CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Writing Comparison

ProWritingAid vs. Type

At a glance

At a glance

ProWritingAid

Best for

Best for authors and long-form writers who want deep style reports and story critique inside the app they already write in.

  • Freelancers

Type

Best for

Best for authors and screenwriters who want AI help drafting and editing long-form fiction.

  • Freelancers

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion ProWritingAid Type
Starting price Free tier; Premium from $10 / month $10 per month billed yearly ($120 a year), $30 billed monthly. Premium Pro is $12 billed yearly ($144) or $36 monthly. Lifetime licences are $399 (Premium) and $699 (Premium Pro). lower value Free tier; Basic from $8 / month Basic $96 billed annually; Pro $16 / month, Max $64 / month. Paid plans include the latest models from Anthropic, OpenAI and Google.
Free trial Free plan with a 500-word limit, 2 report runs per report per day, 10 rephrases and 3 Sparks per day Free plan available
Commercial use Not stated Yes
Output Grammar and style suggestions, 25+ writing reports, rephrasing and story critique Books, screenplays and long-form writing
Hosting Cloud, with desktop apps for Windows and macOS and browser extensions Not stated
Content types Fiction manuscripts and general prose; more than 40 document types can be set for tailored suggestions Books, novels, screenplays and long-form stories, up to about 150,000 words per document
Brand voice Custom style guide with your own rules, plus terminology management from an uploaded term base (Premium and above) Custom writing rules capture the quirks of your own style
Content scoring Yes, more than 25 writing analysis reports covering readability, structure, overused words and sensory detail, plus comparison against 90 fiction authors No score or grade for a draft; feedback comes from the document-aware AI chat instead
Drafting tools Rephrase and Sparks rewrite, enhance, summarize, expand or continue text; the vendor states its AI features are not intended to write for you Yes, AI drafting, rewriting, tone adjustment and expand or condense, plus a Notes feature for characters, settings and scenes
Templates No template library; Snippets store frequently used pieces of text for reuse Yes, a library of more than 50 curated writing templates covering professional, blog, email and social formats, dropped into a document as a starting point
Team workflows Document sharing with real-time comments; the published plans are individual rather than team seats No shared workspace and no team plan. A finished document goes out as a private view-only link or as a DOCX for editing elsewhere
API Yes, a Grammar and Style checking API at api.prowritingaid.com, licensed and paid for separately from the writing subscription. The licence covers unlimited servers and locations but forbids shipping it inside an SDK or using it to build a competing checker No, Type publishes no developer API
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Not stated Email helpdesk
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base, Live online demos and webinars Not stated
Company size Freelancers Freelancers
Integrations Microsoft Word, Google Docs, Scrivener, Vellum, Apple Notes, Atticus, Wattpad, Chrome, Edge, Firefox Not stated

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price ProWritingAid Free tier; Premium from $10 / month Type Free tier; Basic from $8 / month
  • Free trial ProWritingAid Free plan with a 500-word limit, 2 report runs per report per day, 10 rephrases and 3 Sparks per day Type Free plan available
  • Output ProWritingAid Grammar and style suggestions, 25+ writing reports, rephrasing and story critique Type Books, screenplays and long-form writing
  • Content types ProWritingAid Fiction manuscripts and general prose; more than 40 document types can be set for tailored suggestions Type Books, novels, screenplays and long-form stories, up to about 150,000 words per document
  • Brand voice ProWritingAid Custom style guide with your own rules, plus terminology management from an uploaded term base (Premium and above) Type Custom writing rules capture the quirks of your own style

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

ProWritingAid

Strengths

  • More than 25 reports go well past grammar into structure, pacing and overused words
  • Story-level critique covers chapters, plot, characters and marketability
  • Edits in place in Microsoft Word, Scrivener, Vellum, Google Docs and the browser
  • Lifetime licence available as a one-time payment
  • Vendor states it never uses your writing to train its algorithms

Limitations

  • Free plan is capped at 500 words per document
  • Built for authors and prose rather than marketing content at volume
  • AI features are deliberately assistive and will not draft for you
  • Manuscript-wide analyses are metered separately through Story Credits

Type

Strengths

  • Purpose-built for long-form fiction, with story Notes for characters and settings
  • Custom writing rules keep AI output in your own style
  • Exports to DOCX, PDF, a view-only URL or an AI-narrated audio track

Limitations

  • Focused on creative writing, not marketing or SEO content
  • No team or collaboration features
  • Longer manuscripts must be split beyond about 150,000 words

Plans

Pricing

ProWritingAid

  • Free $0 500 word count limit, 2 runs per report per day, 10 rephrases and 3 Sparks per day.
  • Premium $30 Per month billed monthly. $10 per month billed yearly ($120 a year), or a $399 one-time lifetime licence. Unlimited word count, reports and rephrases, custom style guide, 5 Sparks and 1 Chapter Critique per day.
  • Premium Pro $36 Per month billed monthly. $12 per month billed yearly ($144 a year), or a $699 one-time lifetime licence. Adds 50 Sparks and 3 Chapter Critiques per day plus live workshops and the on-demand workshop library.
Visit site

Type

  • Free $0 Try Type and start a story for free.
  • Basic $8 Per month ($96 billed annually). For shorter-form content or stories.
  • Pro $16 Per month ($192 billed annually). 3x the AI usage of Basic; for longer works like a novel or screenplay.
  • Max $64 Per month ($768 billed annually). 12x the AI usage of Basic; for writing multiple books a year.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

ProWritingAid

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Type

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

ProWritingAid https://prowritingaid.com · no check date recorded yet

Type https://type.ai · checked against the official source on 2026-09-06

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.