copy in many tones
Languages Not stated 35+ languages on the Premium tier; the Free and Unlimited tiers cover one language
Hosting Cloud, with desktop apps for Windows and macOS and browser extensions Not stated
Content types Fiction manuscripts and general prose; more than 40 document types can be set for tailored suggestions Short-form copy across 40+ use cases
Brand voice Custom style guide with your own rules, plus terminology management from an uploaded term base (Premium and above) Yes, mirrors your tone from samples; up to 5 custom voices on paid tiers
Content scoring Yes, more than 25 writing analysis reports covering readability, structure, overused words and sensory detail, plus comparison against 90 fiction authors No score. A plagiarism checker stands in its place, with 50 checks a month on Unlimited and 100 on Premium
Drafting tools Rephrase and Sparks rewrite, enhance, summarize, expand or continue text; the vendor states its AI features are not intended to write for you 20+ tones, Continue Ryting autocomplete, rewrite, expand and shorten
Templates No template library; Snippets store frequently used pieces of text for reuse Yes
Team workflows Document sharing with real-time comments; the published plans are individual rather than team seats Single-user accounts, no seats or shared workspace. Premium adds priority support
API Yes, a Grammar and Style checking API at api.prowritingaid.com, licensed and paid for separately from the writing subscription. The licence covers unlimited servers and locations but forbids shipping it inside an SDK or using it to build a competing checker Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Not stated Community forum
Onboarding more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Live online demos and webinars Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Freelancers more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations Microsoft Word, Google Docs, Scrivener, Vellum, Apple Notes, Atticus, Wattpad, Chrome, Edge, Firefox Not stated

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price ProWritingAid Free tier; Premium from $10 / month Rytr Free tier; Unlimited from $9 / month
  • Free trial ProWritingAid Free plan with a 500-word limit, 2 report runs per report per day, 10 rephrases and 3 Sparks per day Rytr Free tier with 10,000 characters per month
  • Company size ProWritingAid Freelancers Rytr Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
  • Output ProWritingAid Grammar and style suggestions, 25+ writing reports, rephrasing and story critique Rytr Short-form copy in many tones
  • Content types ProWritingAid Fiction manuscripts and general prose; more than 40 document types can be set for tailored suggestions Rytr Short-form copy across 40+ use cases

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

ProWritingAid

Strengths

  • More than 25 reports go well past grammar into structure, pacing and overused words
  • Story-level critique covers chapters, plot, characters and marketability
  • Edits in place in Microsoft Word, Scrivener, Vellum, Google Docs and the browser
  • Lifetime licence available as a one-time payment
  • Vendor states it never uses your writing to train its algorithms

Limitations

  • Free plan is capped at 500 words per document
  • Built for authors and prose rather than marketing content at volume
  • AI features are deliberately assistive and will not draft for you
  • Manuscript-wide analyses are metered separately through Story Credits

Rytr

Strengths

  • Cheapest usable option
  • Solid free tier
  • Good for short-form

Limitations

  • Runs on older and cheaper models
  • Long-form output needs heavy editing
  • Fairly barebones

Plans

Pricing

ProWritingAid

  • Free $0 500 word count limit, 2 runs per report per day, 10 rephrases and 3 Sparks per day.
  • Premium $30 Per month billed monthly. $10 per month billed yearly ($120 a year), or a $399 one-time lifetime licence. Unlimited word count, reports and rephrases, custom style guide, 5 Sparks and 1 Chapter Critique per day.
  • Premium Pro $36 Per month billed monthly. $12 per month billed yearly ($144 a year), or a $699 one-time lifetime licence. Adds 50 Sparks and 3 Chapter Critiques per day plus live workshops and the on-demand workshop library.
Visit site

Rytr

  • Free $0 10,000 characters per month.
  • Unlimited $9 Per month.
  • Premium $29 Per month.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

ProWritingAid

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Rytr

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

ProWritingAid https://prowritingaid.com · no check date recorded yet

Rytr https://rytr.me · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.