CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Email Marketing Comparison

Benchmark Email vs. Ghost

At a glance

At a glance

Benchmark Email

Best for

Best for small businesses and creators that want an easy drag-and-drop email builder with a capable free plan.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Ghost

Best for

Best for independent publishers and creators who want a website, newsletter and paid subscriptions in one platform they can host themselves.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Benchmark Email Ghost
Starting price From $27 / month Pro plan; the price scales with the number of contacts. A free plan is available. lower value Free version if self-hosted; Ghost(Pro) from $18 / month Ghost(Pro) Starter is $18 per month billed yearly for up to 1,000 members. Self-hosting the open source application carries no licence cost, but the server and email delivery are your own.
Free trial Free plan for up to 500 contacts and 2,500 monthly emails Not stated
API Yes, API access, with up to 10 API keys on the Pro plan Yes, REST APIs for reading and writing content, documented for headless use
Hosting Cloud (SaaS) Cloud (Ghost Pro) or self-hosted; open source under the MIT licence
Campaign types Yes, email campaigns and newsletters, with a drag-and-drop signup form builder Newsletters published to a website and sent by email in the same step, with free and paid membership tiers
Automation and journeys Yes, automations and customer journeys Yes, in public beta since June 2026. An Automations tab opens a drag-and-drop canvas with two flows ready to go, one for new free members and one for new paid ones, built from two actions: send an email and wait a set amount of time. Existing welcome emails move into it automatically, and more triggers and actions are announced as coming
Segmentation and personalisation Yes, contact tagging and segmentation with merge-field personalisation Yes, audience segmentation so different newsletters go to different groups of readers
Templates and editor Yes, a drag-and-drop email builder with a template library Yes, an editor built for long-form work with galleries, video, audio and dynamic content cards; custom themes from the Publisher plan
Deliverability and testing Yes, built-in list verification tools Preview shows the post as it will look on the web, on mobile, in an email and on social, and a test email can be sent to your own inbox with a custom subject line before publishing. On Ghost(Pro) email delivery is included and configured for you; a self-hosted install has to supply Mailgun API keys, which is the only supported bulk email provider
Ecommerce and CRM data No native ecommerce or CRM connectors. Benchmark lists two integrations in total, Zapier and Playable Video, and points everything else at Zapier's 8,000+ app library; the Zapier connection syncs contacts rather than order or deal data Yes, native paid subscriptions through Stripe on monthly and yearly tiers, with signup forms and promotional offers. Ghost takes 0% of subscription revenue on Publisher and above, though payment processor fees still apply
Integrations and API Yes, API access plus Zapier and a universal embed code Yes, REST APIs for content in and out, plus more than 8,000 integrations through Zapier and similar from the Publisher plan
AI features stated Yes No
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
Support Email helpdesk Community forum
Onboarding more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials Documentation and knowledge base
Company size more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations Zapier, Playable Video more entries Stripe, Slack, Google Analytics, Zapier

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Benchmark Email From $27 / month Ghost Free version if self-hosted; Ghost(Pro) from $18 / month
  • Deployment Benchmark Email Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Ghost Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
  • Company size Benchmark Email Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Ghost Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
  • Hosting Benchmark Email Cloud (SaaS) Ghost Cloud (Ghost Pro) or self-hosted; open source under the MIT licence
  • Support Benchmark Email Email helpdesk Ghost Community forum

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Benchmark Email

Strengths

  • Free plan for up to 500 contacts with access to the core features
  • Drag-and-drop email and signup form builders
  • Contact tagging, segmentation and merge-field personalisation
  • API access plus Zapier and a universal embed code

Limitations

  • The Pro price scales with the number of contacts
  • Additional users cost $15 per month each

Ghost

Strengths

  • Open source under the MIT licence and self-hostable, so the whole platform can run on your own infrastructure
  • Ghost takes 0% of paid subscription revenue on Publisher and above; only payment processor fees apply
  • Website, newsletter and paid memberships in one product, with no separate email tool to wire up
  • Run by a non-profit foundation funded by its users, with no outside investors
  • Unlimited email sends on every Ghost(Pro) tier

Limitations

  • The Starter plan has no paid subscriptions, no custom themes and only limited integrations
  • Member count drives the price: Starter and Publisher both stop at 1,000 members, Business at 10,000
  • Self-hosting means providing and maintaining your own server and email delivery
  • Built for publishing rather than campaign marketing, so there is no multi-channel journey builder

Plans

Pricing

Benchmark Email

  • Free $0 / month Up to 500 contacts and 2,500 monthly sends, with 1 user, the drag-and-drop builder and 2 API keys.
  • Pro From $27 / month 1,000 to 100,000 contacts with sends up to 10x the contact limit, 10 API keys and 10 domains; additional users cost $15 per month each.
  • Enterprise Not stated Custom pricing for 100,000+ contacts.
Visit site

Ghost

  • Self-hosted $0 The open source Ghost application under the MIT licence. No licence cost; you provide the server and email delivery.
  • Starter $18 Per month, billed yearly. Up to 1,000 members, one staff user, website, newsletter, free custom domain and unlimited email sends. No paid subscriptions or custom themes.
  • Publisher $29 Per month, billed yearly. Up to 1,000 members, three staff users, custom themes, paid subscriptions, advanced analytics and more than 8,000 integrations.
  • Business $199 Per month, billed yearly. Up to 10,000 members, 15 staff users, priority support, higher usage limits and early access to new features.
  • Custom Not stated Unlimited members and staff users, advanced configuration, dedicated IP and a 99.9% uptime SLA.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Benchmark Email

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Ghost

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Benchmark Email https://www.benchmarkemail.com · checked against the official source on 2026-08-21

Ghost https://ghost.org · checked against the official source on 2026-09-07

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.