CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

CRM Comparison

EspoCRM vs. HighLevel

At a glance

At a glance

EspoCRM

Best for

Best for teams that want to model their own records in a CRM and choose between a managed cloud and their own server.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

HighLevel

Best for

Best for marketing agencies running campaigns for many clients from one account, rather than a single in-house sales team.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion EspoCRM HighLevel
Starting price lower value Free (self-hosted); cloud from $15 / user / month Cloud Basic is $15 per user and month with a minimum of three users, Enterprise $25 from five users, Ultimate $69 from ten users. The self-hosted edition is free, but official extensions are bought separately. From $97 / month Priced per agency account, not per user, with unlimited contacts and users on every plan. Starter $97 / month or $970 / year, Unlimited $297 / month or $2,970 / year, Agency Pro $497 / month or $4,970 / year. Enterprise is quoted by the vendor. AI modules and premium add-ons are charged on top.
Free trial 30-day trial on the cloud; the self-hosted edition is a free download 14-day free trial, no credit card required to start
Users Not stated Unlimited users and contacts on every plan; sub-accounts are the unit that scales
API Yes, a REST API, plus official integrations for Google, Outlook, MailChimp, Zoom, Stripe and VoIP systems Yes, a REST API with OAuth 2.0, webhooks on more than 50 events, an app marketplace and an official LeadConnector MCP server
Hosting Cloud in United States or German data centres, or self-hosted on your own server Cloud (SaaS), with a mobile app
Contacts and companies Yes, Contacts, Accounts and Leads, with custom entities, fields, layouts and relationships built in the admin interface Contacts with unlimited records on every plan, smart segmentation, lead capture through forms, surveys, quizzes, chat widgets and landing pages, and a prospecting tool
Deal pipeline Yes, Opportunities moving through a sales pipeline, fed by Leads; the Sales Pack extension adds products, quotations, purchases and inventory Sales pipelines with lead scoring, estimates, proposals, invoicing and one-click upsell funnels at the closing end
Email and calendar Yes, email sync that files mail against the matching record, templates and mass campaigns, plus a calendar for meetings, calls and tasks with working hours; Google and Outlook extensions sync calendar and contacts Email and SMS marketing, inbound and outbound calling, ringless voicemail, and booking calendars with automated appointment reminders. A unified inbox collects SMS, Messenger, Instagram and WhatsApp conversations
Workflow automation Yes, Workflows for rule-based automation and Business Process Management for visual processes, both in the Advanced Pack, plus dynamic logic that changes fields by condition Yes, a workflow automation builder covering nurture sequences, reminders and broadcast campaigns, with Conversation AI and Voice AI answering across channels
Reporting and forecasting Yes, Reports in the Advanced Pack extension, included in all cloud plans Custom dashboards and reporting, call tracking, and user reporting from the Unlimited plan
Integrations and API Yes, a REST API, with official extensions for Google, Outlook, MailChimp, Zoom, Stripe and VoIP systems such as 3CX, Twilio and Asterisk Yes, a REST API with OAuth 2.0 and private integration tokens, webhooks on more than 50 events, an app marketplace, and an official LeadConnector MCP server exposing more than 550 operations across 38 domains. Basic API access comes with Unlimited, advanced access with Agency Pro
AI features Yes Yes
MCP-ready No stated Yes
Deployment more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk, Community forum Not stated
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Google, Microsoft Outlook, MailChimp, Zoom, Stripe, Twilio, 3CX, Asterisk Not stated

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price EspoCRM Free (self-hosted); cloud from $15 / user / month HighLevel From $97 / month
  • Free trial EspoCRM 30-day trial on the cloud; the self-hosted edition is a free download HighLevel 14-day free trial, no credit card required to start
  • Deployment EspoCRM Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise HighLevel Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
  • Hosting EspoCRM Cloud in United States or German data centres, or self-hosted on your own server HighLevel Cloud (SaaS), with a mobile app
  • MCP-ready EspoCRM No HighLevel Yes

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

EspoCRM

Strengths

  • Open source under AGPLv3, free to self-host, with no per-user licence fee
  • Custom entities, fields, layouts and relationships are configured in the admin interface, not in code
  • Cloud plans state that all official extensions are included, including the Advanced and Sales Packs
  • Choice of United States or German data centres, the latter for EU data residency
  • Runs equally as a managed cloud service or on your own server

Limitations

  • Reporting, workflows and business process management are extensions rather than core features
  • Self-hosted installations buy those extensions separately
  • Cloud plans carry user minimums of three, five and ten, so the entry price is not the entry bill
  • Support runs 12 hours a day on weekdays only

HighLevel

Strengths

  • Priced per agency with unlimited users and contacts, so a growing client list does not raise the bill
  • Replaces a stack of separate tools: CRM, funnels, email and SMS, calling, calendars, payments and reviews
  • SaaS mode on Agency Pro resells the whole platform under the agency's own brand
  • Official MCP server and a documented REST API with webhooks on more than 50 events

Limitations

  • AI modules are metered on top of the subscription rather than included
  • Starter is capped at three sub-accounts
  • The entry price is high for a single in-house team that will not use the multi-tenant side

Plans

Pricing

EspoCRM

  • Self-hosted Free Open source under AGPLv3. Official extensions are bought separately.
  • Basic $15 Per user and month, minimum three users. 3 GB file storage per user and 100,000 records.
  • Enterprise $25 Per user and month, minimum five users. 10 GB file storage per user and 10,000,000 records.
  • Ultimate $69 Per user and month, minimum ten users. 400 GB total file storage and unlimited records.
Visit site

HighLevel

  • Starter $97 Per month, or $970 per year. Three sub-accounts, unlimited contacts and users, 24/7 support.
  • Unlimited $297 Per month, or $2,970 per year. Unlimited sub-accounts, rebilling for phone and email, basic API access.
  • Agency Pro $497 Per month, or $4,970 per year. Adds SaaS mode, automated sub-account creation and advanced API access.
  • Enterprise Custom Quoted by the vendor.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

EspoCRM

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

HighLevel

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

EspoCRM https://www.espocrm.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-14

HighLevel https://www.gohighlevel.com · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.