CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Writing Comparison

ProWritingAid vs. Sudowrite

At a glance

At a glance

ProWritingAid

Best for

Best for authors and long-form writers who want deep style reports and story critique inside the app they already write in.

  • Freelancers

Sudowrite

Best for

Best for novelists and narrative writers working on long-form fiction.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion ProWritingAid Sudowrite
Starting price lower value Free tier; Premium from $10 / month $10 per month billed yearly ($120 a year), $30 billed monthly. Premium Pro is $12 billed yearly ($144) or $36 monthly. Lifetime licences are $399 (Premium) and $699 (Premium Pro). From $19 / month Paid monthly; $10 per month paid annually. Plans are metered in credits.
Free trial Free plan with a 500-word limit, 2 report runs per report per day, 10 rephrases and 3 Sparks per day 7-day refund window on any plan, no free tier
Commercial use Not stated Yes
Output Grammar and style suggestions, 25+ writing reports, rephrasing and story critique Long-form fiction and narrative
Hosting Cloud, with desktop apps for Windows and macOS and browser extensions Not stated
Content types Fiction manuscripts and general prose; more than 40 document types can be set for tailored suggestions Long-form fiction and narrative
Brand voice Custom style guide with your own rules, plus terminology management from an uploaded term base (Premium and above) Yes, matches your writing voice and style
Content scoring Yes, more than 25 writing analysis reports covering readability, structure, overused words and sensory detail, plus comparison against 90 fiction authors No numeric score. Feedback returns five concrete areas to improve on a draft instead
Drafting tools Rephrase and Sparks rewrite, enhance, summarize, expand or continue text; the vendor states its AI features are not intended to write for you Story Bible, Write, Describe, Expand, Rewrite, Canvas, Brainstorm, Visualize and Feedback. Runs on the Muse fiction model
Templates No template library; Snippets store frequently used pieces of text for reuse No template library. A directory of over 1,000 community-built plugins adds task-specific tools such as reader simulation and character dialogue
Team workflows Document sharing with real-time comments; the published plans are individual rather than team seats Built for a single author. Share links give beta readers view-only access with comments they cannot see from each other, and series folders share characters, worldbuilding and outline across books
API Yes, a Grammar and Style checking API at api.prowritingaid.com, licensed and paid for separately from the writing subscription. The licence covers unlimited servers and locations but forbids shipping it inside an SDK or using it to build a competing checker No public API. Extensions are built as plugins inside Sudowrite
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Not stated Email helpdesk, Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base, Live online demos and webinars Documentation and knowledge base, Live online demos and webinars
Company size Freelancers more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations Microsoft Word, Google Docs, Scrivener, Vellum, Apple Notes, Atticus, Wattpad, Chrome, Edge, Firefox Not stated

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price ProWritingAid Free tier; Premium from $10 / month Sudowrite From $19 / month
  • Free trial ProWritingAid Free plan with a 500-word limit, 2 report runs per report per day, 10 rephrases and 3 Sparks per day Sudowrite 7-day refund window on any plan, no free tier
  • Company size ProWritingAid Freelancers Sudowrite Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
  • Output ProWritingAid Grammar and style suggestions, 25+ writing reports, rephrasing and story critique Sudowrite Long-form fiction and narrative
  • Content types ProWritingAid Fiction manuscripts and general prose; more than 40 document types can be set for tailored suggestions Sudowrite Long-form fiction and narrative

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

ProWritingAid

Strengths

  • More than 25 reports go well past grammar into structure, pacing and overused words
  • Story-level critique covers chapters, plot, characters and marketability
  • Edits in place in Microsoft Word, Scrivener, Vellum, Google Docs and the browser
  • Lifetime licence available as a one-time payment
  • Vendor states it never uses your writing to train its algorithms

Limitations

  • Free plan is capped at 500 words per document
  • Built for authors and prose rather than marketing content at volume
  • AI features are deliberately assistive and will not draft for you
  • Manuscript-wide analyses are metered separately through Story Credits

Sudowrite

Strengths

  • Purpose-built for fiction, better pacing, voice and character continuity than general tools
  • Genuinely useful for novels

Limitations

  • Fiction only, not for marketing or SEO
  • Controversial among some writers
  • Not a general-purpose tool

Plans

Pricing

ProWritingAid

  • Free $0 500 word count limit, 2 runs per report per day, 10 rephrases and 3 Sparks per day.
  • Premium $30 Per month billed monthly. $10 per month billed yearly ($120 a year), or a $399 one-time lifetime licence. Unlimited word count, reports and rephrases, custom style guide, 5 Sparks and 1 Chapter Critique per day.
  • Premium Pro $36 Per month billed monthly. $12 per month billed yearly ($144 a year), or a $699 one-time lifetime licence. Adds 50 Sparks and 3 Chapter Critiques per day plus live workshops and the on-demand workshop library.
Visit site

Sudowrite

  • Hobby & Student $19 Per month, or $10 per month paid annually. 225,000 credits per month.
  • Professional $29 Per month, or $22 per month paid annually.
  • Max $59 Per month, or $44 per month paid annually. 2,000,000 credits per month, and unused credits roll over for 12 months.
  • Enterprise Not stated On request.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

ProWritingAid

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Sudowrite

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

ProWritingAid https://prowritingaid.com · no check date recorded yet

Sudowrite https://www.sudowrite.com · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.