CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Email Marketing Comparison

Amazon SES vs. Zoho Campaigns

At a glance

At a glance

Amazon SES

Best for

Best for engineering teams already running on AWS that want high-volume email billed per message and are willing to build the surrounding tooling themselves.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Zoho Campaigns

Best for

Best for teams already running Zoho who want email, SMS and WhatsApp campaigns synced to the same contact records.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Amazon SES Zoho Campaigns
Starting price From $0.10 / 1,000 emails À la carte sending is $0.10 per 1,000 emails with no monthly fee. The tiered plans are Essentials at $0.16 per 1,000 and no fixed fee, Pro at $105 per month per account and region plus $0.22 per 1,000, and Enterprise at $500 per month plus $0.23 per 1,000. Rates fall above 10 million and again above 100 million emails. Attachment data is charged at $0.12 per GB. Not stated
Free trial New AWS customers receive up to $200 in AWS Free Tier credits, usable over six months Forever Free plan for up to 2,000 contacts, 6,000 emails a month and 5 users
API Yes, the SES v2 API and an SMTP interface, called from the AWS SDKs and the AWS CLI Yes, a developer API with token-based authentication, exchanging data as XML or JSON
Hosting Cloud (SaaS), run as an AWS service per region Cloud (SaaS)
Campaign types Marketing, transactional and newsletter sending through the console, the SMTP interface or the SES v2 API, plus inbound receiving that can store mail in Amazon S3, publish it to Amazon SNS or trigger AWS Lambda Email campaigns and newsletters, plus bulk SMS and WhatsApp campaigns from the same account with their own delivery dashboards
Automation and journeys No journey builder. Sending is driven by your own application or by other AWS services, and received mail can trigger Lambda functions, which is how autoresponders and unsubscribe systems are built on it. Yes, behaviour-triggered workflows for onboarding, nurture and abandoned cart; live workflows are editable without disrupting journeys in progress and contacts re-enroll as conditions change. Basic workflows from Standard, abandoned-cart workflows and frequency capping on Professional.
Segmentation and personalisation Per-recipient personalisation through template replacement data, with SendBulkEmail taking up to 50 destination objects per call, each carrying its own values and falling back to defaults where none are supplied Yes, basic segmentation on Standard and advanced segmentation on Professional combining several conditions with engagement criteria, plus dynamic content and send-time optimisation on Professional
Templates and editor Stored templates created through the API, up to 20,000 per region and 500 KB each, or inline templates supplied with the request; both substitute placeholder tags in the subject, HTML and text parts. There is no drag-and-drop builder. Yes, a drag-and-drop template editor with images, text blocks, buttons and social icons; 120+ templates from the Standard plan
Deliverability and testing Easy DKIM authentication, bounce and complaint notifications through Amazon SNS, rendering failure notifications, and event publishing to CloudWatch or Amazon Data Firehose. Virtual Deliverability Manager is priced separately, from $0.02 to $0.07 per 1,000 emails, with global deliverability at $1,250 per month. IPs can be shared, managed dedicated, or brought from your own range at $24.95 per month per IP. Reports cover bounces and unsubscribes with minute-level delivery statistics and deferred-email statuses explaining why a message is queued. A/B testing from the Standard plan, and a dedicated IP as a yearly add-on.
Ecommerce and CRM data No ecommerce or CRM connectors. SES keeps one contact list per AWS account, with up to 20 topics, a subscription status per topic and a free-form attributes field on each contact; contacts are imported from an Amazon S3 object in CSV or JSON, up to one million per import job. Order and customer data stay in your own systems and travel with the send request. Yes, Shopify and WooCommerce for purchase activity and abandoned-cart triggers, two-way sync with Zoho CRM, and connectors for Salesforce, HubSpot, SugarCRM, Microsoft Dynamics 365 and Bigin
Integrations and API Yes, the SES v2 API and an SMTP interface, called from the AWS SDKs and the AWS CLI, with IAM for access control and CloudTrail for API call logging. Integrates with S3, SNS, Lambda, CloudWatch, Data Firehose, KMS, Route 53 and Elastic Beanstalk. Yes, a developer API, plus integrations across the Zoho suite (CRM, Books, Desk, Commerce, Survey, Forms, Analytics, Flow), ecommerce and CRM systems, cloud storage and Zapier
AI features No stated Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support more entries Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat, 24/7, Community forum Email helpdesk
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Amazon S3, Amazon SNS, AWS Lambda, Amazon CloudWatch, Amazon Data Firehose, AWS KMS, AWS IAM, AWS CloudTrail, Amazon Route 53, AWS Elastic Beanstalk, Amazon EC2 more entries Zoho CRM, Zoho Books, Zoho Desk, Zoho Commerce, Zoho Survey, Zoho Forms, Zoho Analytics, Zoho Flow, Shopify, WooCommerce, Salesforce, HubSpot, SugarCRM, Microsoft Dynamics 365, Bigin, SurveyMonkey, Zapier

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Free trial Amazon SES New AWS customers receive up to $200 in AWS Free Tier credits, usable over six months Zoho Campaigns Forever Free plan for up to 2,000 contacts, 6,000 emails a month and 5 users
  • Hosting Amazon SES Cloud (SaaS), run as an AWS service per region Zoho Campaigns Cloud (SaaS)
  • Support Amazon SES Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat, 24/7, Community forum Zoho Campaigns Email helpdesk
  • AI features Amazon SES No Zoho Campaigns Yes
  • API Amazon SES Yes, the SES v2 API and an SMTP interface, called from the AWS SDKs and the AWS CLI Zoho Campaigns Yes, a developer API with token-based authentication, exchanging data as XML or JSON

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Amazon SES

Strengths

  • Per-message pricing with no seat licence and no monthly fee on the à la carte rate
  • SMTP interface and SES v2 API, callable from the AWS SDKs and the CLI
  • Inbound mail can land in S3, publish to SNS or trigger Lambda functions
  • Up to 20,000 stored templates per region, or inline templates supplied per request
  • Shared, managed dedicated or bring-your-own IP addresses
  • Sending rates fall at 10 million and 100 million emails per month

Limitations

  • No campaign editor, journey builder or drag-and-drop template designer
  • The Pro and Enterprise fixed fees are charged per account and per region
  • Deliverability tooling is a separately priced add-on, Virtual Deliverability Manager
  • Running it in practice means operating SNS, Lambda, CloudWatch and IAM alongside it
  • A failed call to a multi-recipient message rejects the whole email, so AWS recommends one recipient per call
  • Attachment data is billed separately at $0.12 per GB

Zoho Campaigns

Strengths

  • Forever Free plan for up to 2,000 contacts and 6,000 emails a month with 5 users
  • Priced by contact tier rather than per seat, with unlimited emails on the paid plans
  • Two-way sync with Zoho CRM plus connectors for Salesforce, HubSpot, SugarCRM and Microsoft Dynamics 365
  • Email, SMS and WhatsApp campaigns run from one account

Limitations

  • Advanced segmentation, dynamic content, send-time optimisation and abandoned-cart workflows require the Professional plan
  • SMS and WhatsApp are credit-based add-ons on top of the plan
  • A dedicated IP is a separate yearly purchase
  • The free plan is capped at 2,000 contacts and 6,000 emails a month

Plans

Pricing

Amazon SES

  • À la carte $0.10 Per 1,000 emails sent, with no fixed monthly fee.
  • Essentials $0.16 Per 1,000 emails up to 10 million per month and no fixed fee. $0.14 per 1,000 from 10 to 100 million, $0.11 above 100 million.
  • Pro $105 Per month per account and region, plus $0.22 per 1,000 emails up to 10 million, $0.17 from 10 to 100 million and $0.12 above.
  • Enterprise $500 Per month per account and region, plus $0.23 per 1,000 emails up to 10 million, $0.18 from 10 to 100 million and $0.13 above.
Visit site

Zoho Campaigns

  • Forever Free Not stated Up to 2,000 contacts, 6,000 emails a month and 5 users, with templates, list management, 35 app integrations and basic reporting.
  • Standard Not stated From 500 contacts up to 100,000, unlimited emails and 10 users. Adds basic segmentation, 120+ templates, A/B testing, attachments, basic workflows, advanced analytics and 40+ app integrations.
  • Professional Not stated From 500 contacts up to 500,000, unlimited emails and 20+ users. Adds advanced segmentation, dynamic content, send-time optimisation, abandoned-cart workflows and frequency capping.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Amazon SES

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Zoho Campaigns

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Amazon SES https://aws.amazon.com/ses/ · checked against the official source on 2026-09-09

Zoho Campaigns https://www.zoho.com/campaigns/ · checked against the official source on 2026-09-12

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.