CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Writing Comparison

ProWritingAid vs. Writer

At a glance

At a glance

ProWritingAid

Best for

Best for authors and long-form writers who want deep style reports and story critique inside the app they already write in.

  • Freelancers

Writer

Best for

Best for enterprise marketing, sales and support teams that need every AI output to follow approved brand voice, terminology and governance rules.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion ProWritingAid Writer
Starting price Free tier; Premium from $10 / month $10 per month billed yearly ($120 a year), $30 billed monthly. Premium Pro is $12 billed yearly ($144) or $36 monthly. Lifetime licences are $399 (Premium) and $699 (Premium Pro). Not stated
Free trial Free plan with a 500-word limit, 2 report runs per report per day, 10 rephrases and 3 Sparks per day 14-day free trial on Starter, no credit card required
Output Grammar and style suggestions, 25+ writing reports, rephrasing and story critique Documents, presentations, dashboards and spreadsheets
Hosting Cloud, with desktop apps for Windows and macOS and browser extensions Cloud, fully managed by the vendor
Content types Fiction manuscripts and general prose; more than 40 document types can be set for tailored suggestions Documents, presentations, blog posts, customer communications, dashboards and spreadsheets
Brand voice Custom style guide with your own rules, plus terminology management from an uploaded term base (Premium and above) Yes, voice and personality profiles per team, approved terminology and restricted-term rewriting, with departmental profiles on Enterprise
Content scoring Yes, more than 25 writing analysis reports covering readability, structure, overused words and sensory detail, plus comparison against 90 fiction authors Every output is checked against your rules for punctuation, capitalization, grammar, readability and inclusivity before review
Drafting tools Rephrase and Sparks rewrite, enhance, summarize, expand or continue text; the vendor states its AI features are not intended to write for you WRITER Agent plans and executes multi-step work, with canvas editing, multi-modal outputs, code execution, browser automation and data analysis
Templates No template library; Snippets store frequently used pieces of text for reuse Playbooks and an Agent Library of more than 100 prebuilt agents; an uploaded slide template is reused for generated presentations
Team workflows Document sharing with real-time comments; the published plans are individual rather than team seats Yes, shareable playbooks, scheduled routines, chained cross-team workflows, approvals, role-based access and audit logs
API Yes, a Grammar and Style checking API at api.prowritingaid.com, licensed and paid for separately from the writing subscription. The licence covers unlimited servers and locations but forbids shipping it inside an SDK or using it to build a competing checker Yes, API access with published developer documentation and SDKs; expanded rate limits on Enterprise
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Not stated Email helpdesk
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base, Live online demos and webinars more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Guided onboarding, On-site training
Company size Freelancers more entries Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations more entries Microsoft Word, Google Docs, Scrivener, Vellum, Apple Notes, Atticus, Wattpad, Chrome, Edge, Firefox Salesforce, Contentful, Adobe Experience Manager, Asana, Atlassian (Confluence and Jira), Databricks, FactSet, Gong, Google BigQuery

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Free trial ProWritingAid Free plan with a 500-word limit, 2 report runs per report per day, 10 rephrases and 3 Sparks per day Writer 14-day free trial on Starter, no credit card required
  • Company size ProWritingAid Freelancers Writer Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • Hosting ProWritingAid Cloud, with desktop apps for Windows and macOS and browser extensions Writer Cloud, fully managed by the vendor
  • Output ProWritingAid Grammar and style suggestions, 25+ writing reports, rephrasing and story critique Writer Documents, presentations, dashboards and spreadsheets
  • Content types ProWritingAid Fiction manuscripts and general prose; more than 40 document types can be set for tailored suggestions Writer Documents, presentations, blog posts, customer communications, dashboards and spreadsheets

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

ProWritingAid

Strengths

  • More than 25 reports go well past grammar into structure, pacing and overused words
  • Story-level critique covers chapters, plot, characters and marketability
  • Edits in place in Microsoft Word, Scrivener, Vellum, Google Docs and the browser
  • Lifetime licence available as a one-time payment
  • Vendor states it never uses your writing to train its algorithms

Limitations

  • Free plan is capped at 500 words per document
  • Built for authors and prose rather than marketing content at volume
  • AI features are deliberately assistive and will not draft for you
  • Manuscript-wide analyses are metered separately through Story Credits

Writer

Strengths

  • Brand voice, approved terminology and writing rules are enforced as content is generated, not at review
  • Runs on Writer's own Palmyra models, with Enterprise able to add preferred external LLMs
  • Governance built in: granular permissions, audit logs, agent observability, SAML SSO and SCIM
  • Connectors ground output in company systems such as Salesforce, Atlassian, Databricks and Adobe Experience Manager

Limitations

  • No prices published: Starter is per-seat by quote and Enterprise is contact sales
  • Starter is capped at 5 users, 5 playbooks and 3 scheduled routines
  • Aimed at organizations rather than individual writers
  • SOC 2 Type II and HIPAA reports are only available on request for Enterprise

Plans

Pricing

ProWritingAid

  • Free $0 500 word count limit, 2 runs per report per day, 10 rephrases and 3 Sparks per day.
  • Premium $30 Per month billed monthly. $10 per month billed yearly ($120 a year), or a $399 one-time lifetime licence. Unlimited word count, reports and rephrases, custom style guide, 5 Sparks and 1 Chapter Critique per day.
  • Premium Pro $36 Per month billed monthly. $12 per month billed yearly ($144 a year), or a $699 one-time lifetime licence. Adds 50 Sparks and 3 Chapter Critiques per day plus live workshops and the on-demand workshop library.
Visit site

Writer

  • Starter Not stated Per-seat monthly or annual plan with fixed credit limits; no amount is published. Up to 5 users, 5 playbooks and 3 scheduled routines. 14-day free trial, no credit card required.
  • Enterprise Custom Contact sales. Unlimited users, playbooks and routines, full Knowledge Graph with unrestricted connectors, advanced governance and priority support.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

ProWritingAid

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Writer

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

ProWritingAid https://prowritingaid.com · no check date recorded yet

Writer https://writer.com · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.